We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem in the desert”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We are return visitors of this special oasis Inn and highly recommend it to others. Gary and Jan are very special hosts and we always enjoy the "decompression" qualities of this beautiful Inn. The Roughly Manor is one of our favorite escapes and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We approached 29 Palms via Wonder Valley after discussing with Gary whether we should drive across the Mojave or not from Las vegas (he advised it was a very scenic drive and was absolutely right) and I have to say we were a little concerned at what 29 Palms would be like. Roughley Manor is right on the western outskirts so even as we arrived, we were still wondering if we had made the right choice. Then this oasis appeared in front of us and we knew all was going to be fine!

The gardens with lots of sitting out space were wonderful and we even spotted the owl on our last morning before leaving. We (two adults and an adult sized 13 year old) had the Oasis room which suited our needs. A good size fridge and kitchen space and plenty of room - and very quiet. The only slight niggle was the size of the rollaway bed but our daughter assured us that it was, nevertheless, comfortable. We had tried to book the room with two double beds but there was a mix up with recording bookings and we found that it had already been taken.

Gary was a welcoming host and was happy to answer all our questions (and we seem to come up with a lot!). Breakfast was interesting. Heavily egg based as is often found in my experience of the USA and challenging for 3 people, none of whom are real egg lovers. But they did their best for us and what we had was fine. Coffee and cookies in the dining room in the early evening was a bonus.

When searching on line it was a toss up between this and one of the chains further up the road. We went for individuality and were glad we did. It is ideally placed for visiting Joshua Tree NP.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Who knew that this Bed & Breakfast would be such a delight! Not only were the accommodations spectacular, but the food, the hospitality, and the overall charm were wonderful. The grounds are impeccably kept. You could just sit outside your cottage and drink in the palm trees, the flowers, and the sounds of the doves for hours. I was there for a scrapbooking weekend with girlfriends and can honestly say that this location will have me coming back for years to come. Jan told us a story of the property and the house on Saturday night that is truly amazing - you'll have to book a trip to find out what she has to say! Thank you Jan and Gary for providing a true place to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Looking back at more than 20 years of travelling the world, the Roughley Manor is one of only a handful of true gems I have found as far as accomodation goes. Not wanting to be disrespectful, but initially cruising through Twentynine Palms noone could have blamed us for settling to stay in one of the franchise motels along the highway. Yet then entering the Manor, surrounded by Towering California fan palms, was like entering another world, a true oasis in the middle of nowhere. A beautiful old stone mansion, marbled terraces, breakfast tables set out in the lawn, and last but not least accomodations that you wouldn't reject for having as a permanent home. Yet whatever we might point out, in the end of the day it was the little things (like bottled water in the fridge of your cabin) that really made you feel cared for. This is the touch that Jan and Gary have given their place, and they are just like this place: welcoming, warm and helpful. Whenever you have the chance to go there, do it - there's not too many of places like this anymore...

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, all the rooms are great - ask for one of the remote cabins, which have private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Roughley Manor is a very special place, owned and managed by the friendly and pleasant innkeepers, Gary and Jan.

We had a wonderful two-night stay at this lovely oasis in the desert. The rooms and cottages are spread out among the desert landcape, pretty patios, and beautiful rose gardens. The Oasis, the Palms, and the Cholla are situated in a triplex next to the main inn. They have semi-privated patios. Nearby is a duplex where the Museum and Pinto rooms are located. Behind the triplex is one of the single structures called the Farmhouse which has a private patio shaded by huge trees which are occupied by at least one of the "famed" Great Horned Owls. Next to that are the Sunrise and Sunset cottages which have patios that look out at the serene desert. The Pool Bungalo and the Cottage are next to and behind the main inn. As described on the web site, the main inn has two rooms, both of which are located at the top of the stairs on the second floor.

We stayed in the very spacious and stunning Cholla room which was casual, yet elegant, with traditional, country, and Victorian accents. It had two queen beds with sumptuous bed linens, a comfortable sofa, loveseat, overstuffed wing chair, flat screened TV, plenty of storage and drawer space, a microwave oven, refrigerator, glassware, dishes, (real china) utensils, and a coffee pot. The bathroom was very pretty with many special touches.

I had the opportunity to see many of the rooms which all seemed quite spacious. They varied somewhat in size and in decor. (traditional, country, elegant) Even though, they were all different, they all were inviting and lovely. I would be happy to stay in any of them. You might consider view and bed size when making your request. Most have a queen bed. There is one with two queens, and a few with with kings.

All the garden areas are so inviting. The rose gardens were in bloom and were spectacular. There is plenty of comfortable seating everywhere. There are tables with umbrellas, benches, upholstered chairs, and lounges.

The "Great Room" in the main inn has comfortable sofas, books, and game tables. It also serves as the dining room where the delicious breakfasts are served. The tables are set elegantly and the food is presented beautifully. The first morning we had a yummy cheese, cranberry, and sausage strata, served with melons, orange juice, and coffee. The second morning, we had a delicious serving of peach and praline french toast with bacon, orange juice, and coffee. If you have dietary restrictions, let Gary or Jan know ahead of time. I saw them honor three different substitute requests, one for a fruit plate, one for no cheese, and another for dry cereal. Tea, coffee, and cookies were available all day in the dining room.

I highly recommend the exceptional and delightful Roughley Manor. This inn exceeded our expectations, and we are looking forward to returning for another relaxing get-away.

The Sullivans

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This week my husband and I made our third trip to Joshua Tree National Park and stayed yet again at the Roughley Manor. And we'll go back again, if for no other reason than because it's such a delight to spend the night at this pretty B&B! For some reason it reminds us of an old stone farmhouse in the French countryside--not what one might expect just a stone's throw away from the park and Twentynine Palms. There are lots of trees and flowers on the grounds and places where you can sit outside and enjoy that.The rooms are all very nicely appointed with beautiful bedding and plush towels. It's worth it to spend a little more and get one of the larger rooms like the Palms--truly spacious, with overstuffed chairs in the living area, as well as a pretty kitchen area with bar-style table and chairs for morning coffee. There's also a pleasant sitting area/"porch" outside this room. And the breakfast area in the main building is just lovely--white tablecloths, fireplace, mellow music--and great food. The owners are as nice as can be. Best of all, the Roughley Manor is an amazing bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger rooms with a king-size bed. We've stayed in the Palms and the Oasis, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The grounds are lovely and very well kept, the people just as lovely. Out next stay will be longer. Their breakfast was a wonderful way to start our day hiking in Joshua Tree. The availability of cookies or snacks was appreciated. I have sleeping problems so their very comfortable beds were a great welcome.

Room Tip: our south side room was marvelously sunny. Our friends had a great corner room near the edge of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
324 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
273 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £110 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing