We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Keaau, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"I love it"”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

It was like a home for me and I'm so glad I stayed in Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel. We really enjoyed our stay, my husband and his friends enjoyed the "karaoke". Restaurant and groceries is so near to the place. Someday we will visit and stay again in Sunnyvale Garden Suite Hotel. I encourage you to go and try and you'll love it. For other infornation about your business needs, Tony the owner is so helpful.

Room Tip: Upper suites are so nice and you could see the views around. Even on the lower suites, they are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marloella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    93
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
112
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

From the outside, the hotel looks nice: western style and ' old'. Unfortunately, the room we had really was a bit wornout and shabby. It did not look very clean and at the end of the evening, we discovered a cochroach in the sitting room / kitchen. That, and the fact that the windows couldn't be closed properly, made us have a bad night. This hotel could be very OK (having kitchens and private gardens with each suite), but it certainly needs a big make-over. At this moment, it is quite overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I've never heard of Twentynine Palms and when my friend invited me to come to Twentynine Palms, we stayed at Sunnyvale Garden Suites. This is like a home away from home and the best part is that it is very relaxing place. The owner,Tony is very caring and super nice. They are hands on and really takes good care of their guest which you won't find in big hotels. The rooms are very nice, very affordable and comfortable. It even boasts a park like landscaping with benches, palm trees and other flowering plants.....I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place to stay on your way to Joshua National Park.

Room Tip: I recommend the room name "Wagon Wheel" with the balcony overlooking the pool and also wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Looked forward to non, big-chain hotel to experience local flavor.

After long day's travel, came to hotel with imaginatively decorated/landscaped grounds. Amazing.  (Wished I'd time to explore, but it was getting dark.) Personable host checked me in & showed 1st floor room, which appeared just as on web site photos. No problem. Contented, tired, I bring in luggage. Begin unpacking, settling in -- usual routine. 

Grabbed plate from kitchen; it felt greasy, unclean. Tried another plate, another -- one after the other, dishware, glasses, cups, silverware -- everything was greasy. Loaded full-size dishwasher with everything; ran washer & proceeded to clean up kitchen. 

(Noticed vat-sized container of insecticide under cabinet & dismissively thought the exterminator must have forgotten it.)

Resumed unpacking & attempted to turn on ventilation system, which made deafeningly loud jet-engine like noise -- but did indeed cool the room.

Returned to kitchen shocked to discover water leaking from dishwasher. Put down kitchen towels to soak up water & re-check dishwasher door to ensure it was closed  properly (which it was).

Returned to bedroom to finish unpacking & lie down briefly to relax & watch a little TV. Turned on cathode ray tube TV, which was snowy. Changed channels with remote to see if a different station had better reception -- no luck. Remote stopped working; manually turned off TV. 

Went into kitchen. Finished cleaning up kitchen floor after dishwasher ran through cycle. Emptied dishwasher, put away all kitchenware. 

Placed food on newly cleaned plate. Went to sit on sofa to relax & eat. Sat down & rapidly, deeply *sank* into sofa cushion  -- descended into seemingly bottomless pit -- nearly dropped plate out of my hand. 

After crawling out of sofa pit, chose to sit on kitchen chair -- tested with hand 1st (to ensure safety) -- and ate meal at table. 

Got up from table to open blind by sliding glass door (in living room) & one of the blind blades fell off. Examined blade closely & noticed its latch spot was broken. (The blade was merely placed there to "appear" fine.)

Saw gaps by sliding glass door & under front door; thought the heat from outside must come in through those gaps & likewise the cool air from inside must seep outside. That reminded me to turn off the jet engine cooling system at this point because I was nearly deaf & half dead from exhaustion. I needed sleep.

Who knows what woke me up from dead sleep, but since awake, it seemed good use of time to prep for tomorrow's work. 

Proceeded to kitchen table, but some movement in living room caught my eye. (Must be imagining things; I'm overly tired.) Re-focused on work & found my attention drawn away again by movement
in living rm. Apparently under-door gaps are invitation for small wildlife to come visit; amusing & interesting at 1st until it took Kafkaesque-turn.

After washing off blood, packed up work & rest of bags, attempted to make graceful exit at morning light. 

Kind host seemed genuinely distressed at my early departure, but I hadn't the time or energy to explain; I had to be at work within the half hour and find new habitable accommodations for the evening. 

So much for going native. 

I'm sure others have wonderful experiences at Sunnyvale, & what I've described are the mere whinings of the weak. 

(Welcomed back into the coddling arms of big-chain hotel is exactly what I needed.)

Sunnyvale is best suited for the hearty.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A very relaxing little hotel off the beaten path in Twentynine Palms. Very close to the base, if you are visiting our troops.God bless em and bring em all home safe. Anyway, I was surprised at how large the rooms were. It looks like they used to be condos when first built. Complete with large kitchens,living rooms. Unfortunately, I was overcharged
on my credit card,so be aware of hidden internet fees, telephone calls, and possible cleaning fees. Yes the rooms are awesome but you pay for that. $150 a night (after taxes and the above hidden charges ). Wish me luck on my dispute.
Perfect pool and gameroom. Generous parking lot and refrigerator, flat screen TV. Had to take what they had due to most hotels in area filled up fast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

After searching for a place to stay for Easter weekend, Sunnyvale was one of the only choices left ... and I'm glad it was! The place is AWESOME! It's super close to the Joshua Tree park entrance off of Utah (super close to Jumbo Rocks).

Tony, the owner, was super friendly, helpful and had a GREAT demeanor. Really enjoyed talking with him ... answered all my questions honestly and effectively. The room, junior suite, was huge with a full kitchen and a new flat screen tv with dvd player. The grounds were well maintained and uniquely decorated in a old time-y western manner.

I highly recommend this place to anyone ... super affordable, comfortable, close to the park and UNIQUE. * I usually camp at Joshua Tree ... this was a nice change of pace, had a great experience as i usually do in the desert.

Room Tip: Stayed in "The Palm" - loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlitosway_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were greeted by friendly staff every time we met them. Tony even called me to let me know that a road runner had shown up at the front door. The rooms were clean and comfy. The surroundings were cute! We recommend this to anyone that has to stay in 29 Palms. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
574 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
250 reviews
1.1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
21.8 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park

Property: Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Address: 73843 Sunnyvale Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-7103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#6 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in TwentyNine Palms, CA, just minutes outside the main entrance to the world's largest military base, Twentynine Palms U.S. Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center (MCAGCC). The MCAGCC marine base is only 4 ½ miles to the north. This makes it perfect for 29 Palms military lodging. The 29 Palms entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, one million acres of unspoiled Mojave Desert wilderness is located about three miles to the south. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is conveniently situated central to the 29 Palms shopping and dining. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel offers the only fully furnished hotel accommodations in Twentynine Palms, including all services and amenities one would expect at any fine hotel. Our junior, one and two bedroom suites are over-sized and roomy. They are beautifully decorated with an eclectic style of new and early 20th-century furnishings. Every spacious executive suite is fully equipped from A to Z: kitchens, high speed internet (wired and wireless), 24” or 27” TV and DVD players. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is the only “extended stay hotel” lodging in 29 Palms, however we welcome many overnight guests as well. Our large one and two bedroom suites are excellent for group meeting and gatherings. The extra comfort we offer will be very much appreciated after a long day of work, or a full day of hiking, rock climbing or just plain adventure in the Joshua Tree National Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyvale Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Sunnyvale Garden Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing