We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So glad the base accommodations were full!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
“So glad the base accommodations were full!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Harmony motel because the accommodations on the Marine Corps base were full, and I wanted a room that had a kitchen. What I discovered was an awesome and overlooked billeting opportunity for travelers to the area. The inn is quiet and has the feel of a small family-operated establishment where you could probably leave your door unlocked all day and be fine. The rooms have a large glass window facing East, giving you the most beautiful sunrises you could ask for. The pool and hot tub are well kept and are PERFECT for the post-workout soak. The staff informed me of a nearby Oasis in Joshua Tree National Park, and twice I ran there and back from the hotel (it’s probably about 7 miles total with some decent elevation changes). The proximity to this awesome, not-so-well-known landmark is one thing that makes me want to stay at the Harmony every time I have to visit 29 Palms. Let’s see….treadmill in a big chain hotel, or desert oasis run right behind your motel? Let’s see…. long unfriendly hallways in a big chain hotel, or a nice table and chairs just outside your door where you can watch the sunrise/sunset and down a bottle of beer/wine? Yep, this little motel wins every time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    115
    25
    16
    25
See reviews for
94
156
60
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This motel was better than we expected when we first saw the place. It looks a little run down from the road and my husband sent me in to check it out before he would join me! Going in the entryway, all doubts were erased - this place has personality! The owner showed me around and she is lovely and kind. Rooms are large enough and each room opens onto a small patio that faces the pool and hot tub. The bathrooms are small, kind of like a bathroom in your first apartment with a shower stall, vanity sink and toilet. There is a common room where you can eat breakfast, use the fridge and microwave, etc. There are also reviews of the place and articles about it and the owner. We used the fridge to store our food but didn't eat there. We were there just for one night and it was fine. I think it would be a fun place to be with friends or as a single or couple who was staying longer than we did if you are the type to want to meet other travelers in the common area or patios or at the pool, etc. There are other, more traditional options in the area if you are not a person who likes to take chances on an individual place, but I'm glad we did. A regular motel would have been OK for our overnight stay, but it think the Harmony Motel would be great for a longer visit. I would go back. Internet in the room wasn't too great, though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmujmumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephrata, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed 7 days at Harmony Motel. I was only going to be there 2 days, but feel in love with the peacefulness. Price was good and Ash the owner was professional as I felt safe during my stay. I enjoyed the hot tub each evening the pool area during the day, common room each morning and the view out my room window. The location was awesome so I could visit Joshua Tree National Park and Palm Springs I enjoyed the meals at 29 Palms Hotel, Rib Co, Andreas and the Bistro. Nice mini-vacation break on my long road trip. Thank you Ash your place shows you take pride in your Harmony Motel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed at the Harmony Motel for 2 nights, couldn't have been better. Spacious room with comfortable bed and small kitchen, a/c, and access to a cute lima bean pool. The price is great, and it's a short, 10 min. ride to Joshua Tree National Park. The motel is small, so you get a lot of privacy, and can sit on the patio outside your room reading a book or writing as the sun sets. The kitchen was a great add-on, though I'm sorry (not sorry) to admit we might've opted for multiple trips to Del Taco instead. The proprietress was really warm and welcoming. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a kitchen, but you can ask for one if you'd like one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We visited the Harmony Motel during the last Christmas Holiday’s for one full week. We booked a room with a full kitchen, at a very affordable rate, we shopped around the area and this motel was priced best for our needs. The kitchen is separated from the room almost alike a min apartment, it was larger than my home kitchen in New York, full stocked with utensils and appliances’. We were able to cook three meals a day and also entertain some of our friends that stayed at the motel.
We loved the grounds everything was well taken care. Our rooms were exceptionally cleaned. We loved the outdoor patio, from which we could have a cup of coffee and watch the sun rise, and the hot tub, to soak in the evening s and watch the stars after a long day of hiking. The rooms are huge although it has everything like a regular motel; the décor is simple yet very homey. The beds were comfortable giving us very restful nights of sleep. There is also an internet room that has a library, and we had free Wi-Fi excess in our rooms, the motel also has a common area for guests to have coffee, or prepare a light meal if they do not want a room with a kitchen, which our friends used.
The staff was great, very good housekeeping and guest services. Ash, knows the area exceptionally well, she directed us to all the hikes in the national park that we would enjoy, and restaurants and fun things to do in the area. My favorite hike was the 49 Palms oasis less than a mile away from the motel, the motel is very close to the east entrance from Highway 62-(this is the main entrance of the park).
I would certainly recommend the motel to all our friends, family and travelers because of the amenities that it offer, the incredible desert experience, and affordability. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1-night while visiting Joshua Tree National Park and we were very disappointed. I liked the website and read the reviews on tripadvisor but I would not recommend this motel. There are so many more choices in the area....newer establishments, less expensive. And the highway traffic noise kept us up most of the night. The hotel is right on the edge of the highway. It was an extra $10.00 to have a frig in the room and the bathroom was very small. Just can't recommend it with all the other choices in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 220Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank you for writing the review. Lets give all our travelers both sides of the story. Our description of the motel on our website tells you off the history of the motel (the year it was built in) and the cost of the different room-types.

You opted for a standard room with no kitchenette. At the time of your booking you were explained on the different room types and the rates. A room with a kitchenette (that is a full kitchen) does cost more than a standard room. Hence the $10.00 extra charge. You were full aware of this as you did visit the website before booking and this pointed out to you by the reservations desk clerk at the point of your reservations.
.
Our guests that opt for the standard room make use of the common room facility that does provide a kitchenette with a full refrigerator ( and a freezer full of ice), you were given that option and shown this facility upon check in). On your check in you seemed happy with the room and the use of the common space. Our bathrooms have huge showers.

You were aware of the location of the motel, at the time of your booking, and this was explained to you in detail. Furthermore more than 90% of the motel/hotels including the newer ones that you are talking about like the harmony has highway visibility.

None of these motels/hotels have facilities or amenities such as the harmony, that is the charm, the history, the incredible desert views from our guest patios, exceptional clean rooms, every amenity in our room is functional, great beds, and personal service.

Unlike the newer hotels/motels we offer more than just a room experience we provide a desert experience, we are smaller and personalized and a home away from home stay. And as you can see by our reviews on this forum we have 99% of guest satisfaction, for our service, amenities are excellent, and for the rates that we provide, ( very affordable to our guests) as compared to the new properties.

We a sorry that you expected a facility such as the Motel 6 and the Holiday Inn Express. Even properties such as these have different rates for different room types that are much more in price compared to the harmony motel. We are an 8 unit property and we cannot compare ourselves to a 100 unit such as the motel 6 or 80 unit property holiday Inn express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Joshua Tree National Park. The location couldn't be better, just a 10 minute drive from the park entrance.
The motel has a cute 'western' feel, with great views, cold pool (too cold for Jan) and hot tub (very nice). The cactus gardens added to the overall desert feel.
The rooms were a good size although the decor was just a little tired. Our kitchen with dining table was very good with a wide range of cooking appliances including coffee maker. We only had to ask for a corkscrew.
Overall I would highly recommend this motel to anyone travelling in the area.
Special mention to Ash the owner who was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 7 (right at the end), great for privacy, but unfortunately too far for the wifi to reach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#4 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.6 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Property: Harmony Motel
Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing