We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Faultless, great slightly retro character and great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
406 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Faultless, great slightly retro character and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

So I have read differing reviews and I will just say it how I found it. It exceeded my expectations in all areas. The staff without exception were friendly and helpful. The retro check-in, pool and restaurant are a delight. Its a 'real' pool too - 9ft at deep end, not the paddling pools built today. Stayed in cheapest ($95) style room, Room Z. Just faultless. Clean and worked well with old retro fittings (windows, heater, furniture) giving it huge character. Any more modernising would be wrong, for me the balance old/new is perfect. Located outside town virtually in park so incredibly quite at night. Just loved it will be back for longer next time

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynCarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    83
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
86
140
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of our time here! The staff was cheerful and helpful. The adobe cabin was homey and really gave us an experience unlike any other hotel - by this I mean it seemed authentic to the hi desert architecture and living - and it was personalized. The patio area adjacent to our cabin allowed us beautiful views of the desert night sky and stars without the normal city lights. The restaurant was clean and the food was good, even for us vegetarians. The morning breakfast was hearty and healthy - breads, bran muffins, oatmeal, coffee, fruits. We hung out around the pool for a while, explored the beautiful grounds, walked through the garden, meditated along the pond. All in all, a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it.
For a few dollars more than a chain hotel, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dandelion 'room' - this room is one of eight rooms that have views of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was a vacation getaway while visiting our daughter in Los Angeles. I was most impressed by the property, a pond, cute little "bungalos", beautiful palms and desert views. Nice pool, although we didn't try it. The restaurant was wonderful, beautifully prepared dishes, something to please almost everyone. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was homemade! (NO pastry in plastic sleeves!) What was most impressive was the style of the "rooms" Each was it's own self contained area. A courtyard with gate, and lounge chairs, decent sized room. My only complaint would be that the pillows were on the hard side and there wasn't a chance of a rug to put your feet on in the morning. The floors are stone. HOWEVER you could have your own fire in the working, wood fueled fireplace! Practically on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park, I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Obviously, farther from the pool would be quieter, but there are a variety of rooms styles, and size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

After an afternoon at Joshua Tree National Park in the high desert this was an oasis. A very cheerful greeting and an easy sign in for our two cabins. A little pricy I thought, but this is the authentic place to experience our overnight before heading back to Joshua Tree in the morning.

Our cabins were adequate and the ac didn't need to be turned on because of the coolness of the April evening.

Dinner at the Inn was wonderful and a two piece band played cool tunes from across the swimming pool next to the restaurant. Although we sat at a indoor table, the door was kept open for the breeze and music to drift through.

The included breakfast was comfortably enjoyed at an outside table before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casertast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
403 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

This place is the kind of place you choose for a reason. My husband booked us into the Holiday Inn Express- I nixed that- no soul. Lucked out that another guest checked out early- AC was too noisy (I expect he got our room at Holiday Inn- he can have it!).
This place is vintage, a real throw back to 1960s road trips. The rooms were dated but clean - no fancy towels or soaps or lotions or potions. A great sunny simple cement pool with deck. Amidst the mountains. The guests were families, rock climbers, hippies and hipsters. Ate a delicious dinner at the bar, lively restaurant, live music Met cool and interesting people.
If you are looking for a sterile chain without charm, this is NOT your place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Let me start off by saying that I love historic towns and historic places. After spending a day in Joshua Tree National Park, I was pretty excited about staying at the historic 29 Palms Inn. Located at the birthplace of 29 Palms and built in 1928, I expected this inn to be oozing with charm and charisma. Instead, I found this establishment to be run down and neglected. The "Oasis" was a combination of dead, burnt or fallen palm trees around a swampy pond. The pond area was not an area that we (or other people) were hanging out at. The grounds of the property were just not well kept with dead vegetation and debris throughout (a discarded telephone pole laid outside our room). The enclosed patio area by our room was simply gravel (without landscaping) and contained a broken lawn chair. The faucet in our room dripped continuously. I guess that my expectations were high because of the high daily room rates. They also have a ridiculously high $35 fee when bringing a pet (they call that a deep cleaning fee but our room was far from that when we arrived). This establishment needs full time landscape maintenance personnel and owners that start reinvesting back into this historic property. The current owners might just say that they are trying to keep things authentic but I have no doubt that the 29 Palms Inn was a much different experience at one time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JandCtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

First of all, yes this place is a little expensive. But it was such a great stay it was well worth the price. We took the cheapest bungalow which i think was around $100. We made a stop in 29 Palms as we were on our way to Joshua Tree, coming from Las Vegas (through the Mojave desert, which was a trip!). I loved the fact this town was in the middle of nowhere. The 29 Palms Inn has so much character, the grounds are very beautiful and they have a bunch of different cottages, depending on your budget. The restaurant which was lovely is set up around the pool, they serve vegetables our of their own garden. There's not much to do in 29 Palms at night, but sitting on our little porch looking at the stars was more than enough. Oh and if you like looking at the stars and a movie at the same time, there's a "ranch drive in movie theatre" in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citytripper83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#4 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.0 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Property: 29 Palms Inn
Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing