We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed at the harmony in June. Excellent service from owner and her staff, provided all info on the area (knew the area very well). Local resturants that we recommended such as Natural sister and Joshua Tree Saloon was perfect...

Clean rooms. Great pool and hottub area. Great views from rooms and room patios.
Love it!!! This small quaint motel provides with great comfort and a home away from home stay and a true desert experience, that you will not experience at a large chain. Will always recommend and can wait to plan my next trip.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a kitchen. Great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing . We are grateful, that your experience was an excellent stay. We appreciate the critique and glad that it meets your standards.

Thanks
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    121
    28
    17
    25
See reviews for
98
175
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
391 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Not the friendliest of staff but a really nice place to stay. We had the room with a king bed and a kitchen which was excellent.

The place is more like a B&B (minus the breakfast). The room is spacious, clean and comfortable.

And the use of the pool and spa is great on a hot day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you reviewing us. We are glad that the amenities and cleanliness of the motel impressed upon you.

We are sorry that your experience with our staff was not a comfortable one. We will look into this, ( as our policy is to ensure that our guest experience is comfortable one in all services that we provide to them).

Thank you.
Ash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

2013

The Harmony Motel sits on top of a rise looking over Twentynine Palms and the hills of Joshua Tree. It’s a lovely setting especially when enjoying morning coffee outside while watching the sun come up. The cordial proprietor, Ash, is very responsive to our needs. Some of the rooms are newly decorated. The beds are comfortable and having a separate kitchenette is quite handy for early risers. We take turns having dinner @ lots of good restaurants or fixing our own meals. It’s such a pleasure to stay here using the hot tub and patio facilities for snacks after hiking in the National Park. This is the 8th year staying here for our group.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xylasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

it is always a pleasure to be the host of friends/guests( who we look forward to) returning each year in Spring-Time to us. Thank you for been loyal guests to the Harmony Motel in the last eight years.

The Hang town Hikers are also great friends to the hotel owner (ash) and her wonderful staff. We are absolutely grateful that 8 years ago you choose our accommodations as the hiking groups gateway, and you have returned each year with the same great energy,of joy, fun, laughter, and play. We are also happy that Joshua Tree National Park is a great experience for you.

We appreciate you reviewing us each year, and are glad that our standards have met your satisfaction each time you stay with us.

Hugs to all looking forward to your next visit.
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay here on route to Vegas. Location is a little out the way but 29 palms is very spread out kind of place.
Rooms were spacious and quiet, but there is no safe for valuables.
Would highly recommend you go to the Rib company for dinner, get the beef ribs in BBQ sauce - amazing!!
The motel owner was very friendly and helpful. Overall a great place to rest up from the wonderful scenic driving in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us. We are grateful that you stopped at 29!!! and stayed at the harmony, (the best place in town), and we are very glad that you enjoyed the scenic wilderness of 29 palms, a gateway to Joshua Tree National Park.

Thanks
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Harmony is a very small roadside motel that is clean as a whistle and so convenient to Joshua Tree Park. The owner is very helpful and keeps the place well maintained. There is a common room to use in the morning with free coffee so even though we had a kitchen, we found we didn't need it. Nice little pool and hot tub. Very laid back and simple. This was a great find!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for reviewing. We are grateful that your experience recalls a great "Find" happy to have served you. Look forward to seeing you again.

Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

A friend and I stayed here for over a week while waiting for our rental house to be ready. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. We were upgraded for free to a room with a complete kitchen. There is also a communal kitchen/library/common room, a nice pool and a hot tub with a lovely view of the mountains. Good location, no noise from nearby rooms or highway traffic. Close to everything. If you like a homey atmosphere, this is the place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamencomermaid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure to have you here for a week, you were great guests. We are grateful that you enjoyed the amenities provided to you. We hope to see you soon.

Thanks
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My husband and I were to arrive on a Saturday recently, but he got ill and we had to cancel the trip. I called the motel directly(Wed) and told whoever answered that I was cancelling due to illness. OK. No issues. Then I didn't receive an email regarding the cancellation so I called back (Fri) to see about why I hadn't received a confirmation of cancelation and was told that if I had made the reservation online, then I had to cancel online as well. The person was not very nice who I spoke to this time,but I went online and cancelled. Then I get a one night charge on my Discover card!! I cancelled in plenty of time and now I have to fight with them--also, I had a friend call and they had no rooms the two days I was supposed to be there so they re-sold the room PLUS charged me for a night!!!--BEWARE--I'm fighting them through my Discover card. I hope they refund my $$ and can tell me this was an error, but I will let EVERY travel website know about this if they do not---VERY BAD BUSINESS practice to rent the room out and charge people anyway :-(

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelleysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Lets get two sides of the story!!!, Your charges for the one night cancellation was according to policy in the booking that you have made. You called to cancel, the hotel staff could not make your cancellation as you had made the booking via a third party. It was your cc and personal info that was subimmitted ,therefore only you could cancel as you resvered the room.
Your where provded with the 1800 number to assist you in the cancellation by the hotel staff that was very respectfull and courteousbto you. You subsequentlly called back and told the staff that you will not be cancelling right away.

So the room was still kept on your name. Yes, there were many people that called in for the room, and the hotel reply was we are full booked ( we did not sell your room booking as you were still showing as a guest arriving for there stay, as no cancellation was provided by you as requested). We also checked with the online resverations and your resverations still shows as a
a guest arriving for the date of booking,so you did not cancel with them , you also made this resveration over a month ago ( that is for this period of time the room was reserved for you).

So there was no bad business practise. We merely kept a resveration that a guest booked for the himself/herself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.6 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Property: Harmony Motel
Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing