We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued itself after poor start”
Review of Hotel Cittar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cittar
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Novigrad
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Arrived tired and stressed after mix up over another booking (wrong Novigrad!) to find most unhelpful girl on reception. More interested in chatting to boyfriend than helping us. Guess she must have been a temp, because things got much better from there in and we didn't see here again.
Yes, rooms are small and a bit dark but it's either this or one of the tour hotels on the outskirts of town. Lovely breakfast, helpful staff (after day 1) and nice to be able to walk straight out into centre of town.
On the other hand, local bars are noisy to the early hours and car parking is limited. If you use one of the town car parks - about 1km walk - you'll need coins for the meters.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papa-rupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

A very nice hotel, well kept up, with part of the old city walls as part of the hotel. Although rooms are small, the hotel is well done, bathrooms are not too small for Croatia, and breakfast on the terrace was excellent. Parking was a plus even though there was a charge, but we were glad to have a parking spot at the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good; we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Novigrad is a charming historic town, ever so MUCH nicer than staying in Porec. It was a nice stay, and the gentle A/C got the room cool after a period of time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out the window at the wall about 15 feet away; it was a front room. Perhaps if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had two rooms which were both comfortable and had a/c. Neither had a great view but that wasn't an issue - we didn't have a balcony so it didn't matter. From my room the evenings were quite noisy at night but as a central location this is not surprising, the other room faced a different direction and was fine.

We had a problem with the water temperature as it was only ever luke warm but were told by reception after many attempts to get it rectified that this is normal for Croatia and would not be looked in to. Speaking later to locals I think we should have been more assertive and less British about our complaint!

The water issue was a shame but as I said before the location is nice, just off the harbour, and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatti007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

we stayed 5 nights here and enjoyed every minute. excellent location in the centre of town, very quiet good variety for breakfast in the small garden, relaxed atmosphere, helpful with our car and bikes (they charged 40 kuna for car parking although it says free). quiet aircon, fridge in room and good blinds, (electric and wooden). Only problem paying bill, when they asked for slightly more, once we had already settled bill - hopefully a one-off!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank womblesWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Great location and welcome parking right outside. Pleasant staff and good breakfast. Rooms generally above average

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Don't confuse with sister hotel "Hotel Cittar Villa". Of course found it thru Tripadvisor. Thought the price was reasonable and room was very nice. By europe standards, it was large, tastefully appointed, large bathroom, and first class A/C. A/C is quite and effectient. The room we stayed in #5 was defined as extra large and had a small window onto a park area. My son's room #7 was smaller and no view - it faced the old stone fort wall. His room was fine also. Nice breakfast included in price. Lovely patio area to eat. Do watch the room floors as they are slick! Would certainly go back.
Town is small, the hotel sits right down in the old harbor area, 1/2 block from the harbor. Will include room photo when I get home.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Recently spent our last night in Istria at the Hotel Cittar. It is a very nice, well run small hotel, in what we feel is one of the nicest cities on the Istrian coast. The rooms are large, clean, quite and very comfortable. Its location in the centre of town, is a major plus.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is a very good buffet of Parma ham, cheese, fresh fruit, yogurts and pasteries. We were able to sit out on the terrace and enjoy a relaxing breakfast.

Unlike a few of the other places we stayed at during our trip to Istria, all of the hotel's staff was very friendly and the service was excellent/ If we had found the hotel at the start of out trip, we would have stayed there longer.

Novigrad is also a very good base to explore most of the sights in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Novigrad hotels
0.6 mi away
Aminess Maestral Hotel
Aminess Maestral Hotel
#1 of 12 in Novigrad
499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aminess Laguna Hotel
Aminess Laguna Hotel
#2 of 12 in Novigrad
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cittar
Hotel Villa Cittar
#5 of 12 in Novigrad
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nautica
Hotel Nautica
#3 of 12 in Novigrad
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pension Emaus
Pension Emaus
#6 of 12 in Novigrad
26 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel St Benedikt
Hotel St Benedikt
#11 of 12 in Novigrad
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cittar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cittar

Address: Prolaz Venecija 1, Novigrad 52466, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Novigrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Novigrad
Price Range: £74 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cittar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cittar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cittar Hotel Novigrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing