We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical HIE, which, to me, is a good thing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Typical HIE, which, to me, is a good thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Last week, I spent 5 nights in this Holiday Inn Express (HIE) while rock climbing and hiking in Joshua Tree NP. It worked well for me.

The hotel building is a 4-story rectangular box and all rooms are accessed via the interior with 2 elevators servicing the floors above the first. The property does have a small outdoor pool and an indoor exercise room, neither of which I used. It also has a guest laundry and a business center, and the free in-room WiFi worked well for me. Please see the hotel's web site for a description of all features, amenities and photos as most hotel web sites, especially the chains, are way better than I could do at describing everything.

Adjacent to the lobby is the large breakfast area which also serves as a lounge for guests. In addition the daily free HIE breakfast, some items are available 24 hours - coffee, tea, water, hot chocolate, oatmeal, bananas and apples. There are also a coffee/tea makers in the rooms that are stocked with the typical low quality supplies the budget chain hotels all seem to use.

When reviewing hotels such as HIE, Hampton Inn, etc., it is very hard not to repeatedly use the word typical as they tend to be mirrors of each because they are built to a formula with only minor exceptions. For me, this is actually part of the appeal as I know what I am going to get, even down to the layout of the room and the free breakfast, no matter where in the country I am staying.

I had a second floor king room away from Highway 62. It was very quiet at night. A nice feature of this HIE is that the rooms contain a small safe in the closet for valuables. Other than that, it was.........wait for it............typical HIE.

All in all, I found the staff very friendly and accommodating if I needed anything.

I can recommend this hotel and would stay here again, but would also be tempted to try the nearby Fairfield Inn just for comparison if I found myself in 29 Palms again.

As to Joshua Tree NP, it exceeded my expectations and I wish I had planned for more time here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpress29, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell our future guests and us about your stay. We hope that you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    107
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
84
122
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights. The hotel is new and very clean. Everything was what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express, but what really stood out was the staff. They were exceptionally pleasant and friendly, and went the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay. For example, one morning, we were a little late to breakfast and the woman working the buffet offered to make something fresh for us. Who does that anymore? The gym is also above average and my wife really enjoyed the complimentary popcorn in the lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guvna2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpress29, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We are happy to hear that you had a good stay. We hope that we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Such a good choice to make for Joshua Tree, convenient for the park entrance.
The staff were excellent and friendly from reception at check-in to check-out. We would especially highlight the lady who was in charge of breakfast time (think her name was Kate but could be wrong).

So yes if ever in that area again this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John46H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpress29, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope that you will see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The staff was fantastic from the front desk to the cleaning personal. Would highly recommend this hotel. The dinning area extremely clean and food selection more then expected. Recommend this hotel who is visiting Joshua Park or your Marine at 29 palms.

Room Tip: Select the rooms on the back side of the building to avoid the road sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carjam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpress29, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy to hear that you had a enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Friendly staff, clean, and predictable (I mean that as a compliment). Afternoon popcorn is a nice touch. However, the ceilings/floors are very thin, as are the doors . . . you will wake up when the people above you wake up, or when people walk down the hallway talking in normal voices. No good white noise options to cancel this out. Take earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumblingwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpress29, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay.We hope that you will come and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

As frequent Holiday Inn Express visitors, we've seen the best and the worst. This is one of the best! New, clean, friendly, helpful--no complaints from us, and we highly recommend it to those passing through or visiting Joshua Tree National Park, which is a must for desert lovers! If you're not camping, make this HIE your headquarters for hiking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpress29, Loyality Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy that you had a enjoyable stay and hope that you will come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I've been visiting 29P for several years and stayed at all the chains and a couple that used to be.
HIExpress 29 is clean with quality staff catering to business people, families and military personnel from all over the world.
They even offer regular hospitality nights with adult games, nightly popcorn and soft drinks.
Hot and cold towels are also available in the lobby, very much needed and appreciated on hot days.
Wifi works most of the time and seems to have decent coverage.
Book online or early as they fill up regularly.
20 minutes to Joshua Tree, 10 to the base, 40 minutes to Home Depot, 5 minutes to The Bistro.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OC-RaiderFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpress29, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
20.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Address: 72535 Twentynine Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Holiday Inn Express and enjoy an unforgettable experience while visiting the Joshua Tree National Park or US Marine Corps military base. Our exceptional staff is committed to making the most of your trip. You will find superbly cleaned rooms a delight to sleep in and all the great amenities most desire. In the evening, relax in our outdoor heated pool and hot tub, available year-round. Our 24 hour Fitness Center, Business Center and Laundry facilities are there for you, as well as our complimentary Hot Breakfast every morning. Our breakfast selection is packed with so many choices, including gluten-free and low calorie foods, you will be trying something different for days to come. If you are wondering where to eat or what attraction you'd like to visit next, your hosts are ready to give you great recommendations and advice. We look forward to helping you make your California desert travels unforgettably great! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 29 Palms
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing