We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with nice friendly atmosphere”
Review of Melia Coral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Coral
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Reviewed 2 June 2013

After a year and revisit I can say just the same - excellent hotel with nice friendly atmosphere, with a professional approach to clients and the services provided. It is evident effort of management and staff after tightening all the superlatives in a more pronounced form. This all you can appreciate on the details.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter_Trnava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Peter_Trnava,

Thank you for your excellent feedback. The Meliã Coral Team wants to thank you for your second stay in our hotel! We want to assure a great holiday to our guests and your observations confirm that we are doing it successfully.

We are looking forward to host you again in Umag and provide you an unforgettable stay, here at Meliã Coral

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is exclusive hotel , best hotel on Croatia sea. In former Yugoslavia , Umag was exclusive tourist place but and today Katoro is luxury place , great hotel and great vacation . Melia is the best for all , food , staff , clean , luxury I don't have words just amazing place and luxury hotel. Good swim pool with great "chair" for resting in quiet place near at wonderful Croatia sea. Room are in top condition , free Wi-Fi , clean , nice and kindly staff , everything is great . This is top exclusive hotel on Croatia sea for me that was great trip and nice vacation .

Room Tip: Rooms have view on swim pool , that is great....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talic b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear talic b,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Meliã Coral. We are happy to read your comments and to see you were really enjoying your vacation at our resort.
Our Team is always trying to surpass our guest’s expectations and I am glad you appreciated their friendliness and service.

Hope you are coming back soon, we are waiting for you.

Best regards from Umag,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Except the low quality of coffee everything was perfect-the location near to the sea,very friendly English and German speaking staff,a lot of sports opportunities,good european cuisine. Clean rooms with balcony and extraordinary comfortable large beds.
Parking places directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sidi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Sidi4,

thank you for sharing with us your feedback. We are happy to read you had a great vacation in our hotel Meliã Coral. Our goal is to make your holiday a unique experience and we are glad you were pleased with the kindness of our staff, our services and with the comfort of the room. I already forwarded your comments in order to improve the quality of our coffee and I am thankful for your observations.

We are looking forward to having you as our guest again!

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We have chosen a wellness weekend package on the hotel website including two half board accomodation in a classic room with a balcony.
The hotel is situated in Stella Maris Resort, a nice green park: it is about 3 to 3.5 km away from the Umag city center on foot along the coast – don't try to walk that way in high hills. It is shorter if you choose to walk along the main street. Stella Maris Resort looks really great and renovations and preparations for the begining of the full season are on in the part of the resort.
The hotel is categorised as a five star hotel, adults only: it is a five star hotel regarding the lobby, pool and lounge area, but not regarding the room we had, and there wasn't children in the hotel or at the pool.
We had a classic room with a balcony on the front side of the hotel facing the park, parking and tennis courts (341). The room was spatious but not decorated to be comfortable and functional. The bed was a comfortable king size bed, there was an electrical minibar in a cabinet, a big uncomfortable tabouret that turned up to be an extra bed – folding clot bed covered with synthetic leather cover, small club table, uncomfortable small armchair, writing table and a small ottoman chair under the flat screen TV on the wall opposite the bed that you can use to leave a few things on. There were only blinds courtains. Due to the uncomfortable and unfunctional furniture and blinds curtains this room wasn't comfortable and it looked more like a room in a 3* hotel - even a 4* star hotels have a better decorated and more comfortable rooms.
The room and the bathroom were really clean – we had a small bathtub, towels were changed every day, and you'll find a free toiletries, but in our case, those were not full (used before and not checked and changed or changed for our arrival ?). There is a hair drier in the bathroom, a small safety deposit box in the closet, an air-condition system and a table and two rattan chairs on the balcony.
With commode instead of unfunctional writing table and a cabinet with a minibar, a two smaller and comfortable armchairs or a couch with a small club table instead of unfunctional and uncomfortable furniture in a sitting area, and a diffrent type of curtains it could be a nicer and more comfortable room, a room that befits a 5*hotel.
The breakfast is served from 6:30 to 10:30 am, and dinner from 7 to 10 pm. The breakfast time is ok, but in a preseason when people are not spending their time on the beach or at the pool until late, they could change the dinner time at 6 pm or at least 6:30 pm – it seemed almost all hotel guests went to the dinner at 7 pm and the restaurant was full and we were colliding with each other. The food was good, tasteful, nothing spectacular, everyone could find something for themselves, but I have to mentioned a poor selection of salads at the salad bar, juices that weren't a 100% juices, and great sweets.
In the evening there was a live music in the bar, and in the casino was lively as well.
The spa and wellness is really great. If you want a hydromassage you can use the one in the inside swimming pool with heated sea water (around 31 deegres which is good when you just massage, but if you swimm it could be a little bit warm, but it's ok). There is a small fitness area as well. A bathrobe and a pair of slippers you'll find in your room, while a big towel you'll get at the pool.
The lobby, poll and lounge area look really great, those befit a 5*star hotel.
There is a free WiFi in the hotel.
The hotel doesn't have a garage. The parking is free, but isn't secured. A kind of secure parking is just in front of the entrance and is charged.
The hotel stuff is frendly and helpful.
At the arrival, ask about a credit deposit so you can put extra expences on your room and pay at departure, otherwise you'll have to pay in cash. Pay attention to a room choice for sounds from tennis courts early in the morning – windows are soundproof, but during the summer maybe you would like to have those open during the night.
At the end, it was a nice wellness weekend in a hotel that isn't really a 5*star hotel, but more a 4*hotel with a great room for improvement in many areas that will make guests feel comfortable and cozy and hotel a real 5*star hotel.
I can recommend the hotel wellness package (you'll find it at the hotel website), but be careful with the room choice – classic room with the balcony is included in the package !

Room Tip: Pay attention to the room choice for sounds from tennis courts early in the morning – windows are so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marta555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Marta555,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Meliã Coral.
Feedback like yours are the right staring to improve our services and they are more then helpful to all the future guests. As you mentioned, the hotel is 3,5 km from the center of the city and it is not easy to walk in high heels, but you can take the touristic train that will take you directly to the city center and you can still enjoy a great view.
We are sorry that the room didn't fulfill your expetations. We are making some improvements for the future and your comments are surely going to be helpful in order to make it more functional and suitable to our guests.
Our breakfast and dinner time are set in order to be adequate for all our guests and we defined it based on their needs and practices.
We are more then happy that you liked our food offer and, as you wrote, there is always room for improvement and innovation. I will pass your comments to our Head of departments and to the hotel staff because they are a relevant feedback to all of us.
Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Just returned, it was great. Still, let me start with some downsides.

First, this hotel is not Adults Only. No, you can't make a reservation for kids below 16, yet there were at least 4 or 5 kids around, mostly connected to their iPads, and hence harmless. Except for an obnoxious 8-years old who was dominating the supposed-to-be-relaxing inside pool for hours. Quite a pity. We avoided the pool in the next days.

The hotel was recently renovated and the initial shape of the rooms was a bit of a hurdle: rooms are ok, but could be bigger, and bathrooms can accommodate one person at time. The vanity case stays outside. A bit more of vacuuming wouldn't hurt.

Still, there is everything that you need, and it's really really quiet and relaxing. Pick a park/sea view, it's worth the small difference in price.

The lobby bar was designed by somebody who knew what he was doing. It's cosy, properly lit and inviting. Prices are more than reasonable. Food in the restaurants is good, there's a nice variety of choices and mostly it's delicious.

Melia Coral is located in a park, maybe 30 metres from the sea. The area is like a big park with several holiday facilities. It's perfectly situated for nice walks to Umag, comfortable biking or decent running (to Umag and beyond, or up to Zambratija, Basanija, Savudrija).

The biggest asset of the hotel is its staff: very professional, discreet and helpful, with an incredibly warm attitude. On a scale of 1 to 10, they are all around 10. Two exceptions, though: Nenad in the restaurant and Dean in the bar are probably 20.

We'll come again next year, this is for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fst01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

What a gorgeous property!! The service was fantastic!! The staff was supreme!! They were patient and kind with my 98 year old grandfather! The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The food was delicious, we highly recommend breakfast and dinner!

We were there during a tennis tournament and it was fun to watch all of the games nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair0270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This is an odd one. It's a typical old socialists 3* Croatian hotel which has been refurbished into trully questionable 5* rating hotel. Bribery had to exchange hands. Staff is friendly but this is where it all ends. We stayed in their junior suite where I banged my elbows in the bathroom every time i turned in it. True I am 185 cm tall but I could only fit in a bath if I were to chop my legs off completely. Toilet was brown with limescale and cleaningnes failed somewhat short of really clean. This is the only 5* hotel I have been in where sauna is charged for. Also, my girlfriend had to pay for her beauty treatment in cash! Weird indeed, I presume this is in order to avoid paying taxes. Food was a self service affair and was ideally suited to people who are extremely hungry and want to gain 2kgs of weight in one helping. On the final note, there is no secured garage type car park so anyone with Porsche or Ferrari watch out for sleepless nights. :-). We did had a pleasant surprise; on their wine list there was an excelent local cuvée at reasonable price. If in the area choose Kempinski instead.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ibanez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umag
1.1 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
601 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#8 of 14 in Umag
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
1.1 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#9 of 14 in Umag
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coral

Address: Katoro 20, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Umag
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#3 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range: £71 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Coral 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Coral is a five-star hotel located in Istria, just steps from the Adriatic Sea. With innovative services and facilities aimed adult only guests, as well as personalized attention that will satisfy the most demanding of guests, Meliá Coral is an ideal destination for a relaxing holiday. The hotel offers numerous leisure interests, including both indoor and outdoor swimming pools and an Asian-themed wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Coral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Coral Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing