We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep, nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree/29 Palms
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The motel is a long row of concrete rooms totally lacking in charm. The rooms were large and clean. Ours had a micro, fridge and 2 cooking plates. There were no pots, dishes or utensils so the stove was useless.

We were given one room but the toilet leaked so we were immediately given another one without any fuss. The receptionists were friendly and polite when they were there. We stayed for 3 nights and the last day the office was closed. There was a sign saying we could get service at the neighboring hotel. We had to go there to get coffee.

We did not suffer from noise from our neighbors and was able to sleep quite comfortably.

There was no safe in the room and not at the reception as far as I know. I don't care if there is a safe if we are spending one night in a motel but I don't feel comfortable leaving valuables in our room when we are out all day. We had to carry them with us.

There was only one bar of soap in the bathroom so we had to remember to take it back and forth from the sink to the shower. The shower had good water pressure.

On the whole, considering the price it was quite ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is convenient and clean, but that is where the likes end.

This place is ridiculously noisy. Some guy has his school buses there and fires them up at 5 am, others have their construction equipment including gigantic trucks and I am not even sure if he ever turned them off.
Then you have neighbors that don't know what courteous means, doors slamming, up and down all night, TV on and lots and lots of conversation. The last straw was the snoring like we are sharing a room. I couldn't believe it. I was never more happy to leave a hotel. And since sleep is really important to me, I won't be staying here ever again.

Now some of you might be wondering why I just didn't go complain to the front...well I did, and I was assured that the offensive people were checking out...okay cool, I can get some sleep. Then to my dismay, new tenants on one side, the offending snoring man, never left. Yikes! Again, don't stay is sleep is important.

Room Tip: one with no neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wakeewahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here one night while travelling through Joshua tree park. Large rooms, helpful staff, we didn't have an issue with noise or other guests, in fact it was very quite, we were on second floor.. Great value for money. Only issue was air con was very noisy, and the curtains don't close.... There are nets up, but the drapes are fixed not to close so people could see in. Good budget motel and good for a short stopover.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage get a ground floor room as there are stairs and no lift bit of a pain to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirazWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We came to Twenty-Nine Palms to visit with my son, a Marine. We stayed at Country Inn for 8 nights, and we truly enjoyed our stay! Dara, Jessica, Jerry, Sauranda, and Gracie are great! Anytime we needed anything, we were greeted with a smile and our needs were met immediately. Our room was clean, our beds were comfortable, and the pool was small but it was huge in beating the heat. We would stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We had no problems with noise, and our A/C unit worked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We booked this hotel on-line and planned to rest here after a day exploring Joshua Tree National Park.
Check-in went smoothly. The clerk was warm, welcoming and had our reservation at her finger tips.
The room was hot. The air conditioner would not start. The clerk directed us to do the "reset and monitoring" of the machine until it restarted. In other words, we were asked to repair the air conditioner.
It still would not start.
We asked for either a new room with an operating air conditioner or a refund. The second was declined and 10 minutes later we were moved to an "up-grade". The new room, with kitchenette was semi clean. The counter tops were dirty, beer bottle caps on the floor, soap left by the last guest on the bathtub shelf, holes in the towels and in the sheets. There were neither glasses nor coffee cups in the room. The walls were so thin, we were awaked at 5:00am by...
To add to this dismal story, the gate to the swimming pool was propped open with a chair giving easy access from parking lot to the pool deck and pool. And of course by 4 o'clock the day's allotment of pool towels was gone.
The advertised breakfast was a no-show as a sign in the office window at morning departure indicated the office was closed, "Sorry for any inconvenience."
To obtain a receipt for the night's stay I had to visit the related accommodation next door.

Room Tip: This hotel was NATEL owned and managed by Nathsons Hospitality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a stop over whilst on route to Vegas, we had actually booked into the 29 palms inn and suits next door, well in advance of our stay but were transferred to this motel. My issue is that the wall are paper thin, the guests next door were having some sort of party, with no sleep we contacted the reception at 3am very tired and frustrated, the receptionist got muddled up, thinking we were checking out, then asking if we had a good nights sleep!!. he did have a word with the guests next door and eventually at 5 am the noise stopped. Their was no reason to to move us from our original booking, I always check TA before booking.. 29 palms inn rated 2nd this one rated 8th, i would never have booked this motel and would suggest that you dont either. look the hotel cannot select its guests and the majority of this review is about rude, noisy guests, the walls are paper thin and there is no getting away from that. One the whole this is a motel and a shabby one at that. Very disappointing and as i mentioned in the title the worst nights sleep i have ever had in any hotel in any country, and i have stayed in a few.......never again

Room Tip: Never in your wildest dreams...just dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w00dster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We booked one night to be near the Joshua Tree Nat Park, but decided to stay here an extra night as we liked the motel and the area so much, the reception staff here were really friendly and helpful, suggesting places to visit and stay during the rest of our vacation in the US...so this place was a real find, and good value for money too...shame they don't do breakfast, but still a bargin

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms might be a bit quieter, but site was quiet in the evenings anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
269 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree/29 Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree/29 Palms

Address: 71829 Twentynine Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277 (Formerly Country Inn 29 Palms)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £39 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree/29 Palms 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Joshua Tree/Twentynine Palms offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free coffee in lobby and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. We also have breakfast options available for purchase. Enjoy a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool. Maintain your exercise routine on the road in our fitness center. All guest rooms include hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, and ironing board. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. We are located off Twentynine Palms Highway, and are near to local attractions such as Copper Mountain College Campus, Joshua Tree National Park, and National University. Americas Best Value Inn Joshua Tree/Twentynine Palms is your best choice within the Joshua Tree National Park region of California. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to the Mojave Desert or 29 Palms Marine Base. At Americas Best Value Inn Joshua Tree/Twentynine Palms our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Joshua Tree/Twentynine Palms, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree/29 Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Twentynine Palms
Country Hotel Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing