We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming. Cheaply done villas, inexperienced service, and inconvenience abounds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Istrian Villas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This doesn't feel like a Melia property. The villas are done on the cheap and it shows. Sad dormitory furniture, broken outlets hanging out of the wall, and showers built so standing water remains. Ours was just a few feet from the tennis courts, so not exactly relaxing to wake to loud conversations and shouting on the courts. But, most irritating, the villas pretend to be an Eco-area. So guests leave their cars in a separate lot and are shuttled to the villas in electric golf carts. Unless it's late, then a regular car of the resort. Or unless they are delivering something , then it's a regular car. So, not an Eco zone at all, just an inconvenience.
This place is neither relaxing nor luxurious. Not worth what you would pay, even off season. Avoid it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bfdcshskpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Respected Bfdcshskpr,

Thank you for choosing Meliá Istrian Villas for your holiday and for sharing your experience with us. I'm sorry we didn't fulfil your expectations in having a perfect holiday. As much as possible, we try to please our guests and to give best service we can. Until now we had entirely approving reactions from our guests considering our Eco engagement and saving Istrian traditional style in our architecture. Except for Eco friendly reasons we practice Eco cars but not regular traffic because that allows us to reduce noise and provide serene and tranquil setting for our guests and safety for children which gives them liberty to enjoy their play time without parents worrying. Of course in exceptional cases we allow transport with our official cars by our own drivers. As in case of emergency or cold and rainy nights and that in order to avoid jeopardising health and safety of our guest.
I'm sorry you find that kind of arrangement inconvenient and hope this won't discourage you to give us another chance to fulfil your holiday wishes and expectations. Considering you were unfortunate in choosing area of villa next to the tennis court I would like to recommend you one of quieter area for next visit considering we have various choice of different types, sizes, and locations of villas. I'm very sorry that in one of ours many talks and visits you didn't mentioned you were disturbed by this noise because I assure you we would do everything we can to meet your needs and wishes.
In mine and in name of all employees of Meliá Istrian Villas I wish you all the best and I invite you to contact me during your next stay for any reasons so we can react and make sure you have nice and quiet holiday.

Best regards,
Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was in this hotel with my wife and child (2 years old) on May, 2013.
It was perfect. There is big territory for walking, cycling, playing with children.
Great houses with large patio.
Excellent and big swimming pool inside of main building.
If you need luggage transfer you can use electro-car with driver. Drivers are polite and helpful.
Also we tasted dishes of local restaurant. Not Michelin stars, but ok :).
Wi-Fi is good, but I was forced again and again restart wi-fi connection, use password after sleeping iPhone.
You can find good beach around the hotel entrance with good entrance in sea specially for children.
There is ordinary croatian beach with platform inside hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear ipatrin,

I am really glad you and your family had a nice time while staying in our Meliã Istrian Villas, and that you remember it with pleasure that reminded you to write this nice review.
As you mentioned, there are nice pools and surrounding beaches which our guests are welcome to use, and there is plenty of space for nice walks, cycling and playing. Along the cost there are a lot of restaurants and bars where our guests can enjoy and have a nice meal.

Hoping to see you and your family again, I send You my best regards!

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had superior villa by the sea. We travelled with our friends and two babies (8months). Perfect resort for families, villa had beautiful terrace, garden, jacuzzi, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Kitchen is not equipped for every day cooking. We had half board in Stella Maris Restaurant but food was not good. There are 3 restaurants in the resort, we liked Mare e Monti restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Sueady,

Thank you for your comment. As you said, Meliá Istrian Villas are perfect for family holidays and we pay much attention to fulfill our offer with everything that is necessary for a great vacation. I am sorry to hear that Stella Maris Restaurant was not your favorite. Altogether we have 5 restaurants and pizzeria in the Resort and as you found the one that suits you, I am convinced that we have something for every taste.
I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to have you as our guests again.

Kind regards to you and your family,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Place for families with kids, really nice villas, great surroundings, great outdoor and indoor pool...Unfortunatelly there are several small things, or not so small, that will ruin the experience at least they ruined mine. Like the fact that they ask you too place a deposit of 100 kuna per beach towel. They have credit card number and you can put everythnig on villa no, but they insist on 100 kuna in cash deposit per towel. Or like the fact that you should wake up at 7 am and go to put your towels to "book" deck chair and umbrella on outdoor pool. In case you decide to sleep longer, until 9am let's say :), it's good possibility that you won't find place on pool at all (deck chair, umbrella etc.) and that can be problem when you are with kids. Thing I really can't understand - there is not enough deck chairs and umbrella's on pool for their guest but they are still alowing people from other hotels and locals to use pool for 100 kunas per day!? Pool surrounding not cleaned regularly, at least wasn't for 10 day's we were there, you will find find used tissues, empty plastic bottles etc...No wellnes in resort at all, just massage under tent (massage was good and rather cheap)
Grill o restaurant - great food, good service, not too pricey.
WI-FI free and working ok.
If you actually plan to cook in villa be aware that's there is no "first day kit" in kitchen, only dishes, not even sponge.
All in all, it's good but it could be great - it has everything but ther is no will to put an extra effort that separates good places from great ones.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZagrebPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear ZagrebPepper,

thank you for leaving your comment and sharing your impression with other travelers. I am glad to hear you had a nice time while staying in our Villas with your family.
Our guests have on their disposal deck chairs and umbrellas, free of charge, on the whole beach where the Resort is located, and at the indoor pool too.
I am sorry to hear you had to wake up early to “reserve” yours. I wish you contacted me or my colleagues at the Reception during your stay so we could have talked it out and made sure you and your family get the deck chair and umbrella.
We ask our guests to leave cash deposit so we can keep track of the issued beach towels, it is a procedure in the Resort and our employees and guests have been always respecting it.
In the period of full occupancy it can happen that, while our cleaning service is in another part of the Resort, the bins top up; although we always make our best to keep them clean.

I am glad that your overall experience was good, and that you and your family had a nice time during your vacation in our Meliã Istrian Villas!

Best regards from Umag,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a great place to relax with kids, with plenty to do. We had Luxury Villa 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms and kitchen, terrace and a garden with hammock. Hammock was a hit with my kids! Nice grocery store is on the premises so you can stock your refrigerator and enjoy a breakfast on a terrace. Outdoor swimming pool overlooking sea is surrounded with the bar, restaurant, couple tennis courts, beautifully maintained area with no access to cars. Upon our arrival we parked the car and were transported to reception desk and later to our villa with electric cart. There is a beautiful indoor pool with a lot of daylight which we used when the sun was too strong. The food in restaurants was quite good, especially fresh fish from grill – a bit pricey but worth it. In the evening we usually went to Umag and back with a tourist mini train – driving every 20 minutes. Available to rent are bicycles, boats, family bicycle for 4 etc. We made a day trip to the villages of Groznjane and Motovun – really liked it. Everywhere we want people seamed to be so nice.
The place could improve room service and reception desk. At the reception desk they seamed to be so busy they hardly look at you while talking with you. Room service was quite poor. Although the sea water is beautiful and clear - the access to it is not so, it is quite rocky so we swam most of the time in the swimming pool. All in all, we would love to go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWithKids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear TravelWithKids2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review.
I am happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful time staying in our Meliã Istrian Villas.
Every year we are improving our services and making everything that is posible to assure our guests a memorable experience.
As you mentioned, there are plenty of things to do in our Resort, and a lot of facilities like supermarkets, sport centers, restaurants which help to make your holidays comfortable and enjoyable.
This year we introduced the room service for the Villas, and we will take into account your suggestion in order to improve it.
As for the front desk, I am sorry you had this impression since we always try to make each of our guests feel welcome and treat them with friendliness and respect. Our main goal is to always transmit our Passion for service to all our guests.
We have different beaches in our Resort and I regret you didn't ask us for a suggestion about a nice location for you to access the sea easily.

Once again, I am glad you and your family were pleased with our facilities and services, and we all hope to see you again soon!

Best regards from Umag,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived: Good parking, only electric veichels on the premises, and plenty of space between the villas. Our house was located between the ocean seafront, the outdoor salt water pool and an indoor pool. The kids loved it. Ideal for a family to choose between a meal on the private terasse, the local restaurants or take a small train into Umag for more variety.
Even the wifi worked fine, even if the password had to be remembered every time.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank OsloKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear OsloKnut,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us and all the travelers on TripAdvisor. We are doing our best to make Meliá Istrian Villas the family Resort with unique experiences. As you mentioned, there is plenty of diversity in the Resort as well as in the city of Umag. Since I hope that you will have the chance to visit us again and get to know the cultural and gastronomic offer of the Istrian region.

Best regards to you and your family,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Seeing those nice images of the resort, which are actually correct and true, you would expect the ultimate chill out place to have a glas of wine on your terrasse while your kids sleep tight in the apartment. It's really sad that such a nice place gets penetrated from loud music and animator voices from hotels close by, which can even be heard through closed windows, seven days a week until late night. You can't even enjoy a sunset without the background music.

The attached supermarket sells products to the same price almost as in Germany or Austria, which I feel kind of a rip off, since they use their monopole here.

Nevertheless, it's a wonderful resort with two pools, and more options of different beaches.

Room Tip: We booked through Booking.com and got the "worst" spot, which is still really nice though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cr4yon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Istrian Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Norbert T,

Thank you for your time to write down this review.

You are right when you say that Meliã Istrian Villas is a wonderful Resort and our best intention is to give our guests peace and rest that they deserve.

Unfortunately sometimes music from local clubs is too loud and we are doing certain steps to prevent this in future in order to provide tranquillity so our guests could fully enjoy the Meliã Experience.

I certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umag
0.2 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
3.5 mi away
Kanegra Apartments
Kanegra Apartments
#1 of 1 in Kanegra
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#2 of 14 in Umag
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#1 of 14 in Umag
702 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Rosetta Hotel
Villa Rosetta Hotel
#2 of 6 in Savudrija
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Istrian Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Istrian Villas

Address: Stella Maris - Stella Maris 8A, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umag
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umag
Price Range: £80 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Istrian Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Istrian Villas combine traditional Istrian architecture with modern comfort in a serene and tranquil setting. Located in the Stella Maris resort, the Melia Istrian Villas are surrounded by flourishing pine trees, steps from the Adriatic Sea. The property has 180 villas, including seven "Luxury" and 23 "Superior" villas. Each offers luxury and privacy for an unforgettable Istrian vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Istrian Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Istrian Villas Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing