We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 1...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Twentynine Palms
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here in winter:(Fail!) That turned out to be a sleepless night with no heat. Our heater was out, the night manager was out, and the staff? Absolutely clueless! Hopefully they have replaced those bozos because this place was barely clean, frightfully hard beds, and paper-thin walls. Ok, we weren't expecting Embassy Suites ( who can afford it?) but this was a 'Motel 1" experience. Imagine trying to sleep when you have the couple next door going at it and it's you that wants to take a shower afterwards! Then you have the self-titled,"River Rats" drinking too much beer in the room below you..I complained loudly to the morning manager with a Sheriff's deputy shaking his head and laughing in line behind me.
It was obvious that he had heard this complaint before...many times. I think it helped having the deputy there(by chance) as the 'clerk' at check out gave us a free night at any Motel 6 in CA. We went to San Diego with it which was great except being awakened by Firemen who were evacuating the motel due to an alarm. We learned the hard way and now always stay away from this hotel chain. We have seen almost all 50 states and most hotels rank at least
'average' on the scale. Unfortunately, this one is at the very bottom of that scale. Read some of the other reviews and you'll want to keep driving. Trust me.

Room Tip: Keep Driving! Don't Stop Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

The hotel was outdated, no wifi had to pay for it, no breakfast, not enough towels and no iron in the room.

Room Tip: Go to the hotel across the street. The cost of the room plus cost of internet equals the cost of bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roncee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Nothing special except it has three floors and creepy elevator (I was wondering if I got stuck or not). Average cleanness, standard no frills equipment. Good place for one night stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Just stayed for three days. The room was clean, but small. Bed was small, but comfy.
No smoking may not be enforced here. and, we had a little bit of noise.

But, we are only paying 50.00 a night here. We are not planning to live here. We are so active that I slept well in spite of any annoyances. The Staff were nice to us. Why complain?
I thought it was a great place to crash while visiting the Park. Would I stay here again?
Yep. Inexpensive digs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Three of us traveled together -- and stayed in three seperate rooms, so I know my experiences were not just my room.

The price is very low -- that is what attracted us. However, i wouldn't pay $1 to stay in this dump -- ever.

The rooms stank, even though advertised as non-smoking, there had been plenty of smoking in the room (even ashtrays were provided), the room had no air, the mattress was horrible, and the sheets and comforters were downright scary (we all slept with our clothes on).

We arrived late, so it was too late to go find something else, but as soon we flew out at sunrise in search of something safer.

We found wonderful accomodations just down the road, for $35/night more....worth every penny.

If you needed a room to store your luggage and perhaps take a nap for an hour or two, this hotel might be ok. For any other reason, please do yourself a favor and find a better deal.

The one good thing we can say about it was the front-desk staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saucycontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We arrived on a Monday night without a booking after a massive drive from Las Vegas. No non-smoking rooms left, but the lady at reception let us have keys for 3 smoking rooms to find the one that was not too bad. One of them was fine. The bonus - right next door to a Del Taco and 5 mins up the road and you are at Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_karyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Cheap and convenient to Joshua Tree National Park...but that's all. Low quality bedding, paper thin walls, and a tendency to house roudy Marines mean you better be exhausted from a long day hiking if you want to get some sleep. Clean enough. Slowwwwwww check in. As was the $3 internet access.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree/29 Palms
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua...
#11 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
447 reviews
0.8 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Twentynine Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Twentynine Palms

Address: 72562 Twentynine Palms Highway, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Twentynine Palms 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Twentynine Palms is conveniently located just 5 minutes from the main entrance to California's Joshua Tree National Park and Twentynine Palms Marine Base. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Twentynine Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Twentynine Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
Motel 6 29 Palms
Motel Six Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Motel 6
Twentynine Palms Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing