We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights late July. Another reviewer said it exactly right: this is how B&Bs should be done. We stayed in Farmhouse cottage. A perfect home away from home after hiking in Joshua tree. Loved the privacy and comfort. And the breakfasts! Amazing! Different each day and utterly delicious. And the owners are just great all-around people. All in all, just could not be better

Room Tip: We liked the separate cottage setup. Only some have ovens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JoseTheWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for four nights in Palm Room. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The main lodge was terrific and the breakfasts were just incredible. We enjoyed the pool, the grounds, and the resident Owls! Gary and Jan are gracious hosts and we greatly appreciated their hospitality. We will never stay anywhere else when we travel to the area.

Room Tip: Talk to Gary and Jan about what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Ditto on all the fabulous things other reviewers have said!! We stayed in the Campbell Suite inside the main house for 3 nights. A lovely oasis to come "home" to each day after long, beautiful hikes in Joshua Tree National Park. Morning breakfast (wow!!) out on the patio each day. Fresh baked cookies available in the afternoon. I could come back and relax at Roughley Manor, and that would be a fabulous vacation in and of itself. The owners are warm and hospitable, and as B&Bs go, this one seems to self-select a very nice group of travelers. My guess is because people are in the area to visit a spectacular National Park. It's casual and comfortable, and truly the gem of Twentynine Palms.

Room Tip: The Campbell Suite is an excellent value for $160. Lots of space. Tons of charm, and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MNK94025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Make the effort to visit -- this is how a bed and breakfast should be done. Stayed in the Sunset Room, one of two in a small duplex (the Sunrise Room is the other) among several smaller buildings that are in addition to the main Inn building. Comfortable king bed in a large, attractively decorated room, that included a kitchen area (with dining table; sink; plates, cups, bowls and flatware) and living area (with 2 sofas,;TV console; coffee table). Breakfast is served in a lovely, very well-presented dining room. Fantastic food in an elegant, spacious, comfortable setting. Jan and Gary, the owners, are excellent hosts. Room amenities included flat screen TV with lots of satellite TV channels, microwave, mini fridge, free wifi. Would not hesitate to stay here again when in southern California. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sequoia-design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We (Swiss couple, 30/27yrs) were on a cross-country road trip when we stayed one night at Roughley Manor. The room was fantastic - large, comfortable, and gorgeous! The breakfast was fantastic as well! And the mansion itself looks like from a romantic European novel.

By the way, don't be confused if you're trying to find the right street. The road to the B&B looks like it's going nowhere ;) You have to drive half a mile on paved road before you find it among what looks like a small oasis in the middle of the desert.

Room Tip: We had the Oasis room (see pictures).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This B&B can best be described as an oasis in the desert. Jan and Gary, the owners, are a lovely couple and their dog Sammy is the sweetest thing you've ever seen. They have turned their home into a beautiful establishment. It is obvious it was a labor of love. They go above and beyond to make their guests feel welcome. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean, and decorated beautifully. The grounds are well maintained. The food they cook and serve is absolutely delicious. I was there for my third scrapbooking retreat so have had the added bonus of dinner being included!! I've stayed in the Palms, Sunset, and Oasis rooms. I would highly recommend any of the three. Although it is off the beaten path, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We learned of this hidden gem from travelers who overheard our lament that we couldn't find interesting lodging near Joshua Tree N.P. and told us about the curiously-named Roughley Manor (after English ancestors of the proprietors). B & B's are not often welcoming of pets (we were traveling with a small dog) but here we were ensconced in our own comfortable 'farm house' complete with living room, full kitchen, large bedroom, and bath.
Roughley Manor is truly a 'campus' with ample grounds, a very large and beautiful stone manor house with a rich history, farm buildings, and an incredibly inviting swimming pool and spa. The breakfast part of the B & B was served on a beautiful outdoor patio. The room rates haven't changed in years, according to the proprietor, and we found them very reasonable.
We highly, highly recommend this oasis to anyone whose travels take them to 29 Palms or the Joshua Tree area. In fact, it should be a destination get-away for anyone in SoCal.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet, you'll get the Farmhouse. We didn't check out the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
324 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
273 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £110 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing