We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful honeymoon”
Review of Sensimar Medulin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sensimar Medulin
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Medulin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay for our honeymoon. The hotel was amazing, it has been refurbished to a very high standard. All areas are clean, modern and well maintained.

The staff are fantastic, they really make this hotel what it is, polite, friendly and helpful. The best hotel staff we have come across.

The food was great, as a vegetarian there was a variety of choices and a wide variety of differing food each night, couldn't find any fault. Again the restaurant staff are brilliant and they work so hard.

The only niggles are, the soft drinks and the orange juice at breakfast which is either like water or far too strong, soft drinks taste a bit cheap but are ok. Still the value for money was great. Limited entertainment and we gave up listening to the resident duo almost every evening. There needs to be more of a variety and it would be better if the entertainment was outdoors instead of inside.

Wonderful holiday, would definitely recommend this hotel, thank you Park Plaza, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mowgs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion and for your wonderful review! Let us offer you a sincere ‘congratulations’ on such a happy milestone! We are pleased to have been a part of your celebration and even more happy knowing that your experience was wonderful. We all look forward to welcome you anytime soon again!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    335
    68
    13
    3
See reviews for
26
847
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Trust us to arrive just as Croatia experiences it's worst weather in 50 years, great. However putting the storms aside the Park Plaza is an excellent hotel if it's location is a bit out of the way. The rooms are well furnished and serviced regularly, all the staff work extremely hard and the food is always well presented and plentiful. The evening entertainment is limited and finishes at 11 as does the bar, but this didn't concern us. Medulin is a short walk away but there is not much to do. The hotel has a dress code for the evening and a no sun bed reservation policy, but unfortunately there are always those who fail to understand it. If you hire a car or use the trips on offer and cross the border remember your passport and take some euro's. In all a excellent hotel for relaxing and doing nothing and no children.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul112475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly grateful for the positively delightful review that you have shared. There really is no greater satisfaction, than receiving kind words from a valued guest that felt the genuine customer care we proud ourselves on.
We all look forward to the privilege of serving you on a return trip to our fabulous region!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My partner and I visited Park Plaza Medulin between the 19th and 26th of August 2014 with the hope of relaxing by the pool and doing nothing else. The park plaza hotel excelled at this.

The rooms are excellent and modern and well laid out with a large TV (which we were able to connect our laptop up to for films when it was a articulately wet day). The bathroom has no bath but a very large shower, with lots of space to put toiletries. The room comes with a small fridge which is handy to keep bottled drinks cool. There are only two downsides to the room (however these did not bother us too much but it might irk others): there are no draws to put clothes in and the handing space is quite short... good enough for a mans shirt, but not long enough for a ladies dress. Either way these will not make or break the holiday. For those who are light sleepers, there are black out curtains in the room with shutters on the outside for good measure. One additional note, some reviewers say their double room is two single beds pushed together... this was not the case for us and we had a nice VERY comfy bed!

The food is of an excellent quality with lots of different salads and meats on offer at each meal time with smaller selection of deserts and fruits on offer. Breakfast has all the continental and "full english" offerings, including cereals, toast, pancakes, french toast, omelettes made to order, and fresh fruit. Lunch and Evening meals had a range of pork/beef/turkey/chicken steaks on offer with quiches, fresh salads, potato salads, pasta salads, potatoes, rice etc... Needless to say you will not go hungry and there will always be something nice to eat.

The drink is of a slightly lesser quality than the food but it is still great and nowhere near as disgusting as some reviewers point out. As non-branded drinks the cola doesn't taste of coke, and the fizzy orange doesn't taste of fanta/tango but they are very pleasant, if a little too sweet (which we countered by mixing with soda/water). The wine (red and white) on tap is less than savoury, but the wine served in the restaurant at meal times is completely different and of good quality. The sparking wine (a favourite of ours) is excellent and we mainly drank this with our evening meals and into the night. Diet coke (Coke Zero) is also served at the bar. A nice addition is access to coffee machines which have a range of different drinks (tea/coffee/chocolate) and if you fancy a true barista experience the bar will sort you out with a hot drink. Vodka/whiskey/gin taste as they are meant to. The various brandies were a little harsh (for us) but honey and cherry were nice with lemonade and cola, respectively.

The evening entertainment is probably catered to the older audience as an adult only hotel. My partner and I are 27 and 30 and felt that some of the entertainment was a little too old for us, but we still enjoyed ourselves, joining up with other "youngsters" to play various games in the evening. Some daytime activities range from wine/olive oil tasting to shuffle board/bowls and aqua aerobics.

The pool area has come under fire from various reviewers due to the touchy subject of sun bed reservations. We never suffered from this, mainly because we are early risers and were buy the pool at 6:30 in the morning, having a nice coffee and taking in the fresh air. If you awake late then of course your choice of sun loungers will be restricted. Whilst signs say not to reserve sun loungers, you can leave them unattended for no more than 2 hours (as per signs around the pool)... Some people adhere to this, others don't, make of that what you will. The main problem arises when people want specific sun loungers around the pool as some have a movable back whilst others don't - we never had a problem. We did however get frustrated for other people when we saw people come, put there towels down and then leave to return much later on. I think if you complained to the management in such circumstances then they would be more than happy to help you.

The staff are excellent, very friendly, and always happy to help.

The transfer time is excellent... From the point the plane touches the tarmac to being in your room, it is about an hour which is great.

The surrounding area has a lot to offer with a few shops, bars, restaurants, a harbour, and a small fairground (dodgems etc...), however you can't hear it from the hotel.

The beach is close to the hotel and only a 2 min walk which is nice however this lands you on a very pebbly beach (which was not for us). There is a sandy beach along the coast if you so wished and apparently a nudist beach as well (we did not go in search of this!).

One tip I would give to everyone visiting the hotel is to bring something to do on a rainy day such as cards, board game, DVD player + DVDs, laptop etc... as there isn't much to do on a rainy day. Better to be prepared and never need them!

We would happily return again to the Park plaza medulin as we wanted somewhere to relax and switch off from our busy stressful jobs and this did the trick. We arrived home very relaxed and would like to thank the Thompson and Park Plaza staff.

P.s. Loved the people playing ping pong in the pool!

Room Tip: Whilst you might have to pay more for a sea-facing room, I would implore you to spend the extra and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aled R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor.
Park Plaza is truly a marvellous hotel, and having you as a guest has been a complete privilege and honour. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and for sharing your experience with us. As you noticed, our location and hotel entertainment offer can really satisfy different age groups; and knowing that you and your girlfriend arrived home very relaxed with good memories is a great pleasure.
We all look forward to welcome you in the nearest future!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Medulin Park Plaza, as has been said by many others the hotel is very clean and all the staff are very friendly. This was our first couples only holiday and after this we will definitely look to go on similar holidays again.
As we like a high floor we emailed ahead and we were given a room on the third floor and it was a little larger than other rooms with a larger balcony, I would therefore recommend contacting the hotel ahead of your stay if you have any requests.
There was plenty of choice at every meal time and the a la carte restaurant should be experienced as the standard was very high. Thanks to Busan our waiter for most of the week. The only slight issue I have is with the time the bar shuts I think it could remain open to midnight but there are plenty of bars less than 5 minutes away if needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a relaxing break if you want late night parties look elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mroberts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us and for recommending us to other travellers! We are happy to hear that your overall stay was good and that you found our hotel excellent – thank you for this wonderful compliment! Your compliments will be shared with the team and especially Dusan (your waiter).
We look forward to welcome you anytime soon for another relaxing break!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have just returned from an outstandingly, wonderful holiday again at the Park Plaza, Medulin.

We holidayed there last year for two weeks during August and enjoyed it so much we returned again this year for two weeks 5th August to 19th August.

Everything about the Park Plaza is totally wonderful, from the minute that you step into the foyer your amazingly relaxing holiday begins.

The reception staff are always welcoming, helpful, kind, courteous and friendly. They even helped us to hire a car for a bit of sight seeing and organised taxis for visits to neighbouring Pula. The Thomson trips are also very well organised and very good value for money. In particular 'Elvis Tours' are particularly memorable and perfectly enjoyable.

Just as the previous year our sea facing room was wonderful with superb air conditioning, ample wardrobe space, refreshingly gorgeous power shower, extra channels in English on the TV this year, superbly comfortable bed, safe, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, towelling bath robes and slippers and veranda.

At the pool there is a choice of sunbeds that are contoured or flat all with umbrellas for shade if needed. There is a good choice of beds pool side or on the grassed area. The pool is salt water and extremely refreshing as the sun is hot!! Relaxation is the key word throughout this hotel.
No loud music at the pool, just free WIFI to browse the internet, listen to your own music or read or sleep uninterrupted. I must say the aquafit a few times a week is good, lasts about 30 minutes.

Well, the food, what is there to say except for the fact that its hot, fresh, tasty and a good choice at every sitting. There is a good selection for specialist diets too, soya milk, rice milk, gluten free bread and rolls etc. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff, they are all really pleased to be able to help. The house wines include white, red and sparkling white, all of which are perfectly palatable. Always superb service from the excellent restaurant staff at every sitting.

The bar is always well stocked with a good selection of local spirits, cocktails, teas and coffees and we always received excellent and friendly service.

There is entertainment each night that is either on the terrace, the red lounge or in the grounds. On the Istrian Night local crafts are also exhibited and sold in the foyer area.

Just as last year our holiday was memorably wonderful and totally relaxing.

A huge thank you to all of the staff at the Park Plaza who have made our holiday superb again. You are ALL totally amazing, always welcoming, helpful, kind, courteous, sincere, friendly, caring, thoughtful and 100% committed to all hotel guests enjoying their stay.
Thank you all so much.

I am completely happy to recommend this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a sea view which was lovely but the view at the front of the hotel is lovely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty and for this wonderful review!
We are excited that you were provided such excellent service and that you felt the sincere caring attitude of our staff. It is our goal for each guest to have a memorable experience at our hotel so it is a delight to know that your entire stay was outstanding.
Please do come back again soon as we would be happy to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an amazing week at Park Plaza Medulin. I really can't understand how anyone can complain about this hotel. The staff are always friendly and go out of their way to help you. Rooms are comfortable with adequate storage. Plus free safe is a bonus.

Food was incredible and my vegetarian husband never struggled for something to eat. One thing I do need to comment on, as so many have complained, is the men's dress
code in the evenings. I personally do not see a problem with smart shorts for dinner. I would much rather see this than the jeans which some people chose to wear.

Can't really comment on pool area as we were out most days but some people did seem to be sat on sunbeds ridiculously early!

All in all a fabulous holiday in a fabulous country! We will definitely be going back a some stage!





Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and that your holiday was fabulous! It would be a great pleasure to welcome you anytime soon in our hotel for another amazing holiday!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Visited the Park Plaza 26th July/Aug 5th 2014. Lovely hotel friendly/helpful staff. All inclusive not quite all inclusive, meals at set times,no access to ice cream outside set times,(access to a freezer would help). Food plentiful but not very tasty, (like upgraded canteen food) house wines not very nice, stick to cocktails/shorts. Beds v.comfy rooms facing car park compact. No village centre, random bars/restuarant's. Was initially put off Croatia by this, but after visiting Rovinja would go back, as it's like
Italy there. Hope you get to meet Elvis the tour guide, v.knowledgeable, great guy, Thompsons reps not very visible during the day, not much organised for guests, poor choice of activities, this reflects on the reps not the hotel. Great Hotel wrong location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Sensimar Medulin, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your holidays and for deeming us as a lovely hotel with friendly/helpful staff. We are sad to hear that you didn’t like the location of our hotel and that you found the food not very tasty.
We are surprised to hear that you didn’t like the location as its one of the most sought-after places in Croatia. We invite you to visit our website and see if maybe you can find another location that would better suit your needs. That being said, we wish you all the best and look forward to host you in the future!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Medulin Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medulin
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
5.0 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#4 of 9 in Medulin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
5.5 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
22.8 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Medulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Medulin

Property: Sensimar Medulin
Address: Osipovica 31, Medulin 52100, Croatia (Formerly Park Plaza Medulin)
Region: Croatia > Istria > Medulin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Medulin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Medulin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sensimar Medulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing