We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just got back from a short vacation at the 29 Palms Inn. Actually considered backing out as it is a nine hour drive for us but so glad we didn't! We had a great time! The food was excellent, the weather perfect (early October), the Hermitage cabin so awesome funky-cute with an amazing view of the desert and mountains (and having to go outside to get to the bathroom just meant I got to see a shooting star at 4 AM), the on site pottery place got us all crafting, and the pool was refreshing and clean. We met up with a couple other families and the kids all had as much fun as the adults. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: This is not your standard hotel and that's why it's so charming! Enjoy the awesome uniquene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff at check in - charming "Adobe" cottages - really gives you a wonderful feel of being in the desert - rooms well maintained and clean - price is fair - wifi in area surrounding unheated pool (cold in early October) - good restaurant

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have to admit I was a little bit nervous about booking this hotel, and the google streetview didn't give me too many assurances. How wrong I was! This place is absolutely amazing. From the friendly reception to the amazing 'room' this place is a must for anyone needing a bed in the desert. We had the Guest House which sleeps six with it's own courtyard, kitchen and ample living accommodation. We only stayed on night but wished we had booked for longer. Despite the tremendous heat outside the air conditioning kept the place a cool as a cucumber. The kids loved the pool, with live music at the poolside in the evening. A good breakfast was served in the restaurant (reviewed separately) which also provided a good value packed lunch.

It is also just a few minutes drive from Joshua Tree National Park. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RichF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for one night having seen it recommended in a guide book. It was a really quirky place with individual cabins facing the Joshua Tree national park. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the restaurant served lovely fresh food - possibly one of the best meals we had during our whole trip. There is a pool to relax around and a bar where we enjoyed a relaxing evening after dinner.

We arrived at night and it was a little tricky to find in the dark but the staff gave us good directions over the phone.

They also have work of local artists displayed in the restaurant and run various classes

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you are a certain kind of traveler, this place will delight. We stayed in an old hut (Old Frame), which is not the most modern of buildings, nor the best equipped, though perfectly comfortable.

What makes this place special is a combination of its location, which is a verdant oasis shaded with a lush abundance of mature palms; the attitude, which is friendly, trusting and a touch bohemian, and the restaurant which offers fine dining at ordinary prices.

If what you seek is ultra modern luxury then this place may not be to your taste. But if you get why it's great to stay at an oasis in the desert, with jazz music on the evening air, surrounded by palms, with the sound of running water and visited by flights of turkey vultures in the falling light - then don't hesitate.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RBA-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our second stay at the 29 Palms Inn. If you ever have the opportunity to check in here you will not regret it. We stayed in West End Cottage this trip and our only regret was we couldn't stay longer. The cottage is well equipped for you to cater for yourself if you want to. Comfortable beds and lots of space. The grounds of the Inn need to be explored. Take your camera for you will find lots of photogenic sights. The oasis looks marvellous in the early morning sunshine. We sat on the verandah of the cottage and watched the sun come up. Had dinner in the restaurant by the pool. Also took advantage of the packed lunch for the following day. Breakfast by the pool in the warmth of the sunshine, just what we love. If we are ever in this region again we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in Forget Me Not and West End Cottage but can recommend both. I believe a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chadbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I love this place. The food is wonderful. The inn is unique and the staff couldn't be nicer. It is just down the street from Joshua Tree national park. A worthy place to spend the day. If you love the desert and solitude you will adore this place

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliketotravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
510 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
283 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
324 reviews
1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £51 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1928 at the historic Oasis of Mara in Twentynine Palms, the 29 Palms Inn has welcomed guests to the beautiful California Desert for almost a century. Across the 70-acre property, looking out to the mountains of Joshua Tree National Park, the 29 Palms Inn offers an eclectic mix of guest accommodations. Family owned and operated for five generations now, the Inn offers a kind of retreat that’s hard to compare with other places. You’ll stay not in one of a hundred cookie-cutter rooms, but one of a few wood frame cabins built in the 1920’s, adobe bungalows from the 1930’s, or full amenity guest houses built in the 1950’s. The vibrant poolside restaurant is open daily for lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch, with a fresh menu that specializes in seafood, steaks, daily fish and pasta specials, and great vegetarian options. Sourdough bread is baked daily on premise, and seasonal fruits and vegetables are harvested from the Inn’s very own Faultline Farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing