We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM IN THE DESERT”
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GEM IN THE DESERT”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

As a touring musician, I've stayed at at hundreds of motels, and this is one of the best experiences I've ever had. The owner, Ash, is a deeply kind and hospitable woman who made me feel completely at home. The kitchenettes are fantastic, the rooms are clean, the pool and scenery are gorgeous. It's very close to 49 Palms Oasis, as well as just a few mile hop from Crossroads Cafe, Joshua Tree Natural Foods, and a number of great antique and thrift shops. I can't wait to go back!! XOXO

Room Tip: Bring earplugs - this is near the highway, so you can hear trucks going by. If that bothers you, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    121
    28
    17
    25
See reviews for
98
175
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuba City, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Harmony is comfy and charming spot surrounded by beautiful desert scenery. The lovely owner, Ash, will do whatever she can to make sure you're happy and satisfied. I had a great time sitting outside enjoying the sunshine and the scenery, and the room itself was clean and retro. Next time I swing through the Joshua Tree area I'll definitely stay at Harmony again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPRTCAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at the Harmony Motel for years now, and have loved every visit and this last stay in October was just amazing! This last visit in October, I was part of a crew in town to make a music video for an award winning country music star. It was the first time I had stayed at the Harmony and worked! I was the art director on the project and needed to create dozens of props for the shoot. I needed space and privacy and the peace of mind to get the job done right! The little cabin was perfect. I had plenty of room to work and took plenty of star gazing hot tub breaks as needed. When the job was done I made a great pasta dinner for myself and the crew, which we enjoyed under the most extraordinary sky. The owner Ash, was very kind to us. Not only was she fine with the crew dinner, she suggested it! Yesterday I received a Christmas package from Ash, at the Harmony, thanking me for my business. I was so touched. Who does that these days? I definitely felt appreciated. It's yet another reason I will always return to the Harmony anytime I have the opportunity to!
Beauty!Peace!Privacy! Extraordinary Service! I love it! Well done!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Apassionfortreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A charming, whimsical, welcoming oasis - comfy and funky-chic, with a fascinating little rock & sculpture garden - spotlessly clean - fantastic pool and spa. We sat outside our room after dark, drank wine and watched the stars. Our lovely hostess had warmed the room before our arrival and we felt immediately at home. And such an incredible rate! We'll be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwillycbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at the harmony for two nites. It is cosy, like a bb but very affordable. Excellent customer service provided by staff.
Loved the full kitchens. The hot tub is perfect after a long hike.
Close to the JT park. And the 49 palms oasis.

Charming desert garden. Entire property very clean.

Lovely desert views from motel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabdriver20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The stay at Harmony Motel was nice! We were greeted by an extremely friendly staff and were promptly shown to the room! The room itself was quite nice, only the bathroom needs some renovation! The pool and spa were clean and well maintained!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maclarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I had originally only booked one night at the Harmony Motel, but the federal government shutdown cancelled our camping plans in Joshua Tree National Park. We booked a second night upon arrival because the property is quirky and charming and the owner (Ash) was so accommodating and helpful. She went out of her way to pass on information about alternative hiking trails and local sites.

The property doesn't look like much from the road. The real value hides behind the fence: comfortably furnished rooms, a lovely cactus garden, sitting areas, a clean and refreshing pool, and a great hot tub to soak away the day's aches. Some rooms have kitchenettes which have all the basic utensils. And for those rooms which don't, there is a excellent "common" room with microwave, toaster oven, dishes, etc so you can prepare your own small meals and lunches. Please note this is not a luxury property or part of a chain. If you value clean rooms, comfortable furnishings, and supporting a small business owner, then this is the place for you.

Free wifi, too.

We'll be back. Thanks for your hospitality, Ash!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda96720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.6 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Property: Harmony Motel
Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing