We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 children) that spent 3 nights in the Cholla room at Roughley Manor. We absolutely loved it there and it might be the best place we've ever stayed. The room was extremely large and comfortable; breakfast was delicious (breakfast panini, peach french toast, potato and sausage quiche); the owls were amazing; and the hosts were wonderfully available and friendly, yet appropriately reserved. We were lucky enough to see a bobcat on the grounds at dusk one night. We were told by the owner that this was an extremely rare sighting and a ranger at Joshua Tree told us that he had not seen a bobcat in the 20+ years he'd been stationed there. The grounds at the B&B are just lovely and there are many nice seating areas where you can sit and relax with a glass of wine or book. If we ever make it down to Joshua Tree again, we will definitely be staying at Roughley Manor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
236
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is from a first-time bed-and-breakfaster.

Being the type who dreads (and welcomes) new experiences, I waited till my mid-50's to finally try a bed and breakfast. I doubt I could have picked a better place to start. The idea of having a retired Marine colonel running the place did leave me wondering whether our mornings would start with a "Get your butts up now, you buncha maggots!!!" but it turned out to be totally stress-free, relaxing and downright comfortable. (And I am not one who gets comfortable easily.)

We stayed in one of the suites, which had the expected creaky floors, but was otherwise impeccably clean (highly important to my germ-phobic wife) and had the modern amenities one expects; i.e., satellite TV, Internet access (fairly slow, but good enough to watch NetFlix on the iPad), and even a hair dryer.

The breakfast was excellent, and although the cookies are not made purely from scratch, they are nonetheless absolutely delicious.

In short, we would most certainly go back, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone I know.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rfjguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of our road trip in California, booked it whilst we were out there on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews. It was amazing! We stayed here in our first week, and it really set the standard for all following accommodation (which none could meet).

The breakfast is the best breakfast I have eaten ever!

I also loved the history of the Manor and actually everything about it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We recently stayed at Roughley Manor which is adjacent to Joshua Tree National Park. We found the inn to be a charming retreat. The breakfasts were quite good and the area is peaceful and beautifully kept. Other reviews suggested that Roughley Manor is "too formal". We did not find that at all. In fact, just the opposite. The hosts are very open and friendly and the rooms were quite comfortable. We found it a peaceful and restful place after a full day of hiking at Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I enjoyed two nights here last week, and it was a restful, wonderful experience. Our Cottage room was a delight, with a separate sitting area. Grounds were beautiful, stately and restful. Breakfasts were outstanding, hosts were gracious and caring. Everything worked together to provide a fantastic experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vritts@stlcc.edu
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

On a recent trip to Joshua Tree NP we stayed two nights at Roughley Manor. This is quite honestly an amazing place! Our Cottage Room was extremely comfortable, breakfasts were amazing, and the owls were mesmerizing! When traveling to Joshua Tree it is a great place to relax after a day of hiking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This East Coast Style Manor House together with it's wonderful hosts Gary & Jan Peters makes for a perfect, peaceful stay in the desert. They have 11 rooms available of which two are in the Manor House and the rest are little cottages, each decorated differently by Jan who is a very talented Interior Designer. The gardens are immaculately kept and there is a Pool and a Jacuzzi too! Check out their website at www.roughleymanor.com to see pictures of the rooms for yourself. The food is excellent with beautiful presentation, I had to photograph every meal before I ate it!
They have a custom built meeting room that will seat 26 people very comfortable with 6 ft tables, and a kitchen area, so the perfect place for crafting weekend Retreats like mine!
Roughley Manor is just 4 miles from Joshua Tree National Park, so there is lots to explore away from the Manor too!
A very highly recommended vacation location.

Room Tip: They are all beautifully different and a pleasure to stay in. No one is better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieqpapercrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
23.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing