We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ISTRIAN VILAS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Istrian Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Istrian Villas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Celje, Slovenia
1 review
“ISTRIAN VILAS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

PLACE where REALLY feel satisfaction. For complete relaxation and plenty opportunity for sporting activities.TRULY higher service level in the village ISTRIAN Vilas


We were very pleased and certainly we will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alenka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Alenka V, my name is Maja Ribarić, the Quality Manager at the Meliá Istrian Villas. Thank you for writing this nice review and for choosing us for your holidays. Our main goal is to have satisfied guests and to fulfil their needs. We are very glad to hear that you relaxed in our village and we hope to see you again. Best Regards.
Maja Ribarić
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    83
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
183
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ljubljana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Excelent location, we took superior villa with jakuzzi. Cleaning ladies came every day after 16.00h, so all day we were without fresh towels. Every day we ask for broom, not possible;( There is almost none kichen, dishes.. so better take it with you or go out for eating.
Otherwise, location and arhitecture is really fantastic. We were of familly vacation- for sure it is familly friendy location

Room Tip: choose villa on sea side-south. beautifull view, beach 10 meters from villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sporty_slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hello Sporty_slo, I am Maja Ribarić, the Quality Manager at the Meliá Istrian Villas.
Thank you for sharing your experience at Trip Advisor. We are very sorry that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay. Our housekeeping service avoids cleaning the villa in the late afternoon and assures that each villa is cleaned as soon as possible. On your request, housekeeper can come in the time that you prefer. To me or to our Reception staff you may report any situation that has occurred and we will do everything to make your stay more comfortable. According to our offer, villas are furnished for four and for six persons. Depending to the certain villa that guest can book, equipment in the kitchen is suitable for six or for four persons (glasses, cutlery, cups, plates, bowls).
As you already experienced, Meliá Istrian Villas combine traditional Istrian architecture with modern comfort and are surrounded by flourishing pine trees. Village is eco oriented and family friendly location and offers all kind of entertainment for children and adults with the best fun for the perfect family vacations.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again.
Best Regards
Maja Ribarić
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

One of the best resorts in Croatia, we come here for 3 years now and will be coming back. Hard to find combination of luxury, indoor & outdoor pool area with accommodation that has your own big terrace and garden.

Room Tip: The apartments for 6 people are big enough to host 2 families - it has 2 bathrooms and a big living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakub_Demacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you very much for writing this beautiful review. Our main goal is to have satisfied guests who are returning to us year after year. See that we have achieved that gives meaning to everyday work of our entire team. Hope to see you again soon.
Quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The place and the conception is SUPER. The space in villa very large. The servis is very high level. All things are functional. The terrace is large and cosy. The garden furniture is comfortable and functional. The villa is very nice. The surroundings is very nice including the service (restaurant, swimming pool, beach and the personnel. I commend the stay in Melia Istrian villas. Family's Russ from The Czech Republic

Room Tip: all OK, but ii was very noisy music in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLASTIMIL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion. I am very glad that you like our villas. It is true that they are unique because of their location near the sea, spacious gardens and terraces. We also invest a lot of effort into the quality of our services. We are really hoping that you will visit us again in the future.
Quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budapest
Level Contributor
198 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We wanted to spend a few days at the end of Summer school holiday with the family.
The Melia Istrian Villas was a very good choice.

As it was end August - the property ways not overcrowded (hich we guess to happen in "high season".

The Melia is quite a big area - which was developed in 2 major steps: first the 2 storied apartmant buildings have been built - with a swimming pool, some bars, beach, etc.
The Villa compound was inagurated in 2006. Individual villas (with small terrace, and a small "private garden" - in different sizes and luxury.
We have taken one of the "smallest" category, but it was still perfect for our purpose.
The villas have their "own" pool, restaurants and even beach - but do not forget: the Istrian beaches are all "public" (namely anyone can go there).
The whole area is spacious, the sport center offers a variety of water sports, a tennis stadium and several courts serve the sportfans.
Many shops, supermarket, number of restaurants, etc.
We enjoyed the small restaurants in the neighbourhood, like NONO, MELONE, and ADRIA is Savudrijska.
Nice small cities can be visited in the evening in 30-40 kilometer distance.
The only problem we had is the quite big noise (sometimes until late) night. Even if the doors and windows close quite well - but the bass could even cross the walls...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
First of all I would like to thank You for choosing our resort for Your holiday. Melia Istrian Villas is a village built in 2007 constituting of 180 villas – standard, luxury and superior and it makes part of Stella Maris Resort, and the apartament buildings are an other part of the Resort with a different brand – Sol Amfora.
I am glad that You enjoyed sport and other facilities offered and that You are satisfied with the village in general and the surrounding area.
Regarding loud music – I am sorry to hear that You've had inconveniencies. We are doing our best to avoid uncomfortable situations, from continuous contacts with bar owners to big investments in sound barriers around to village to be able to provide peace for our guests.
We are hoping to welcome you again as our dear guest to be able to show you all our improvements. Kind regards to you and your family.
Quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We've stayed in 2 different types of villas for 4 people: villa superior with an outside jaccuzzi and private access to a very bad rocky beach & villa luxury with a view on sea and a hamak. We've enjoyed Luxury Villa a little more, though its interior is a bit simplier than Superior's. Overall staying in Melia Istrian Resort was an unforgettable experience.
Pros: beautiful location, relaxing atmosphere, well-equipped area,relatively safe area for kids, cozy villas with a private terrace & garden, hamak or jaccuzzi
Cons: poor service ( helpful but incredibly slow), the worst beach in Croatia Ive ever seen! (not advised to come here during hot summer period!)shallow sea with slippery rocks hardly below the surface of the water, impossible to swim, only step from rock to rock)))

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MyrziKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

The location of the Villas is very good, the beach clean and diversifed, water clean.
The restaurants offer a wide variety of delicious food.
The Villas - clean and spacy. Terrace beautifull.
The bathroom functional - except space for putting cosmetic bags
At our villa the w.pool did not work and the metal fence was rusting (started to be painted the last day of our stay)

Room Tip: check online booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vinkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank You for Your comments. I am so glad that You have enjoyed Your stay in Melia Istrian Villas and that You are satisfied with nature, villas and service. Our aim is to always improve our standards and services and we are working continuously on the refurbishment of our premises. We are hoping to be able to welcome You again as one of our dear clients.
Quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
0.7 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#3 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#2 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#6 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Garden Istra
Sol Garden Istra
#1 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#7 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Istrian Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Istrian Villas

Property: Melia Istrian Villas
Address: Stella Maris - Stella Maris 8A, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umag
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Istrian Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Istrian Villas combine traditional Istrian architecture with modern comfort in a serene and tranquil setting. Located in the Stella Maris resort, the Melia Istrian Villas are surrounded by flourishing pine trees, steps from the Adriatic Sea. The property has 180 villas, including seven "Luxury" and 23 "Superior" villas. Each offers luxury and privacy for an unforgettable Istrian vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia and LoveHolidays so you can book your Melia Istrian Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Istrian Villas Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing