We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a hotel, this is not it but if you want a condo, nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2009

This was not what we expected but that was because I did not pay attention to description in AAA, which labeled it a condominium. If you are looking for a typical hotel or motel, this is not the place for you. It is really in a residential area and is a true condominium apartment. It has a full kitchen, living room, dining area, separate bedroom. It was handy for preparing breakfast and keeping our picnic items cool. The staff was nice. We had a problem getting heat but Tony was quick to respond and fix it. The shower was a bit strange. The grounds were nice. It was generally quiet. It is undergoing renovation and will probably become a real nice place to stay as long as it is what you are looking for and not a traditional motel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereyagoinnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2009

What a wonderful place to stay, I especially liked the look and feel of my suite. The grounds were very well maintained and the staff were extremely cordial, even offered to help with the luggage as I checked in, and were very accomodating to my unique needs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckarnsouvong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2009

Thank you for the wonderful comment about our hotel. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I cannot understand how this hotel is ranked number one in Twentynine Palms- it beggers belief. I have stayed in hundred of hotels and motels in the past 20 years and this place ranks as one of the most shoddy, dirty places I have ever stayed in. The rustic nature of the grounds is nice but the rooms are also somewhat "rustic" too- peeling paint, missing faucet cap, roach motel pest control devices in the corner of the room, dishwasher poorly installed, countertops had cracks around the edges and yellow towels- I could go on but you get the picture. There must be better in this area- I can recommend one B & B that is 100 times better than this hotel- check out the reviews on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymurdock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2009

Our apologies and thank you for the comments. Our rooms are undergoing major renovations, we are installing kitchen marble counter tops, and upgrading the cabinets. You might have noticed that several of our parking spaces are not available because they are being used by our renovation crew. The room you stayed in was scheduled for repair next and we overlooked to review the checklist for the room. These comments help us improve our facility and the service we provide. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We found Sunnyvale Garden Suites on Tripadvisor and decided to stay 2 nights while visiting Joshua Tree National Park. The rustic southwestern atmosphere was great, the room was huge and clean. The kitchen included a range, microwave and fridge, which came handy as we had dinner and breakfast in the room. The staff was super nice and very helpful in providing restaurant reccomendations.
The hotel is not on Hwy-62, so make sure you have a map before you get there. I had to use my GPS to find the address.
The only thing that prevents me from giving a 5 to this hotel was the shower. The caulk was old and several spots were black and pretty gross.
That should be an easy fix, but I enjoyed everything else.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2009

Thank you for your constructive review. I am sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. As soon as we read your review, we inspected all of our showers to corrected our caulking issue. For your information, we found and corrected only one suite and I assume, this is where you stayed. I have taken before and after pictures to train housekeeping so this issue will not happen again. Again, thank you for taking the time to help us improve our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Very clean and comfortable with nice and friendly service. The staff looked after every need we had. Does need a swimming pool though.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I loved having a kitchen in the hotel so that we could save money on meals. It was a great place to relax on a budget. The staff is friendly and always available when you need them. It doesn't have a swimming pool, but it does have a hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singoutloud7fs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The owner was very kind to us from the moment we arrived. He was personable and willing to do whatever was needed to make our stay better. The suites were like little houses. Everything was clean and comfortable. If you are in town to see Joshua Tree National Park, it is the perfect location... only a couple minutes drive away. I only wish we could have stayed for more than one night!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
310 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park

Address: 73843 Sunnyvale Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-7103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#6 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £62 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in TwentyNine Palms, CA, just minutes outside the main entrance to the world's largest military base, Twentynine Palms U.S. Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center (MCAGCC). The MCAGCC marine base is only 4 ½ miles to the north. This makes it perfect for 29 Palms military lodging. The 29 Palms entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, one million acres of unspoiled Mojave Desert wilderness is located about three miles to the south. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is conveniently situated central to the 29 Palms shopping and dining. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel offers the only fully furnished hotel accommodations in Twentynine Palms, including all services and amenities one would expect at any fine hotel. Our junior, one and two bedroom suites are over-sized and roomy. They are beautifully decorated with an eclectic style of new and early 20th-century furnishings. Every spacious executive suite is fully equipped from A to Z: kitchens, high speed internet (wired and wireless), 24” or 27” TV and DVD players. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is the only “extended stay hotel” lodging in 29 Palms, however we welcome many overnight guests as well. Our large one and two bedroom suites are excellent for group meeting and gatherings. The extra comfort we offer will be very much appreciated after a long day of work, or a full day of hiking, rock climbing or just plain adventure in the Joshua Tree National Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyvale Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Sunnyvale Garden Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing