We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel with too many rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aminess Maestral Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Novigrad
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quality hotel with too many rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A modern, clean, well maintained hotel. The food is excellent and varied. The staff are all helpful, friendly and respectful. Location is lovely. Close to a small pebbled beach and a short walk from the quaint port of Novigrad.
The spa, especially the large indoor pool, were underused when we were there, so they were beautifully quiet in comparison with the outdoor pool area.
However the designers have tried to squeeze in too many rooms. Consequently, although the rooms are clean, tidy and well equipped, they are too small for a 4 star hotel. If the soft chair which converts in to a third bed was unfolded there would be virtually no floor left to walk on.
The balcony was a real disappointment. It is angled and therefore triangular with long walls jutting out, which restrict the view. It is barely large enough for two people to sit on.
The eating area gets very crowded at peak times which makes it feel more like a school canteen than a restaurant serving good quality food including free beer and wine
Although they try to reduce the age old problem of certain nationalities reserving sunbeds around the pool by keeping them locked until 08:45, there aren’t enough of them. So if you don’t interrupt your breakfast and join the stampede to grab one, you will end up paying for a bed on the beach or the grass.
Overall, a good holiday in a lovely hotel. Just a shame there isn’t 30 per cent less rooms/guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mickfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaNovigrad, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mickfleet,

We would like to thank you for giving us this feedback, it really means a lot.
We will try hard to improve our services in order to provide a better offer to all our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Novigrad.

Best regards,

Laguna Novigrad team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    149
    36
    21
    8
See reviews for
144
163
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a late break with Thomson at this hotel. What an excellent all round place. Hotel itself appears recently refurbished with the bedroom / dining area / public areas and pool area all immaculate. We had booked the half board .. and you are never too sure what you will get. I saw 1 or 2 less complimentary comments but I have to say that nothing must be good enough for these reviewers as the whole thing was excellent. Breakfast had a wide choice of cold and hot options and drinks. My girls loved the pancakes and chocolate sauce. Plenty of fruit available and a cook to order location for eggs / omelettes. Dinner had a good salad bar + pasta / pizza area + cold meat and cheeses selection + soups and extras area and this was all before the hot cook zone. Always a roast ( or tuna on fish night ) available and then a wide selection of meat and fish dishes / veg / sauces for the main. Then options for desserts that covered ice cream / fruit / small desserts and a dessert of the day ( panne cotta / choc fudge muffin etc ). And to top it off the drinks were included ( Good local beer / red and white wine / fruit and fizzy drinks ).
The pool area was not large ( with the beach so close this was never a problem ) with lots of sunloungers and shades. A short walk took you to the beach area. While pebbly ( what you expect in this part of the world ) there was a calm manmade mini bay where you could hire loungers and bamboo shade ( only £10 for the day ) further along is the new location with a couple of saltwater infinity pools right next to the sea and close to a new café / bar. Prices very good for ice creams / coffee etc. There was a lively team of "animators" who looked after various activities on different days ( beach volleyball -- should have run it every day .. great fun / zumba dance / aqua arobics / kayaks etc etc etc ). Evening entertainment was low key ( aside from the 7-1 drubbing of Brazil that the many German guest enjoyed on one night ! ). a short walk around the bay brought you to the relaxed town of Novigrad which had a nice harbour and a good mix of bars and restaurants. The bedrooms were a reasonable size with a small balcony with partial sea view and were quiet at night. Shower was excellent / beds comfortable and cleaning was daily with plenty of towels etc.
The staff were very good, always available to help ( extra pillow / information on car hire ) and the reception staff in particular were always happy to help .. and patient when I could not sort my wifi !
Easy location to go out for sights ( we particularly enjoyed a trip out to a couple of hilltop villages ( Motovun ) as well as a cross border trip to Postonja caves and Lake Bled. an evening in Rovinj was also good with a lot of choices at the harbourside restaurants.
Flying into Pula was also very simple and stress free. We were through the airport in barely 30 mins coming in and a return was suitably simple .. with a nice outside viewing area available to relax before the flight.
Free wifi handy to catch up on e-mails of reports on the football !

Room Tip: If you want quiet then just ask not to be on rooms overlooking the pool area. Although, to be honest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaNovigrad, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Chris M.,

Thank you very much for this nice and positive review, which we really appreciate. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Maestral.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Novigrad.

Best regards,

Laguna Novigrad team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Family vacation? Forget about it in this place. Everything has changed - now in the center of the hotel beach is located a disco club. The club is managed by the 20-years old persons, who hatos their own ideas about "family vacation". Main idea - tourists need dance music. All day long. Loud. VERY LOUD!
So your morning shall starts listening to "this-was-a-hit-3-years-ago" kind of music on the beach, accompanied with "go-go's" and stupid jokes of animators. After "siesta" this shall continues, ending with local tribute band fake singing till midnight.
Seems like your bed is located on the dancefloor.
If you want to escape from this "service" on the public beach, you shall be dissapointed. The "sound guns" covers all the seashore for more than a kilometer. You shall not be able to listen to your speaker, say nothing about sounds of waves or seagulls.
As for me, for "dance holidays" I shall choose Ibica. We love Croatia for other things - nature, sea, food and relaxing peacefull atmosfere. That is destroyed by gang of young idiots.
In all other aspects the hotel is still pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Дмитрий П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaNovigrad, Hotel Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Dmitrij P.,

We are extremely sorry to read such a bad review from someone who hasn't even been a guest of our hotel.

The place you are describing is a fun zone on the beach where activities like aquagym are taking place daily. It is not managed by 20-years old people. They are just our animation team doing their job and it is quite offensive to call them idiots.

It was a huge investment for our company to create that zone and we are constantly receiving compliments from our guests who love and enjoy it as well as its daily and evening programmes.

We are very careful not to keep the music too loud and for our guest who want to relax and stay in a quiet place the terrace with the swimming pool just in front of the hotel is the ideal solution.

Herewith, we invite you to be our guest and to personally verify the quality of our services.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just got back from novigrad and will be returning without a doubt the hotel was excellent spotlesly clean fantastic staff especially pool attendant he couldnt do enough to help food was good at evening meal sometimes alittle mismatced but lots of choice not to keen on breakfast but being a brit we prefer english breakfast but once again lots of choice with free tea coffee beer wine and juice good pool lots of sunbeds.novigrad itself is a beautiful fishing village clean freindly plenty of places to eat and drink all at very good prices .the sea was crystal clear and warm surrounded by lovely pine trees would highly reccomend novigrad to anyone looking for a realaxed freindly holiday it was my first time there but hope to return soon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickandsue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaNovigrad, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear mickandsue2014,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a beautiful vacation in our Hotel Maestral.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Novigrad.

Best regards,

Laguna Novigrad team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Maestral Hotel on the first week on July, generally the hotel has good facilities,quite stylish, nice rooms but not all with sea views though so beware, balcony not large enough to actually sit on. Food is good with a reasonable choice ther eius always something you can dfind to eat.. However I would suggest that if you want to enjoy this hotel to avoid the busy times as there are so many children within the complex. The camping site next door seem to use the hotel swimming pool which meant it was always busy and noisey there. If you wanted to have a peaceful time there were no options for this. Therefore the hotel management should make an adults only area on the grass near the trees where you are not charged to lie down on a sunbed!! If you bought a sunbed and umbrella on the beach you were then surrounded by people that didn't and wanted to lie in your space. If I visited this hotel again I would make sure that it wasn't in the peak season.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaNovigrad, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Chrissie602,

We would like to thank you for giving us this feedback, it really means a lot.
We will try hard to improve our services in order to provide a better offer to all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Laguna Novigrad team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I booked this holiday to Croatia as a birthday present for my girlfriend and I spent a lot of money adding extras to make it unforgettable. We stayed from 10-17th June and the weather was amazing. Mid 30's nearly everyday. The staff within the holiday are fantastic, polite, helpful and always have a smile on their faces. The holiday was very clean and well structured with everything easily accessible. I have read many reviews of people saying their rooms were small, I feel they are a adequate size with everything that is needed. A free safe and a mini bar which needs paying for. The bed was comfortable and the shower area very large. The only problem I encountered was with the air conditioning. It smelled of burning one night which after reporting it to the staff on reception, it was fixed the following morning (it was 11pm when I noticed it). The hotel restaurant was large with lots of seating, a very large choice of meat, fish and vegetarian options to suit everyone. Fresh juice, pop, beer and wine was also available with meals. The restaurant manager was very helpful as one day we went on an excursion and arrived back just as it closed. He reopened the restaurant just for me and my partner to eat. The pools were clean with out door and indoor pools available with free sun lounges around all pools. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and also a visit to Croatia. The local town of Novigrad was full of cafés, restaurants, supermarkets and gift shops. Fantastic holiday that I was sad to end.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaNovigrad, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Ryan A.,

Thank you very much for your nice and positive review. We are glad to hear that you had a beautiful vacation in our Hotel Maestral.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Novigrad.

Best regards,

Laguna Novigrad team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trencin, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

It was our 8th holiday in this hotel. We have child with special needs with invalid chair and this resort is the best place for our holiday. Friendly personal, clean rooms, perfect beaches with beautiful new pools. Everyday programming is fun. Indoor swimming pool is very good pool for relax. Various food is very very tasty. Novigrad is nice town for walking, relaxing.... Everything is very good for holiday....

Room Tip: Side B of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miroslava P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagunaNovigrad, Public Relations Manager at Aminess Maestral Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Miroslava P.,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are really glad to hear that you had another great vacation in our Hotel Maestral.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Novigrad next year.

Best regards,

Laguna Novigrad team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novigrad
0.1 mi away
Aminess Laguna Hotel
Aminess Laguna Hotel
#2 of 14 in Novigrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nautica
Hotel Nautica
#3 of 14 in Novigrad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
17.9 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#3 of 23 in Rovinj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminess Maestral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminess Maestral Hotel

Property: Aminess Maestral Hotel
Address: Tere 2, Novigrad 52466, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Novigrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Novigrad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Novigrad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Novigrad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aminess Maestral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star hotel, grown on the tradition of Istrian hospitality, offers modern outlook on the Mediterranean. Unimposing, but well-appointed, Hotel Maestral puts the accent on simple enjoyment. With 308-room capacity, abundant hotel facilities, vicinity of the beach for daily enjoyment of sea and sun, as well as the vicinity of Novigrad for evening outings and relaxation, Hotel Maestral will delight you. The sign of bike-hotel points the guest to the stay in a hotel which is additionally equipped to welcome cyclists and is, beside other things, ideal for stays by smaller or larger groups of cyclists, as a starting point of their cyclist trail throughout Istria. Since it is only 150 metres away from the sea, Maestral will particularly suit those who wish to spend every moment of their holiday on the beach, using their holiday for swimming, sunbathing and water sports. On the other hand, only 800 meters divides it from the picturesque small town of Novigrad, tickling every curious guest by different summer events, inviting him for an occasional outing to the town. A doctor's surgery is just 300 metres away from the Hotel and can be useful should you travel with children or groups of youths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aminess Maestral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maestral Hotel Novigrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing