We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Motel 6”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Twentynine Palms
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Ok, let's be honest... if you're considering a Motel 6 stay then hopefully you're willing to put up with things like a noisy mini-fridge and a hard bed. It was clean, safe and perfectly acceptable for a "less then $50 a night" hotel. The staff was great, and even gave us a call as soon as we got to our room to make sure everything was OK. Great proximity to Joshua Tree.

Room Tip: The top floor might be a good choice, no one above you to make noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Twentynine Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here one night in mid-March 2013. Compared with other Motel 6's, this one was better than average: the spartan usual, but clean, and I just needed a place to sleep before moving on the next morning. Because I had some heavy gear to keep in my room, I chose the only ground floor room still available. (The clerk told me no one else wanted it because the TV image was fuzzy.) It was at the front side of the building, facing Twentynine Palms Highway. When I checked in, about 10 pm, the traffic noise was negligible and easily blocked by the white noise of the A/C fan. However, early the next morning, before dawn, the highway sounds of Harleys, 18-wheeler big-rigs, etc., broke through the closed windows, heavy drapes, and white noise. Then the smoke alarm in my room began chirping--apparently the battery was low. No more sleep for me, and I was wiped out before I finished my work that day. Unless you are an early riser, don't stay on the highway side of this motel, and hope you get a room with a maintained smoke alarm.

Room Tip: Get a room in the rear center of the building, as far away from the highway as possible. If you can...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdc562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The good: front desk ladies were both very accomodating and helpful. Laundry facilities on-site a plus. Outside pool looked clean but waaay too cold to swim. Pizza Hut conveniently located right next door; great customer service there. Felt like my vehicle would still be there in the morning...it was! :)
The bad: paper-thin walls and structure; heard EVERYTHING around us...hey, what did I expect for a low-pay stay? lol

Room Tip: Upstairs probably a lot more quiet than downstairs rooms....
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

If you’re looking for modest-but-clean accommodations at a bargain rate in Twentynine Palms, California, Motel 6 may be a good option. And, if you don’t mind the typical Motel 6 approach to lodging, you’ll find this one to be quite fine.

My $46/night room had many of the qualities that one comes to expect with many Motel 6’s, both positive and negative. The room was compact, the furnishings were spartan, the old television had a small screen, and the bed was comfortable enough. The AC had a bit of a roar and you could hear some road noise filter into the room. It was reasonably clean and the desk clerks were quite friendly and efficient. The motel has a tidy combination of grass and manicured sand landscaping around it and a small outdoor pool. The property has three stories, all of the rooms have convenient exterior entrances, and parking is no more than just adequate. So, all pretty much par-for-the-course for a Motel 6. I was surprised, however, to find that the bathroom included a tub (and not the typical Motel 6 super-cramped, leaky shower stall) --- yea!

The motel is located on the western side of Twentynine Palms and alongside California Highway 62. This highway has a long strip of widely-scattered commercial establishments. There’s Pizza Hut next door and are a variety of fast-food and more traditional restaurants within reasonable driving distances to choose from. The west entrance to Joshua Tree National Park (arguably the best route into the park) is about 10 miles west of the motel in the neighboring town of Joshua Tree, CA.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOGraffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

$45 rooms are tiny tiny tiny, but very clean. Does not smell like cigarette like I expected, considering there is an ashtray in the room. Sheets are clean and smell good, but the mattress is old. Only problem I had was the blizzardy television. Only channels with reception were Spanish tv and cartoons. Overall good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingersnap78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

It was the cheapest hotel in the area but it was really great. The room was CLEAN! there was a tv and lamps on the wall beside the bed. air conditioner/ heating unit worked great. The bathroom was nice and clean with towels, soap and a bucket for ice/cups. There's a vending machine down stairs, and ice machine somewhere ( I saw the sign I just didn't use it). AWESOME POOL AREA! nice sized handicapped accessible pool along with a jacuzzi! Was very nice and relaxing. We ate at the pizza hut which is literally about 20 yards away from the hotel. They have a window at the office so that if you're checking out early in the morning you can drop your key off with no worries. Bed was comfortable. There was a cool stand to put my suitcase on. They DO spray for bugs but it's the desert so don't be surprised if you see them outside but I had NO PROBLEMS WITH BUGS IN THE ROOM! :) very satisfied with this place. No microwave or mini fridge but i'm not sure if other rooms offer that or not. We were only staying a night so we didn't necessarily NEED them.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was very quiet!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was the kind of place where you don't walk round barefoot. It was ok for the money, but not exactly somewhere I'd recommend.
The rooms seemed clean enough on first glance, but when looking closely, there were crumbs around the edge of the carpet.
The staff were good, as they let us use the swimming pool slightly out of hours (early morning, when it was due to be cleaned).
We stayed for two nights, to allow time for climbing in Joshua Tree. However, we did get locked out when the check-out time passed and our key-card cancelled! The staff were very apologetic, although they did try blaming me for not using it right!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree / Twentynine Palms
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua...
#11 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Twentynine Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Twentynine Palms

Address: 72562 Twentynine Palms Highway, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Twentynine Palms 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Twentynine Palms is conveniently located just 5 minutes from the main entrance to California's Joshua Tree National Park and Twentynine Palms Marine Base. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Twentynine Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Twentynine Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
Motel 6 29 Palms
Motel Six Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Motel 6
Twentynine Palms Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing