We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This place is a joke the staff is down right despicable they are very rude with no people skills Greg the man that checked us in was very grouchy and rude and he also kept us waiting out in front of the office in the heat for 40 minutes before he came and checked us in when we asked if there was anyone above him that we could speak to about the situation he told us no that he was the owner when later we came to find out from the male housekeeper that he was not in fact the owner he was just a mamager now let's get to the room it was dirty there was crumbs on the couch and the counter the stove had food stuck on it the bathroom was gross the toilet seat had stuff on it and you could clearly see that they did not clean it but yet it had a sanitary band on it the tub was dirty you could tell they just rinsed it out and didn't scrub it the towels stunk like they sat in the washer too long and smoke and the bed and the blanket on the bed stunk and it was obviously never changed thank goodness we brought our own blanket I asked the female housekeeper if we could have some more towels because the ones we had stunk and she rolled her eyes and had and attitude about it and needles to say we never got our towels and i'm pretty sure it's because the housekeeper was on a smoke break the entire time she was at work we seen the male housekeeper working the whole time while she was getting paid to smoke so needless to say I went to the store and bought cleaning supplies to clean the dirty room we were put in and I bought towels so we didn't have to use the gross ones that were in the bathroom I was very disgusted with the way things were for the amount of money we paid oh and let me tell u about the air conditioning well there was none it was something called a swamp cooler which I've never heard of in my entire life and it was horrible it was hot and humid outside and hot and humid inside the room that is just uncalled for the hotel is in the middle of the desert there should be air conditioning my husband couldn't take it anymore so we left at 10:30 that night we didn't say anything just put our keys in the drop box and left and we will never be coming back and we will make sure to tell people not to come to this hotel we stayed the night at motel 6 where the service was good no rude people and the room was clean and had air conditioning

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bailysgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Manager at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I personally apologize for all the inconveniences caused you by staying with us. Our goal is to make all of our guests feel welcome, comfortable and satisfied with all we have to offer including our environmentally friendly evaporated coolers that work well in the desert. Your feedback has been discussed at length with the staff you mentioned, specifically the issue of cleanliness. With the very short period of time you were in the unit from the time you checked in (anytime after 2pm) and the time you checked out which you said was approximately 10:30 pm (same day), you made a great deal of effort to observe a lot of things, to the extent of buying your own towels and cleaning supplies. However, none of these were communicated to anyone, except TripAdvisor. While we appreciate negative postings, because these comments help other prospective guests (we get perfect scores as well) and they help us in improving our facility and services, we would love to hear them directly from our guests and be given at least the opportunity to correct these issues. Due to the severity of your complaint, I request that you please contact me directly. My name is Tony, I represent the management. You can reach me at 760-361-3939. Thank you again for your time in writing your detailed review and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    91
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
109
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights while waiting for permanent housing. It was charming. Only complaints: floors & carpets could use a good cleaning! (Our son's legs & feet were black) and make it so you can't lock yourself out! :-) (you can have the doorknob locked but it still opens from the inside!) Otherwise, beautiful views, very convenient, great staff & loved having all the space & kitchen!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieMay710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Manager at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We thank you for your review. Your comments regarding the carpet and floors are most helpful and have been discussed with our staff. The surrounding sandy areas do create a challenge to keep the floors clean but we are working on getting it taken care of. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. I wish it had been longer and will definitely stay again if we find ourselves in 29 Palms again. The atmosphere and decor was wonderful! So much better then a regular hotel room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Manager at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. Our staff feels rewarded in their hard work to make your stay as wonderful as possible. We look forward to your longer visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

As other guests have pointed out, this is a hotel with both character and comfort. The manager (owner?) Greg has created a literal desert oasis with beautiful flowering plants and cacti landscaped throughout the entire property (it's really impressive). Paths inside the property lead you to ground and one story units, which in our case had two bedrooms, two bathrooms (one with shower/bath), a kitchen, dining area, and full size living room. There is a balcony outside with chairs and table. This would be a very comfortable place to stay for weeks.

The rest of the property gets even more eclectic (but fun): no swimming pool but a very nice hot tub for the cool desert nights. A ping pong table in the patio. Then a pool house with a pool table and the gym in the same room. The gym is Spartan but good for weightlifting: Smith machine, barbell and a bunch of dumbbells. The cardio equipment is old and seems to be a bit dodgy but as another hotel pointed out to me, if you want cardio, hike!

Greg helps make the place what it is: he's very nice and helpful, and is willing to just stop and have a chat with you.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTwainMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Manager at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and giving us a perfect score. We love sharing these comments with our hard working staff. We hope to see you again in not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My friend and I made a last-minute booking for one night so we could visit Joshua Tree National Park for two days. The hotel is ideally situated for this, only 4 miles from the park entrance. We had a 2-bedroom suite, with a spacious living room with a balcony overlooking the spa area, two large bedrooms, kitchen, a full bathroom plus a half-bath, all for a very reasonable price. Our suite could probably have accommodated six or seven people. The kitchen was rather eccentrically equipped, having a good selection of pots and pans but only one coffee mug and little in the way of knives and forks, so if you plan to eat in, you may want to bring your own cups etc. The grounds of the hotel are shabbily delightful, with lots of birds around. Perfect for those of us who dislike bland chain hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank SWMildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Manager at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Your comments are very much appreciated. We will look into the kitchen gadgets to make sure they are properly equipped. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed three nights in the Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel and enjoyed it very much. Very close to the Joshua Tree National Park it makes a good base.
Nicely decorated and spacious rooms. Our suite had a kitchen and grill and the bed was very comfortable.
Be sure you stay there somewhere from Thursday to Sunday as there is a Drive In Movie Theatre close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Manager at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We love hearing that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. All of us here always look forward to our guests' feedback. Your positive comments inspire us to do more and to keep improving. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Was driving from Orange County to the Grand Canyon and needed a place to crash for the night. Great little apartment-style hotel with plenty of space for four adult males (could have fit five on beds and one on the couch). We got in late (just before midnight) and the manager was quick and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lech K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Manager at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a perfect score of our hotel. This gives us an absolute pride of our little oasis. We enjoy providing the service to our guests that exceed their expectation. We hope you come back and visit with us longer. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
21.8 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park

Property: Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Address: 73843 Sunnyvale Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-7103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#6 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in TwentyNine Palms, CA, just minutes outside the main entrance to the world's largest military base, Twentynine Palms U.S. Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center (MCAGCC). The MCAGCC marine base is only 4 ½ miles to the north. This makes it perfect for 29 Palms military lodging. The 29 Palms entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, one million acres of unspoiled Mojave Desert wilderness is located about three miles to the south. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is conveniently situated central to the 29 Palms shopping and dining. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel offers the only fully furnished hotel accommodations in Twentynine Palms, including all services and amenities one would expect at any fine hotel. Our junior, one and two bedroom suites are over-sized and roomy. They are beautifully decorated with an eclectic style of new and early 20th-century furnishings. Every spacious executive suite is fully equipped from A to Z: kitchens, high speed internet (wired and wireless), 24” or 27” TV and DVD players. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is the only “extended stay hotel” lodging in 29 Palms, however we welcome many overnight guests as well. Our large one and two bedroom suites are excellent for group meeting and gatherings. The extra comfort we offer will be very much appreciated after a long day of work, or a full day of hiking, rock climbing or just plain adventure in the Joshua Tree National Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyvale Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Sunnyvale Garden Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing