We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Delightful and Beautiful!”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you have never stayed at Roughley Manor and are planning a visit to this area you must give them a try. This place is truly a paradise. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the scenery is absolutely gorgeous.

We stayed at the Oasis Suite which is located only steps away just outside the main house. Our room was very tastefully decorated and featured a small kitchenette, king size bed and seating areas both inside and outside the room on the front patio. The room had modern amenities and was absolutely spotless including the floors, walls and baseboards. The room even smelled brand new.

Hosts Gary and Jan and staff will make certain that your visit is as pleasurable as possible, including providing incredible gourmet breakfasts. On day one they served a twice baked potato and egg meal with English muffins, fresh fruit, juice and a smoothie. On day two they served a French toast meal that was more like a thick pastry with sugar roasted pecans, syrup and whipped cream. The bacon was fantastic. This meal was served with a smoothie and a different juice. My wife had a special meal request and Jan and Greg eagerly provided it. In the evening (and throughout the day) there are fresh baked cookies, tea and coffee available in the main house.

The gardens and grounds were beautiful, peaceful and serene. It was very obvious that Gary and Jan love this place and put a lot of work into it keeping it beautiful for the guests. We will without a doubt stay here again some day and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: I believe that you can't go wrong with any room here but the Oasis Suite just outside the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dn006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Greg and Jan have established a superb B&B in the desert- a true oasis of foliage and comfort. The rooms are comfortable and quiet (we stayed in the Campbell Suite, which was plenty of room for us and our daughter). Everything at the inn is as near to perfect as can be done. Jan is a culinary marvel, creating her own breakfast inventions that rival a top restaurant's best offerings. Jan and Greg clearly love the what they do, and are exceptional human beings in their own rights. We didn't feel that the day was complete unless we got a chance to talk with them at least once. They are free with their personal history, and particularly with the history of the estate (which we enjoyed knowing, since we live in the area that the original owners came from).

Each afternoon brings freshly baked cookies and specialty pastries. The inn has WiFi, a pool, and a hot tub. Strolling the lush and beautiful grounds is a nice change from hikes in the desert with its stark beauty.

There is no doubt in my mind that Roughley Manor is the best place to stay in the 29 Palms area, and extremely reasonably priced for the quality and comfort.

Jan and Greg- well done!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you like open space, quiet peaceful gardens and vistas, no asphalt, no traffic, etc. this is the place. If you want to party then you should bring your own because it probably doesn't happen spontaneously there. The hosts have thought of just about everything. If you need more, then you have to drive to town which is not a big deal but it kind of breaks the spell and you may decide that you really didn't need what you wanted, anyway. Roughly manor is appropriate for anybody, but probably is most enjoyed by couples seeking a getaway.

Room Tip: You can choose between independent cottages or rooms upstairs in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randybump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location and house are very special. Such a quiet oasis in the desert. And the owners have done everything to make it as perfect as possible. It would be a great place for a wedding or family reunion, but also was a nice getaway for a couple.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. The oasis room was quite large and private. I might choose a room in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayTraveller464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived at night and they left the room open and the light. The room was huge with a kitchenette. Nicely decorated and very clean. The property is large and very pretty. The breakfast changes every day and the first day they made French toast which we don't eat so they accommodated us very nicely. The last day the breakfast was corn flack quiche which was quite good if a bit unexpected. I definitely would return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

So glad that we decided to stay here on our visit to Joshua Tree National Park. We stayed in the Sunshine Room - clean, spacious, quiet, and inviting. Friendly and welcoming hosts made us feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious and served in the beautiful "Great" room. Grounds and gardens very inviting. Easy drive to Joshua Tree NP and the visitor center in Twentynine Palms. Very good restaurants just a few minutes drive that were recommended by the owner. Loved Joshua Tree National Park and this wonderful place made our stay in the desert truly enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

It was a beautiful place and luxurious indeed! We stayed 2 nights in the Cholla Room and it included a kitchen, lounge, bathroom and private front verandah. Everything was superbly clean, fresh and the whole look of the room was absolutely beautiful and the beds and couch were super comfortable. Breakfast was served home made and fresh each morning and the owners were very friendly and kind. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slav198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
448 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
672 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
282 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
269 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £111 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing