We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true Oasis in the Desert”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A true Oasis in the Desert”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It's hard to believe that you, traveling the high desert of Southern California, would find a B&B like this and yet it wasn't a mirage. Roughley Manor, owned by its fabulous hosts Jan and Gary, is a cozy, traditionally styled place, equipped with the expected amenities of our days. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, furnished with love to detail, clean and quiet, perfect for a relaxing stay. Jan spoils you every day with a good breakfast, which, on request, considers vegetarian needs as well. Home made cookies and a selection of teas, are a complimentary offer at the relevant time in the afternoon.
Ideally located in the vicinity of the spectacular Joshua Tree National Park it's only a 5-7 Min ride to the entrance of the park. Jan and Gary will provide you with any information you need and if you just like to hang out in your nice room and watch a movie...a Video/DVD library offers you plenty of alternative options to the TV-Program. Another fun thing to do is checking out all the murals 29 Palms has established throughout the town and if you're hungry after all, try the Restaurant of the 29 Palms Inn or the Bistro 29 in 29 Palms. Also Very much appreciated: Good complimentary wifi - connection in the rooms.

Room Tip: We've stayed three days in the "Oasis" and an additional night in the "Cholla&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
236
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted a small adventure outside of Los Angeles for the weekend. I found Roughley Manor by accident and throughout the trip I couldn't believe how lucky we were! Gary and Jan have such an amazingly well kept desert oasis that is literally down the street from Joshua Tree National Park entrance. It is also close to the town of 29 palms, though you wouldn't know it. At night the stars are in full affect and it is so incredibly quiet.

We stayed in the Pinto Room and since there was a small refrigerator, microwave and place settings, we were able to cook a few meals in our room and save a little money. Jan's amazing breakfasts also made us pretty happy. The second morning especially - raspberry parfait french toast. Not too sweet, just perfect equipped with a beautiful edible flower and fresh berries on top.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center - but you can do laps in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed at the Roughley Manor many times and each time we return it feels like visiting with friends. Gary and Jan are warm and gracious. This year, on a whim, we scored a room for New Year's Eve. The manor was packed and atmosphere was festive. We stayed in the sunset room and the view was incredible. Next year we'd like to return at the same time with family and friends in tow.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Where to begin- we have just returned from a short get-away to Joshua Tree National Park with The Roughley Manor as our home-base. It was wonderful to hike all day and come "home" to our beautiful cabin- which was impeccably clean and furnished with such care- so that we could just sink into its welcoming comfort. Jan and Gary are charming hosts and oriented us to the area in no time at all. I cannot thank them enough for creating this peaceful oasis for travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We visited Roughley Manor in Dec. Gary spent 5 days decorating the manor for Christmas, it was beautiful. We stayed in the Cholla cabin, it had a large seating area, kitchen area and two queen size beds. You can part right outside the door. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Go on their website to view the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunSeekerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, CA USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Roughley Manor is a fun place to stay in 29 Palms. Its just a mile from the Joshua Tree Nat'l Park 29 Palms entrance. Beautiful grounds, lovely cabins, great food, charming hosts. This is truly an excellent desert oasis. Terrific base for visiting Joshua Tree and hiking or climbing. We've stayed there twice now and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: We like the Sunset Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvalentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Roughley Manor is without a doubt the best place to stay in Twentynine Palms, just outside of Joshua Tree NP. The individual cabins are comfortable and the grounds are lovely. The breakfasts are amazing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnWoodinville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
23.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing