We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service encountered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst customer service encountered”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The last day of our vacation was interrupted with clerical errors. The hotel had us in their computer in one room and physically in another while charging credit cards twice. Instead of resolving the situation simply, the receptionist insisted on dragging us in to her problem, accusing us of the error, and threatening to throw us off the property for suggesting she fix the clerical error before contacting us. Instead we spent half an hour being stressed by an incompetent receptionist. A clerical error is excusable, the absolute intense accusatory rudeness of the receptionist is appalling.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathsons-Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Country Inn 29 Palms has always been about customer service. Our staff tries to the best of their ability to make every stay comfortable and accommodating.

Most clerical errors in hotels theses days, are not mistakes made by people but by the computers systems that processes customer information. After realizing a computer error by the hotel the guest was contacted to ensure that we had the right information. The guest had stayed with us for three previous days with no incident. The last day around check in time at 3:00pm in the afternoon we needed to correct the information, ie name and address to ensure proper billing. The guest was never over charged, nor asked to leave the property at anytime and this issue took a few minutes to resolve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
47
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

29 Palms, palms springs a very beautiful area in all. We visited Joshua tree national park. This hotel is very close to the north or west entrances so we chose to stay here. We booked this hotel on the same day morning through orbitz , last minute, so when we arrived here late evening they had not seen our email booking. So we got the last room on ground floor they had which was bigger and was with kitchen. However, i agree with a review below there were no utenlsils to aide in the kitchen. It had the micrwave, refrigerator and cooking gas.

Beds were nice and comforting. Hotel was neat and clean as well. Good for the price we got it for.

Breakfast was included and was decent. The hotel is on the highway 62 itself overall good halt for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neera v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

We stop in 29 palms as an adventure.we got to the first hotel and we ask for a one king bed with nothing extra and they told us $160. So we went on down the road. Country Inn is small but personal. For a one king bed with Jacuzzi was $70. The room was small but in good condition. Their pool was small but has more seating areas. Breakfast was simple, muffins cereal waffle maker etc. Front desk was so helpful! We would come here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seoniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We reserved a non-smoking, handicapped room. First disappoinment is that the handicapped parking spaces are located far away from your room. Second disappointment, was that our room smelled like an old, musty smoking room. We turned on the air conditioner and hoped it would clear the air. After we returned from dinner, the room smelled just a bad. The desk clerk was very accomodating and offered us another room, although it was not handicap accessible, The room did smell better, but not great. The mattress was better. The air conditioner was terrible. It would turn on and off every few minutes and it was extremely loud. So, the TV was loud when the air conditioner was off and not audible when the air conditioner was running. It was not a pleasant. I also do not like to be at a hotel where people are able to back their vehicles up to the rooms. I just to care to have car exhaust pumped into my front door. We were not impressed with the continental breakfast. If I was to do this trip again, I would pay the extra money, and choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: If you are on the first floor, beware that other cars may back in and run their motors. You will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Good deal.
Free breakfast.while I was there I got a free dinner on Wednesday.
Room was nice with microwave oven.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lupayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a one night stay to stage up for a visit to Joshua Tree National Park. The staff was curteous and helpful. The room was spotless. The provided breakfast options were good. The cost was low. The wifi is sketchy, but good in the lobby. It would get five stars, but it is just not a five star type of "luxery resort." But, it was a great stay for the purpose we had.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Guest consideration -zero! The hotel was quick to take the money but had no heart or consideration to allow for changing a reservation. A reservation was made by my daughter on my behalf, and unexpected circumstances had her going to hospital for an emergency c-section, and with the added confusion of having to pick up her husband from the military base (he is a Marine), my daughter neglected to communicate to me that she had left her credit card info. She asked me to cancel the reservation which I did on the same day, but it was a couple of hours after the deadline. Again, the situation did not allow for either of us to call and cancel sooner. We are not even requesting for the money back, just that we use the reservation now that my son-in-law is going to deploy again. Management does not consider this a special circumstance to make an exception to their rule and allow us the change in reservation. PLEASE, do not stay stay in this establishment who has no heart and do not support the families of our soldiers!!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathsons-Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
As a Hotel that has been doing business in the 29 Palms area for almost a decade we understand the men and women that serve our country and their family members have special circumstances. We have always accommodated them in the past and will do so in the future. Most of our staff are military families, wives, husbands, brothers, sisters, and service men and women that still live in the area.

Unfortunately the guest above did not state that this is the second time she cancelled the room after our 24 hour notice police and the hotel changed her reservation with no penalty the first time, the second time she tried to cancel she did not give the hotel medical emergency information when trying to cancel so we had no choice to enforce our 24 hour cancellation policy, if she had provided all the necessary documents, ie deployment, medical emergency, cancellation of deployment we would have waived the fees automatically. We pride ourselves in taking care of our community and our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
252 reviews
1.7 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
418 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms
Address: 71829 Twentynine Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277 (Formerly Country Inn 29 Palms)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Joshua Tree/Twentynine Palms offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free coffee in lobby and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. We also have breakfast options available for purchase. Enjoy a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool. Maintain your exercise routine on the road in our fitness center. All guest rooms include hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, and ironing board. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. We are located off Twentynine Palms Highway, and are near to local attractions such as Copper Mountain College Campus, Joshua Tree National Park, and National University. Americas Best Value Inn Joshua Tree/Twentynine Palms is your best choice within the Joshua Tree National Park region of California. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to the Mojave Desert or 29 Palms Marine Base. At Americas Best Value Inn Joshua Tree/Twentynine Palms our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Joshua Tree/Twentynine Palms, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Twentynine Palms
Country Hotel Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing