We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with design elements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Istrian Villas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with design elements”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

It is a big hotel. We were there in June and 80% of the rooms were occupied.
So already busy at the pool. All pools are with sea water, one is heated and indoors.
Lots of space around the hotel, also at the beach.
Have your dinner after 20.00, more relaxed at the counters.
Large room, good bathroom.
Nice balcony viewing the pool.
Staff is friendly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear FrankXXX,

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Meliã Istrian Villas. We are very pleased to hear that you like our resort and that you find it very comfortable.

I am glad the friendliness of our staff made you feel welcome because hospitality and service are our great passion and You are the journey!

Kind regards from Umag,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    86
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
191
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slovenija
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here for a 3 days just before 1.may based on the Melia special offers and we were not let down! Villas is beutifull, big and very clean and comfortable as well.Location is the best. We had superior Villa with jakuzzi- name Leona The stuff at the reception were very frendly. The Cleaning ladies came every day bevore midday (cleaning was o.k.) This was our second Holiday here and we will come back as soon it will be possible.
This was our short rest, but so much nicer. The villa has its own beach, a large couch to rest and a beautiful terrace. Holidays in these villas truly provide the greatest comfort. They are very suitable for a family with children.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriSlovenija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear valeriSlovenija,

Thank you for leaving your comment at TripAdvisor and writing this nice review. It is extremely important for us to have satisfied guests and to fulfil all their needs.
We are glad you had a nice stay in our Villa Leona, and that you were enjoying the comfort of its terrace.
We are looking forward to welcome you again to our Meliã Experience!

Best regards to you and your family,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Last week we returned from our third stay in Istrian Villas. I do not know if this would be the last, but there is definitely something in waking up in spring time by the see, breathing all those maritime and floral scents that are very distinctive in springtime! So main advantage is envirement and season! I would not suggest it for summer holiday due to lack of proper beaches and children not so friendly going in and out of the sea, and ridiculous rent prices for villa.these are advantages!
Complex is really nice, but management needs real change, from year to year it is going down in relation to customer service. First years we could always fond golf caddies on parking lot, this year we had to walk almost every evening on the way back from dinner in some remote ,,konoba" that needed car usage. Not so pleasant if your kids fell asleep in the car. If they insist in car free compound, which I support, they need to offer constant shuttle from parking to villas! Renting superior villa we received complementary bottle of wine last year, this time without! Anything you need to arrange on the front desk they address you to some central booking system?! Room maids are showing in the time of the afternoon rest. Once the show up you can choose either to welcome them and break your rest or to dismiss them without daily cleaning??? I had villas on different locations, they always appeared in the afternoon???
And one more thing, centrally located tennis courts are great, if you are tennis player!

Room Tip: Northern superior villas are best IMHO
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear drIR,

Thank you for leaving your comment at Trip Advisor because your our feedback is very valuable for us.

As you already pointed out, Istria is little piece of heaven, especially in spring time when all nature awakens. During the summer the nature just changes its colors but it remaind beautiful. Regarding beaches and children friendly environment, I feel the need to emphasize that inside the resort, very close to our Villas, we have a children water park with slides and just a few meters from it a new sand beach. I believe you and your family would find it perfect for a relaxing and unforgettable holydays.

Regarding our eco-shuttles, I am sorry you did not have them on your disposal because in case of need, you inform the reception or our customer support service in Meliã Istrian Villas and your transportation will be arranged immediately.

I am not familiar with the requirements you had during your stay but our Reservation center is responsible only for making the reservations. I can assure you I will pass your comments to the Front Office department in order to understand the situation.
The room cleaning service is at your disposal at all times, so if you find that the time of their visit is not convenient for you, you can ask them to come when it suits you the best.

Once again thank you for your feedback because it helps us to raise the level of our hospitality in order to create a unique experience for you.
I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family again!

Kind regards,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hrastnik Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Everything perfect, except bathroom. The rooms are big enough, Beds could be harder but are solid. Bathroom is VERY small and without ventilation. Children enjoyed animation, everything was perferct for them. We visit Umag Stella MAris every year and will come back next year for shure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nusasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Hello nusasara,

Thank you very much for choosing Stella Maris Resort year after year for your holydays and thank for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor.
I am sorry to hear that the bathroom was not spacious enough because every year we are investing great effort to raise the level of accomodation, but your comments are very valuable to us.
We take great pride in our offer of children activities and I assure you that we will continue to develope exellence in the future.

We are sincerely looking forward and to have you and your family as our guests again.

Best regards from Umag!

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Perfect Location. We had superior Villa with jakuzzi. The stuff at the Restaurants were very frendly. The Cleaning ladies came every day bevore midday (cleaning was o.k.) it was our Perfect Holiday and we will come next Year. Our only whish what they can make better, are showers in each Garden of the supperior villas Nord.

Room Tip: If you want your own beach your own jakuzzi, your own Garden with palmtrees Than you have to Book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uherske Hradiste, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I feel, this resort is simply overpriced for what it really is. We stayed in this resort for 2 weeks in August 2012. We are 5 members family.

We booked through a german travel agency. The cost per house in the high season was 412EUR/day-selfcatering. The booking we made looked as we are to get the LUX house, it was also at the front page of our booking. Unfortunatelly, we ended up in the standard villa. Therefore I would highly recommend to people who are going to book this resort to make sure the type of house is detailed specified in their booking. There is a big difference in the standard and in the Lux villas. Standard villas are 60m2 only, facing gardens and other houses. The Lux villa are 78m2 and do have a see wiev. Only few villas do have a jaccuzzi. Also the kitchen is in the standard villa not sufficient. For 5 or 6 people is the house really too small .

During our stay, this resort was facing very dry period.The showers at the beach and showers at the swimming pool were switched off. The pirates boat for kids did not work either. During the second week of our stay, the jets in the inside swimming pool did not work either. The chill out area was without watter too. There were notices with the information of dry period in front of each not working attraction. I find this way of communication not acceptaple.Not in the resort for this price. I would expect a bottle of wine and basket of fruits to the house and a written apologise/notice from the management.

The standard 2 bedrooms house with a terrace. 60m2+terrace, facing garden and other houses. Clean, modern furniture, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Placed in the forest and good shadow.For the 5 of us small. Kitchen is really small and I hated every minute in it! It has 2 cooking rounds. If you put a bigger pot on the cooking round, you will have very limited cooking possibilities, 2 bigger pots or a bigger pot and a frying pan does not fit to it. It is too small. It means, you have to cook potatos in the first round and after you can fry the meat. Not in the same time.! See my picture. I would say nothing, if the price would be 250EUR but not 412EUR/day.

Beaches and swimming pools. The beaches are rocky and the enter to the see is not suitable for small children. Very slippy. There is the laguna with pebbles suitable for children. But do not look for the crystal blue watter in the laguna. It is more like a lake. Swimming pools at Meliá were with salty watter. It was very crowded, as a lot of people from Sol Amfora were using this pools. Hard to get a sunbed.

Resort is large, nice and a good concept. Entertainment for all groups af age. Good sporting opportunities. Restaurants and bars and shop is also available. We used the restaurant at the Melia swimming pools and I have to say, that for a long time I did not eat anything so salty. We tried the resstaurant at the beach (I think the name was Mare a Monti), it was very good.

I would reccomned a trip to Umag. There is vacation train going from the resort to Umag. Umag is nice small very living town with plenty of good restaurant.

Generally large, nice resort with a good concept and good entertainment, but in my opinion overpriced.

Room Tip: In case you are multiple family (5or6 people), choose Lux villas with jacuzzi. Northern part is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hello Davsa, I am Maja Ribarić, the Quality Manager at the Meliá Istrian Villas.
Thank you for leaving your comment at Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very valuable for us because you mentioned some issues where we can make an improvement.
As you already pointed out, region Istra has been facing very dry period and in order to reduce water consumption we were obliged by the authorities to take the necessary actions. Therefore, we are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy in Aqua park, Indoor swimming pool and Aqua Chill Out Area.
Regarding the kitchen...we will take your opinion in a consideration and provide improvements due to make our villas better and more comfortable place for family vacation.
It is very nice to know that despite some inconveniences, you liked the conception of the resort, entertainment for kids and adults and sporting facilities. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and to have a chance to impress you with the quality service that will meet your and your family needs. Best Regards.
Maja Ribarić
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#10 of 14 in Umag
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Amfora Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Istrian Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Istrian Villas

Property: Melia Istrian Villas
Address: Stella Maris - Stella Maris 8A, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umag
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Istrian Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Istrian Villas combine traditional Istrian architecture with modern comfort in a serene and tranquil setting. Located in the Stella Maris resort, the Melia Istrian Villas are surrounded by flourishing pine trees, steps from the Adriatic Sea. The property has 180 villas, including seven "Luxury" and 23 "Superior" villas. Each offers luxury and privacy for an unforgettable Istrian vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Istrian Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Istrian Villas Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing