We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely resort hotel”
Review of Melia Coral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Coral
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Umag
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely resort hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just came back from Istria stayed at several hotel and this was one of the best lovely quality
hotel staff were friendly and could not help enough. The food was very nice we had evening meal included would definately go back at the price we paid

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Richard R,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Meliá Coral. It is great for us to see that your stay was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities and services, as well as the staff services exceed your expectations. We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset. Thanks for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards from Umag.

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    243
    122
    32
    17
See reviews for
53
423
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 6 nights but ended up extending for another 2 nights. The only down side of this hotel is its location but there is a small street of mini shops and restuarants a few minutes of walk away. Hotels facilities are great and staff defently deserve 10/10 rate

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Ekdag,

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay that much that you extended your stay with us. We appreciate your valuable comments and will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Umag.

Regards from Umag,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here 2 nights. It is a nice hotel, but not really 5 stars. We had a room with a balcony and a view to the Mediterranean. The concept of Adults only is great, the hotel pool area was quiet and the beach ok: you have to walk through a public park to the beach so there will be faimilies with children there though. The facilities of the hotel were ok, but I would have expected more from 5 stars.
The breakfast buffet was great with on demand omelettes and all! The evening buffet was ok, but you have to pay the drinks separately and some of the food just ran out and was not replaced by anything new.
During our stay there was a really loud music festival at the beach nearby: the music and the beat could be heard and felt in our room even when the balcony door was closed!!! So check for events before booking!!!
The area around the hotel is ok, there is one street with some restaurants and ice cafes.
Overall a nice experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Elisa H,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your Experience about your recent stay at the Meliá Coral. We always appreciate our guests’ feedback. Our clients’ satisfaction is extremely important for the entire team that’s why we take good note of all of your comments in order to improve our services. We are happy that you liked our concept «Adults Only» which is very well accepted among all of our guests. We are also glad that you you have enjoyed in our buffet offer as well for breakfast and for dinner. I’m sorry that the loud music from the event that took place in the Resort nearby affected the tranquility of your holiday. We have forwarded your comments to the responsible persons from the organization.
We very much hope to see you back at Meliá Coral.

Best regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and we're very disappointed. The hotel is very tired and decor is incredibly dated. It is definitely not 5-star: no tea/coffee facilities in room, weak old hair dryers in bathroom, antique phone system to connect to hotel, no map or introduction to facilities, no luggage racks in room. The bedrooms are small compared to wide corridors.
Food in buffet restaurant is below average and incredibly poor quality even for a 4-star. You can tell cheap ingredients are used. There are plenty of wonderful local konoba restaurants nearby offering great food at lower prices.
Check the rooms as some are dark and gloomy, we asked to be moved from our first room.
Unfortunately we are staying during spring break so there is constant loud music from a stage 300m away. We can hear everything even though the door is closed. The hotel's answer? To give us ear plugs! The hotel should advise guests of this event or not allocate rooms facing the noise. They would've had notice of this as the event is arranged by their sister property.

Room Tip: There is noise from the bar and buffet nearby as well as the tennis school opposite where rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Wards_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear The_Wards_Oxford,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor following you recent stay at the Meliá Coral. I'm very sorry to read your feedback about the room facilities but on the other side we genuinely appreciate all your comments as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is highly maintained. Regarding your comment about the music festival, it's was an event called "Spring Break" and it took place in the Resort next to our hotel and we are very sorry that it effected your holidays. All of your comments have been taken into consideration and forwarded to our Management. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience, so thank you for this feedback. We truly hope that we will have another change to greet you again at the Meliá Coral for a new and enjoyable experience!

Best regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had eight nights here recently and found the Hotel to be great value.
The area is a sports paradise with all types of activities. We hired bikes and cycled around regularly, they are available as a 'London Boris Bike' (pick up and drop off points along the coast) or you can get mountain bikes locally.
It was the start of the season there and the rates were very reasonable.
The Foyer is very impressive and the reception staff are very helpful. Rooms are pleasant with free wifi although I agree with other reviews the bathrooms are on the small side for a 5 Star hotel. House keeping was on the whole very good but on several occasions they failed to wash the glasses in our room. The Buffet meals have pretty much every taste catered for and we found the food of a good standard. There is a rather strange in house Casino which consists of fruit machines and electronic roulette. Nightly entertainment was reasonably professional although not really to my
taste.
No kids, which is a definite bonus as far as we were concerned.
Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced compared with the UK but still double the price of the local bars. There is a Spa which we didn't try. All things considered well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get a Balcony Room looking out to the coast, ours was 268 at the end of a corridor nice quiet with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear JOHN T,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review! We always appreciate feedback and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. All of your comments have been taken on board. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience. We are happy that you like our concept «Adults Only» . I apologize that you had some inconvenience with the cleaning of your room. I have personally spoken with the Housekeeping Manager so that we can avoid this kind of situations in the future. We are waiting you soon in Meliá Coral.

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed 2 nights and we had have a half board and a classic room without balcony. A breakfast was very good, a lot of food, ... Very frendly staff. We used a indor pool and it was great time for 2 hours. Only very good for free time is a casino in hotel. You can use a free parking just 30 meters from the hotel. The room is nice, but like in a new 4 stars hotel. Reception is very very nice and it is for 5 stars. O.k., the dinner was great... music on Piano, fresh food and a lot of dessert. Also food dishes, "open fire" with steaks, ... so enough that you Will be very full. We love this hotel, has a great staff, food, location and price (in our time).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Luks123,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with all TripAdvisor users! It is great for us to read that your stay in Meliá Coral was a pleasant one and that the breakfast, room and the staff services exceeded your expectations. We are always happy to hear that our guest take home such great memories. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend. Hotel have a luxury hall and reception, and hotels terace are nicely too. Friendly personal and stuff. Breakfest is very miscellaneous, but dinner could be better for the hotel who has 5 stars. The room was beautiful with a huge beautiful bed but the bathroom is very small and unattended. Massages and treatments are too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Melia Coral, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Tomonani,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor! We are happy to read that you were pleased with our staff as we consider them our main strengths and we are trying constantly to provide the highest level of service to our guests. It is great to see also that you appreciated our buffet breakfast. We hope to welcome you again back to Meliã Coral.

Sabina Barjamović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umag
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#9 of 14 in Umag
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Adriatic Istria Croatia
0.7 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.4 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Coral

Property: Melia Coral
Address: Katoro 20, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#2 Spa Hotel in Umag
#3 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Coral 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Coral is a five-star hotel located in Istria, just steps from the Adriatic Sea. With innovative services and facilities aimed adult only guests, as well as personalized attention that will satisfy the most demanding of guests, Meliá Coral is an ideal destination for a relaxing holiday. The hotel offers numerous leisure interests, including both indoor and outdoor swimming pools and an Asian-themed wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Coral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Coral Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing