We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Horrible Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Truly Horrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Complaint is with the Best Western Gardens Hotel, Joshua Tree National Park, CA. and its manager, AMRA [--] and very possibly the owner. Now here is our complaint. We arrived at the hotel on Thursday, August 7th to check in and planned to depart on Tuesday, August 12th. When we checked into the hotel they did not mention that they had a water main issue and no running water, even though the manager, AMRA [--], was behind the counter at the time and was very aware of the issue which started on Wednesday, August 6th. They had their on-site maintenance personnel working on the issue instead of calling in a licensed plumber. Their attempts at fixing the issue failed both times. Then a licensed plumber was called in and a third attempt failed to fix the issue. Still NO WATER. We went thru the whole evening with no water and still no running water in the morning. The manager went home that evening when he should have stayed at the hotel to assist anyone needing bottled water for drinking and water for flushing toilets. We had to take the trash cans from our room to get water out of the pool to flush our toilet, several times, carrying them up a flight of stairs. They are very fortunate we did not hurt ourselves and this caused VERY UNSANITARY CONDITIONS.

We were extremely fed up at this point so we went to the local fire station, the next morning, to make them aware of the issue and they said they would contact Code Enforcement and that they might need to shut down the property so they suggested we find a room at another hotel. We were in town for a conference where they were expecting over 2000 attendees so the only room we could find was a spa suite at America’s Best Value Inn & Suites, in Yucca Valley, for more money than we planned in our budget. Very frustrated at this point in our trip and missing part of our conference that first day.

Now for the manager, AMRA [--]. When my girlfriend tried to take some video of the water main issue in the parking lot he came out and started yelling at her and said he was calling the police and he was going to have her arrested because she was being a trouble maker when all she was trying to do was get some proof of the issue to contest the bill for the one night with her credit card company. I was actually surprised when a police officer showed up at our room in a very short period of time. He asked what was happening and when we told him the whole story, which AMRA [--] apparently had not, and that we found a room at another hotel. He agreed with us and told AMRA [--] he could not charge us for the night because the hotel had no running water and the conditions were unsanitary. He told the officer he would take care of it and AMRA [--] did not charge us for Thursday, August 7th, so we though. When we got home we checked the credit card statement for the card that was used to make the reservation (used different card when we checked in) and found he had charged the card for one night. Now we have to deal with the credit card company to get the charge removed.

Best Western needs to review its franchise agreement with this property. Apparently they do not understand your QOS (Quality of Service). There were many other upset guest. Hopefully they were treated with more respect than we were. This is when a property is really put to the challenge. You can have a perfect record and then this happens and if it not handled right there goes your brands reputation.

This was such an unbelievable, truly horrible experience, at a hotel, that we have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBowie29, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
We are terribly sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience during such a difficult time. But when the city’s water main burst on Wednesday, we could not anticipate that it would impact our property as much as it did. After hiring a licensed plumber and working around the clock to rectify the situation, we expected to provide water to our guests within a few hours. But the water pressure coming from the city was too intense and we were forced to replace pipes on our property as well. It was a frustrating experience for everyone involved!

We attempted to make our guests as comfortable as possible, by providing satellite facilities with toilets and showers (with running water), bottled water for drinking, and extra assistance from our staff. All of our staff, including Amra, were extremely concerned about guest welfare, and worked very long shifts, stopping only to sleep for a few hours on property. During the water outage, our primary concern was the comfort and safety of our guests, just as it is every other day at Best Western Gardens Hotel.

After the water service was restored, we were able to attend to the accounting, and we have refunded all guests who were without water on that day. We do not expect for any guest to pay for a stay without complete services, and would like to issue a very sincere apology for the inconvenience experienced during that time.

We hope that you will give us another chance to provide award-winning guest service. This situation was unexpected and surprisingly complex, and we appreciate your patience in regards to your stay.

Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion. We appreciate the opportunity to explain the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    177
    52
    20
    18
See reviews for
134
224
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had to make an unexpected trip to Joshua Tree for a family matter and booked this hotel at the last minute. The staff was lovely, and very accommodating. The pool is area was clean and so relaxing. However, it was the bed that made this extraordinary! Talk about comfort! The best night's sleep I had the whole trip, I truly did not want to get up in the morning! Fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A basic and yet pleasant stay. We only stopped in for a night but found the hotel to be clean, cool (it was 98 F outside) and very welcoming. The decor is somewhat lacking but as the area is probably not frequented by as many people as would be necessary to fund modernisation I am glad the hotel have stuck with guests being their priority. For anyone familiar with European hotels, this is cleaner and of a better general standard. Wifi and Parking are included and disabled bays are available. Breakfast was great and offers both warm and cold selections for anyone wanting an early(ish) start.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rimsey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good place to stay if you want to kick back. Pool n Jacuzzi are nice. the town is small but they have the Turtle casino. best to stay in fall up to May then it gets hot. Breakfast has a wide range of things. you can even get a smoothie. Pioneer town is a few miles away, fun to explore. And giant rock if your into UFO's.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBowie29, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
We are so glad that you were able to relax while staying with us! The high desert and Joshua Tree National Park offer spectacular beauty and quiet, wide-open spaces; it's the perfect place to visit to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

I am especially glad that you enjoyed our made-to-order smoothies. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and attempt to offer a variety of breakfast item to suit many different lifestyles. Thanks for noticing!

We hope you come back soon to relax in the clean, quiet desert air!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything was excellent. The room was nice; the staff was friendly and helpful; and we relaxed and enjoyed our stay. The only slight issue we had was that the icemachine was pretty far away from our room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This property has become a part of our quarterly trip to San Diego. A very nice and quiet place yet on the highway. Twice no we stopped just past the hotel so I could make the online reservation (I need to get the app) turned around and they were waiting for us. The breakfast (when we don't sleep in) is great, too. Although we are traveling, BW Gardens is near the gateway to Joshua National Park and MCB 29 Palms. Truly, an oasis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel was very well maintained. The breakfast which was free was beyond our expectations with waffles made to order and a variety of breakfast foods to meet everyone's needs. They even upgraded us from 2 double beds to 2 very comfortable Queen size beds. Our biggest disappointment was we had to go to the front desk every day to ask them to clean our room and we were there for 5 nights and 6 days waiting for our son to arrive from Afghanistan. You would have thought that after the first time they missed cleaning our room and we had to request it they would have made sure it didn't happen again but it did every day we were there. It was a big disappointment because other than that which was a big thing it was a great hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimBowie29, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
I apologize for the mistake by our housekeeping staff! I wonder if our computer system malfunctioned during your stay. Or perhaps the "Do Not Disturb" sign was accidentally left on your door. Either way, we always strive to provide top notch service, including daily housekeeping. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

You can be assured that we continually evaluate our service and our staff, and work very hard to rectify any issues. Thanks for sharing your experience.

I hope you come back soon and give us another chance to make your stay perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#4 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
18.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.2 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park

Property: BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Address: 71487 Twentynine Palms Highway, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel in Twentynine Palms, CA is conveniently located on Highway 62, minutes from the Twentynine Palms Marine Base and Joshua Tree National Park. Our Southern CA hotel offers complimentary amenities, including a hot breakfast buffet and wireless Internet, as well an outdoor pool overlooking the tranquil desert gardens. Whether you’re seeking a relaxing getaway or outdoor adventure at the Joshua Tree National Park, the Gardens Hotel is the perfect Mojave Desert escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Best Western Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing