We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, comfort and warmth”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2007

My husband booked our room since he wanted to visit Joshua Tree NP. I can be very fussy and was somewhat concerned upon first arriving in 29 Palms. Was I in for a delightful surprise!!
Our room was elegant, yet warm and comfortable. The grounds are absolutely lovely. The hosts make you feel as though you are family. To top it off, breakfast was a treat. We would highly recommend Roughley Manor to the fussiest of travelers without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TLR03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2007

WOW - stayed here after doing joshua tree NP - blows away anything else in 29 palms -- what a room (especially since it looks like nothing from the outside) -- great breakfast, great folks -- nice piece of property -- especially since 29 palms seems a little rough around the edges -- this was a great retreat away from the highway and the environs

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

The grounds are extensive and lovely, the rooms are beautifully, tastefully furnished, and cushy comfortable too. The hosts are just the best. They made me feel like a cherished friend. The breakfasts were varied and tasty. This is as good as a bed & breakfast gets!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

We discovered Roughley Manor in Twentynine Palms, CA quite by accident after seeing an ad in a local magazine. When we drove out and found it, we were absolutely amazed. The accommodations were fabulous, the breakfasts were the best we've ever had anywhere, and the owners are two of the most hospitable and generous people you will ever meet. We were in Twentynine Palms to visit our son, who is stationed there with the Marines, before his deployment Sept. 15th. Discovering Jan and Gary's Roughley Manor just "made" our weekend. We were able to relax around the pool with our son and daughter-in-law, and totally enjoy ourselves---even forgetting sometimes the purpose of our visit. We rate Roughley Manor and the owners
Five-Star!
Joyce and Bill

Stayed: September 2007
Thank MarineMomandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

I travel to 29 palms several times a year for business and usually stay at places like the Holiday Inn Express which are just fine for me. Full booking at the usual spots caused me to search for new lodgings and I came across the Roughley Manor.

I sure am glad I did! I had no idea a place as elegant but at the same time laid back existed in 29 palms. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfasts are amazing. For the three mornings I ate breakfast there, I had peach french toast, an egg and bacon pastry and a very nice quiche. All very tasty.

I was afraid a place as cute as this would have none of the high tech services I needed but they were all there: wireless internet, directTV and even a huge selection of VHS movies to select from in the main house.

I stayed in the "Pinto" room which is a stone building. The room was very comfortable and had everything I needed to feel right at home. I called my wife to say how much I wished I had brought her along (we're long due to stay at a B&B together) and wished I had a camera to take pictures.

There are gardens and benches scattered amongst the palm trees on the property that invite you to sit and enjoy the sound of the water fountains. Often I saw binoculars on the tables for bird watching.

Anyhow, I can't wait to go back! Thanks for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gizmosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the Roughley Manor and cannot wait to get back. The breakfasts served were extraordinary and got the day off to a great start. We toured Joshua Tree National park and saw the beauty of the California high desert during the day and then had dinner at the various restaurants in 29 Palms in the evening. The Inn and the property are magnificent and all the rooms are well appointed with fireplaces or other unusual touches. The Inn has a colorful history and the hosts (the Peters) have done an excellent job of bringing that history to life. We found the place by accident and are very glad we did. We are looking forward to our next trip out to the California desert.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank wehavelotsofcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We just spent three nights at the Roughley Manor - and can say without reservation that it was an incredible experience that we would reccommend to any and all adults looking to be treated to five star service.

We were welcomed most warmly by Owners Gary and Jan Peters, they were a wealth of information about this historic B&B. Each suite was beautifully furnished with a stylish combination of new and antique furniture. We enjoyed our down comforted bed immensely.

The breakfasts were straight out of "Country Living" and worthy of the trip itself.

For a desert hideway it was a tranquil oasis complete with fountains, a pool and jacuzzi. Choices of lodging included bungalos or suites in the main house.

We highly reccommend the Roughley Manor.

www.roughleymanor.com

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasDoglovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
458 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
328 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
106 reviews
23.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £117 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing