We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome find in 29 Palms”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2007

At first you are like "where are we", but the care the owners have taken and the upkeep of the place is unbelievable. Stayed in the Farmhouse and enjoyed our living quarters, nice bathrooms, great breakfast (pecan french toast) and grounds are beautiful. With 2 dogs roaming around, I was in heaven. Short ride to Joshua Tree National Park.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank momalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2007

I have stayed at Roughley Manor three times now, on my own and with groups of friends and it is absolutely perfect. It is only 3 miles to Joshua Tree National Park, and it is a park all by itself. The owners, Jan and Gary Peters are gracious and welcoming; the accomodations are outstanding - lovely, comfortable and spotless; the grounds are lovely; and the food is outstanding. I cannont recommend this place highly enough!
Betsy Robinson
Bozeman, MT

Stayed: March 2007
Thank MTWolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2007

As I write this there are 34 earlier reviews dating back four years. Only one of these assigns a rating less than five - a four, to be exact. I cannot imaging anyone withholding that final point! A four night stay in mid-March established that this is a B& B without equal in my travels across half the states in the Union and 22 additional countries. Attentive hosts, well-appointed accommodations, and killer breakfasts. A hostelry not to be missed when visiting the California desert.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mieschlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2007

We had a fantastic stay at the Roughley Manor. The hosts are very welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. If you are looking for a great place to stay near Joshua Tree, this is it!

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenerkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Roughley Manor is the perfect place to stay when visiting Joshua Tree National Park. Literally minutes from the main Park entrance, it is a pleasant oasis. Good, clean, large rooms. Outstanding breakfasts. Lots of history. Gary is a most congenial host, and Jan is a great chef. Best of all, though, are the nesting pair of Great Horned Owls! They were the highlight of our stay. We are sure to return.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JockoMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2007

We stayed at the Roughley Manor in January and it was a lovely place to spend the night. We stayed in the Cholla room, which was large and very nicely appointed. The place was fully booked on the night of our stay but we did not feel crowded, nor did we hear the other guests.

Our breakfast of fluffy pancakes and bacon was a welcome treat. We were sorry to leave this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2007

I have just returned from my trip to Twenty Nine Palms, California. Durning this trip I stayed at Roughley Manor. This bed and breakfast was very friendly. The owners, Jan and Gary, were very nice and made sure that I was enjoying my visit. Our room was much better than we had expected. It was very cozy and after two days we were calling it home. The breakfast was so good that I found myself getting excited about what it was going to be. We even loved being greeted by the dogs every morning.
Thank you Jan and Gary for making your home feel like our home. Already we miss you, and Sara and Sammy too.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amymohr820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
447 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
667 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
281 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £112 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing