We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp Kazela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camp Kazela
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Medulin
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

It's been the eights time we stayed in Camp Kazela, and we are most probably going to come back in the upcoming years, too. The beach is nice with perfect clean water and there are some sport opportunities inside the camp. However, if you wish for more, there are beautiful places to visit in the neighborhood, like e.g. Premantura.
A big plus is that the staff is friendly and most of them speak English, German and also Italian quite well.
On the negative side, prices in the camp's food store are a bit exaggerated (2-3x higher compared to stores in Medulin or Pula).
And the chairs in the room and on the balcony do make a terrible noise when you move them, which is very disturbing. Other than that this is still the best place to stay in Medulin in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the first row (closer to the sea) and on the higher floor if you want some n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyKaroly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    73
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
69
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in an appartment for 3 (2+1 bed). The appartment was very clean, renewed, with fully aquiped kitchen, big bathroom. The only noise at night was from an aircondition nearby (don't forget, you have to pay extra to use A/C !!!). For 2 persons, the app.are big enough, I think. But for 3, the kitchen might be a little too small. But it stretches out to the little terrace, so if the weather is fine, that's not a problem, too :). The whole campsite has a nice laid-back feeling.
I was a little dissapointed about the beach - it's spacious and not crowded, but it's difficult to get in the water. I saw people wearing special shoes for the water, they didn't have much trouble getting in.
The Campsite is about 2km away from Medulin, but there's no pavement by the road, so the flashlight is recomended for walking - by the coast or by the road.
Special notice: If you want to check-in for an appartment or mobile home, you have to do it at the reception inside the Camp (beside the "supermarket" store), not at the Camp entrance. But I didn't find the notice about it before so I queued up at the entrance only to be told that I didn't have to - I wasn't amused.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irskamojca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

nice camp with excellent sport facilities in terms of location much better the medulin central but in comparison for very high sessione is quite and not crowded.there you find tennis court, windsurf school basket etc. There is a nice little promenade that takes down to medulin on the way the restaurant corpus, a simple and jenuine pure mediterraneo experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank gerryconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in nicely renovated ground floor apartments for a week for very reasonable price. There are two bedrooms, one spacy living/eating room with desk, chairs, couch, TV set in the apartment. There is basic kitchen equipment, gas stove, sink and refrigerator. Bathroom was nice and spacy - shower, bidet, closet, sink and big mirror.

There is working animation team in the camp and two kid playgrounds (mostly exposed to direct burning sun, though).

Reception is staffed 24/7, staff is mostly helpful, exchange office, food supermarket, souvenirs in the spot. Haven't tried the restaurants, the reception bar provided strong cocktails and mediocre ice.

The beach is narrow and stony one with narrow grass strip, but apart from other Croatia parts the Medulin beach was not crowded at all, that was great. Access to the sea might be problematic for elder people/small kids, but once you overcome the slippy shallow part, you come to undersea paradise - be sure to have snorkeling set with you, there are undersea gaps, chimneys and cliffs with lot of life to observe. Water is crystal clear and waves not big, the beach is sheltered by some islands. Water sport center is working there.
Kids can entertain themselves in near-beach sweet water swimming pools, there are about twenty small pools with cold water.
There are beach volleyball, tennis playgrounds, you can also rent (not very good) bide if you would like to bike around, but the Croatia is not really biker friendly.

The campground is large, the back part is dedicated to nudists (FKK).
The apartments are most distant from the sea (cca 300-400 m), closer to sea is area for tents, caravans, mobile homes - the room between tents is big enough, often shadowed by an olive or pine tree.

There are quiet nights in the camp, no noisy parties until late night.
Nightlife (more restaurants, entertainment park) is available in Medulin city, which is within convenient 15 minutes shore walk from the Kazela camp. Medulin city provides also (paid) water attractions, sandy beach.

Air conditioning is enabled for 7 EUR/night.

Clean towels we got once in the middle of a week.

Judging according to cars, most of camp visitors were from Germany, Austria, Italy and Netherlands

Technical service was swift, emptied gas bomb for a kitchen stove we got replaced within 1 hour from reception announcement.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are convenient for having terrace with chairs and desk where you can sit wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My parents (almost 60 years old) have just come back from this camping and they were greatly satisfied. They said the camping is huge, with very good restaurants inside and a long path that goes along the beach where you can have nice walks in the evening. Sea is clean and beach is huge too. They stayed in a flat, everything was clean and pretty new. The only bad point is the market inside the camping which is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivaLaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Camp Kazela is a place which I'd recommend to my friends. I'm not saying it is perfect, however if you come here to enjoy the clean Adriatic sea and have a nice vacation with family or friends in a quiet place, at a reasonable place, than this is the place to go.
The downside- our biggest problem was the food: local restaurants including the one situated in the camp were disappointing. (Tasteless and expensive are a bad match...)
Our solution to this quite critical problem was to prepare the food for ourselves.

To conclude: If you come here to enjoy the sun and the sea, you'll love this place. If you need something different than pure nature - and you don't want or cannot cook for yourself - than keep searching.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NyKaroly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

They say it is 2 stars and yeah it may be but I have been tent camping here with my family for 3 years and enjoyed every part of it and my wife likes her own bathroom and all. If you can get into the camping mode you are set here as it is very nice and easy going. To get extra space we usually elected to pitch our tent next to the young campers (mostly Austrian and German teenagers). They were a little loud but I figure they were loud at night and my kids are loud in the morning so fair is fair ;-) Also the bathrooms/showers on the camper end sometimes took bit of a mess but the staff were cleaning constantly as I saw. The location is terrific if you want to be close to the seaside and under trees. They have some rock beach areas but a huge grass path along the water front for relaxing and pitching your sun tent and umbrellas. Most campgrounds don't offer so many shaded areas and trees and also availability to get your tent so close to the beach, especially in big camping establishments such as this one. They also have activities and pools for the kids which make a nice change. There are other areas with small rocky coastline as well. Just take this place as it is and you'll have a good time, Most of the reviews I read don't give it justice.

Room Tip: Pitch a tent so there are less of those cabin things!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenPentek1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medulin
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
0.3 mi away
Ai Pini Resort Medulin
Ai Pini Resort Medulin
#5 of 9 in Medulin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#4 of 9 in Medulin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
5.7 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
5.3 mi away
Park Plaza Verudela Pula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Kazela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Kazela

Property: Camp Kazela
Address: Kapovica 350 | GPS: 44.806873, 13.950640, Medulin 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Medulin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Medulin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Camp Kazela 2*
Number of rooms: 965
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camp Kazela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing