We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Hotel, Top Location”
Review of Hotel Adriatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Adriatic
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Biograd na Moru
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just enjoyed a top family holiday at the Hotel Adriatic in July of 2014. This is a very comfortable hotel, centrally located so you can easily access all of the many Biograd beach activities as well as nearby bars and restaurants. We stayed in a family room which in addition to the main bedroom offered bunk beds in a connecting room as well as two bathrooms. Our rate included a buffet breakfast and dinner so represented great value for the family. Staff were also very friendly and accommodating.
This is my second time at the hotel (first time was sans kids) so I would definitely recommend for both families and couples alike.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Adriatic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

There were some pros and cons as you would expect from any hotel:

Pros
- nice design
- very good swimming pool
- most of the hotel staff were friendly
- beach is only 1 minute walk away

Cons
- very noisy hotel lift, you could hear every time it was used
- most of the staff speak very little/non English
- hotel bar shuts at 11 PM (during FIFA World Cup I would expect to stay open at least until the last evening match is finished)
- non existing storage space in bathroom, very limited in the room either

On top of that we had a massive issue with one of the male receptionist when we returned to the hotel at 11:05 PM and even though the bar was already closed, we wanted to sit in the lobby area which we used in previous days to chat with family and watch football together. This arrogant and rude man (his name was Marrin or so) wanted us to leave to our rooms, however he was not able to explain the reason why we cannot use hotel public facility which lobby certainly is as he spoke no English at all. After 5 minutes of arguing in English/Czech from my side and Croatian from his he just gave up and let us be there. Needles to say all the evening was ruined already and we decided to go to rooms.

So in overall I would score this hotel 3 but due to this issue all I can give the Adriatic hotel in Biograd is 2.

Room Tip: Do not get any room near the lift, you will be waking up every morning from 6:30 when older guests o...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Although the hotel itself was nice and our room was clean, we were misled as to the location of this hotel. We booked through Priceline, which listed the hotel as being in Zadar. The hotel is actually about 25km south of Zadar in another city. Since my friend and I didn't have a car, we had to take a bus to and from Zadar. Also, every time we asked the hotel staff for help with something (where to find dinner, where to catch a bus), they acted like we were interrupting them and bothering them. We also had language barrier issues here, as neither my friend nor I spoke Croatian or German. There were several instances where we were not understood.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank plutoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Very clean, friendly hotel. Good basic facilities, Decorated in a comfortable modern way. Reception and nigh staff very helpful. Would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at Hotel Adriatic in July 2010. Our room was on the 3rd floor on the inland side of the hotel from where we had a view of part of the footpath leading to the beach. We had no sea view. The air conditioning was noisy, but when the door/window is left open then very loud music from the arcade nearby kept us from sleeping before 2am. Not very relaxing. We had heard stories of mosquitoes in Biograd, but repellent kept them at bay, though we did have a couple of souvenir bites.

We had the half board option. Food was plentiful, but plain enough and they had a hefty woman policing the removal of fruit from the dining room. This lady made my wife return an apple as she was on the way out of the dining room. My wife was very disappointed with the food.

The pool is small, but we didn't use it as the beach is only a just across the street and it was easy to go swimming several times a day. As the room was on the North East side it was cool, but dark. We had no balcony, but the window/door could be opened to give an almost there balcony feeling!

Our flight home was in the evening and we requested the use of our room for the day, for which we were prepared to pay. This was refused and so we spent the entire day on the beach (under an umbrella) to get the worst roasting of the holiday!

The hotel has free Wifi in the lobby which is great for checking emails, but is too slow for anything else. There was also a PC there for the same purpose, but the monitor was missing for the duration of our stay.

Overall, a reasonable, but not exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MartyKildare_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

After reading such lines as...

"The Hotel Adriatic is the first true designer hotel on the Croatian coast" on the booking.com website

"Located in a pine forest on the beach" and

" Stylish design hotel inspired by the ancient Adriatic herb lavender and comfortable life of the ancient Romans" from the hotel's own website

"Elegant hotel on the Adriatic coast, recently renovated, with spectacular views of the islands from each of the elegant and well-furnished rooms. The decorations complimented the other innovative services and amenities of the Adriatic" Maplandia.com.

These flattering reviews plus many references to this three star hotel as a four star and very skillful photography which makes the small, above ground swimming pool which has barely room for a couple of sunloungers and is next to a prominade appear like a huge Hollywood style pool estending directly to the sea, fooled me into booking a room.

On entering the hotel we were overwhelmed by a smell that reminded me of a hospital.

The receptionists were welcoming and attentive though did have our booking wrong and after getting out three seperate keys finally decided on one - a sea view balcony as requested.

So up we went in a very old fashioned tiny juddering lift - if only we had known the lift was a treat compared to the room which was tiny, dark and stinky with no windows!

In fairness I think the smell might have been over generous use of mosquito repellent - as not a actually mosquito myself, I also found it to be every bit as repellent as I am sure they do!

The sea view was actually a side sea view and the balcony was more like a ledge - which would be most welcome for hurling yourself from should you be forced to stay in this tiny dark room for any length of time. There was a small door whith shutters over it that led to the "ledge" which provided the only light as there were not windows or indeed sliding glass door as is often found in hotel rooms with balconies.

We were horrified and ran next door to be transfered to the only 4 star hotel of the Ilirija Group in Biograd - the Hotel Ilirija which I will review seperately.

What it is hard to grasp from the websites in general is that there are three Ilirija hotel group hotels on the same peice of property in Biograd all facing a prominade directly on the sea and close to the centre of Biograd.

The Adriatic (painted almost exclusively in a most billious shade of Magenta) is on the left, picturesquely situated next to a deralict building, next is the Hotel Ilirija ( which is a great improvement on its sister hotel) and then the 3 star Hotel Konati which looked better on the outside at last than the Adriatic hotel ... though that would not be hard!

It is difficult to be fair to a hotel when you have been led to believe through seeing it advertised as a 4 star, when it is in fact a three star.

Beguiled by misleading photos of a huge pool which is only seperated from the sea by some stylish, strategically placed trees (which, by the way are shrivelled effigies of their photographic selves)...

...and most of all taken in by some chat about being a designer hotel not to mention the outright lie on the hotel's own website of being set in a pine forest - it is set in a car park between another hotel and a derelict building!

Why not be honest - its a three star hotel, it has a small pool, it does have great sea-side location but it is not luxurious, not designer, not boutique and claiming to be all these things only means that disappointed guest after disappointed guest will check in feeling they have been misled taken for a fool.

The Adriatic Hotel is not cheap either - and you even have to pay for parking. I cannot say what the food was like as we checked out about 5 minutes after checking in but I have to say the food at the Hotel Ilirija was very nice, though not terribly exciting.

Also the Mediterranian Style Bed Bar that the websites go on about is quite nice with sea views but is open to passers by as well as guests and those staying at the sister hotels can charge drinks to their rooms. FYI cocktails quite tasty but a little too weak for my tastes.

I would never advise anyone to stay here as I am sure you can get better value for money elsewhere as well as rooms which are a decent size, even if the rest of the hotel is to your liking.

Personally I have never felt so let down ever by a hotel, but at least they did the decent thing and arranged for us to have a pleseant stay in the Hotel Ilirija next doors whose rooms are sunny, bright and while not huge are of an acceptable size with bigger balconies, bigger, better bathrooms (with bath unlike the Adriatic) and the whole hotel has a much more pleasant light., bright and glossy atmosphere unlike the oppressive dark purple tones of the Adriatic Hotel.

My advice to the Hotel Adriatic - be fair, be realistic - call a spade a spade, and try lowering your room rates accordingly.

My advise to would be guests - be sure you really know what the hotel is like beyond the wildly flattering PR spiel and pics and be sure you pay a fair price for it - or keep looking ... I'm sure you can do better!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BonneVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The rooms at the Adriatic are stylish and comfortable and the breakfast is good. Unfortunately, the outside area is small and inadequate. The pool area has only a handful of sun loungers and the rest of the external area is a bar. The music from this bar, which is played LOUD all day and until 1am at night, and the arcade next door ensure that it's impossible to sleep until well into the night. There is also a quite mysterious policy of vacuuming the hallways before 9am. While the hotel is quite nice, this is not the place for a relaxing holiday. The town has a plentiful supply of decent restaurants and an extensive if crowded, beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seneljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biograd na Moru
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ilirija
Hotel Ilirija
#2 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kornati
Hotel Kornati
#6 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel In
Hotel In
#4 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#9 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma
Hotel Palma
#10 of 13 in Biograd na Moru
8 reviews
23.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adriatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adriatic

Address: Tina Ujevica 5/7, Biograd na Moru 23210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Biograd na Moru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Biograd na Moru
Price Range: £66 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adriatic 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a pine forest on the beach, near the sports - recreation and entertainment center, provides countless opportunities for the organization of daily and evening activities. * Free WiFi expected speed: 5.0 Mbps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Adriatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing