We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We just chanced to stay here in Twentynine Palms on a Wednesday evening. From a friendly check-in to the exceptional guest appreciation reception in the evening (only on Wednesdays) our brief stay was wonderful. We enjoyed talking with the staff to learn more about the area. After hiking in the Joshua Tree National Park we were looking forward to a relaxing afternoon and evening. Our stay here was exactly that. We'd recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimM867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had basically a honeymoon suite with in-room jacuzzi large enough for two. We discovered that a single-person jetted tub actually does a better job of working out the kinks comfortably, but this was nice after a long day hiking in Joshua Tree National Park. It was a huge room, triple the size of an efficiency apartment I lived in for 5 years, but they could have decorated it more attractively. It didn't feel luxurious, somehow, despite the amenities, and I think a little color on the walls, even a single piece of artwork or a wall mural, and a throw pillow on the couch would have made a huge difference in the impact overall. There were plenty of cushy towels. The bed was very comfortable. We arrived too late to use the pool/spa. The staff kindly allowed us to use the laundry room beyond the normal hours (it is in a separate building next to the pool, so wasn't disturbing anyone), but then my husband found himself locked inside, as it had no interior door handle! He almost broke our rental car's key getting himself out of there. The front desk person assured him it would be fixed immediately, but we didn't go back to check and see whether that happened. The breakfast both mornings was extensive: juice, milk, smoothies made to order, tea, coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins,oatmeal, cereal, cinnamon rolls (unfortunately not that great), English muffins, toast, scrambled eggs, sausage, croissants, taquitos, French toast sticks one day and biscuits with sausage gravy the other. Nothing really stood out as restaurant quality, but it was far better than what any other hotel gave us in their "complimentary" breakfasts.

Room Tip: We had a king suite with a jacuzzi, desk and comfortable office chair, a sofa, flat-screen tv (with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This was chosen for the proximity to Joshua Tree National Park. Mildly eccentric check-in from Sue made us smile - and the room made us very happy, as we got an upgrade! There are several separate buildings, so it's not just one block, and they vary in appearance too which makes it more interesting than many places. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, and the breakfast was very good; a selection of cereals, breads, muffins, fruit, and hot items. They also make waffles and smoothies to order. The views of the sunrise from the breakfast room were an added bonus! Well worth staying here.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room and the one teensy drawback was the noise from people upstairs (possibly du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GremAndTabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

At 730am each morning a loud plumbing/water sound that sounded like someone was showering on the other side of the wall from my pillow started, stopped, and then repeated every 7-8 minutes for hours. For a leisure trip where one wants to sleep in, this was bad. I did not realize this was in fact not a shower but a noise from a loud utility room until my stay was nearly over, so no action (like moving rooms) could be taken. I told management who acted surprised but did nothing else. Otherwise the property is nice, and I am sure another room would have made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBowie29, General Manager at Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for notifying us about this problem upon your checkout from room 202. We appreciate the time that you took to share your experience, both in person and on Trip Advisor.

We strive to offer superb customer service to every guest, and are disappointed that you were not able to sleep late during your stay. After your report at checkout, we were able to locate the plumbing problem in the utility area. We have fixed the issue and look forward to welcoming guests back to room 202! I only wish that you would have notified us sooner so that we could have provided a quieter stay for you as well.

I hope that you’ll give us another try next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Jim Bowie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Outstanding right across the board! From the cleanliness of the bedrooms, the comfort of the beds , the quietness and breakfasts. Good and convenient parking and professional staff. All top notch and I will be back.


  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank POLOboyblue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I love this hotel-plain and simple. The price was great (only 78-and they gave me a free room upgrade because I'm a Best Western Rewards Member)! The hotel is close to Joshua Tree-especially the great 49 Palms trail. We were greeted at the front desk with cookies and bottled water. The receptionist also explained where the spa/pool and laundry were. Our room was nice with a flat panel tv, microwave, mini-fridge, couch and king size bed. We slept super comfy on the bed. The breakfast was one of the best I've had at a hotel-and definitely the best I've had at hotel in that price range. They vary the menu somewhat daily, but you can always get a made-to-order fruit smoothie (options like peach, mixed berry, and chocolate banana). There were also various fruit (including honey dew melon), scrambled eggs (the good kind), sausage, taquitos, omelets, waffles, cereal, bagels and more. Just exceptional.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

We had access to many nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williwillinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hotel newly remodeled, had nice TV, fridge, coffee maker, microwave, etc. in rooms. Beds comfy. Good sized rooms. Breakfast bar had staff making waffles, smoothies, in addition to scrambled eggs, bacon, etc in warming tray (microwaved food). Had juices, coffee, teas, yogurt, bagels, cereal, etc. Looked like a nice pool and jacuzzi (we were there in December so did not try). Very close to North entrance to Joshua Tree. Nice place to stay if visiting 29 Palms/Joshua Tree area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cr8zykittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
439 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
314 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
262 reviews
4.4 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park

Address: 71487 Twentynine Palms Highway, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel in Twentynine Palms, CA is conveniently located on Highway 62, minutes from the Twentynine Palms Marine Base and Joshua Tree National Park. Our Southern CA hotel offers complimentary amenities, including a hot breakfast buffet and wireless Internet, as well an outdoor pool overlooking the tranquil desert gardens. Whether you’re seeking a relaxing getaway or outdoor adventure at the Joshua Tree National Park, the Gardens Hotel is the perfect Mojave Desert escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Best Western Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing