We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Amfora Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Amfora Apartments
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent 10 days (mid-August) on the resort and we felt we were being pampered from day one until the hour we left. The place was clean from the start and was thoroughly cleaned every day. The location was perfect, everything is close by. From other reviews we were expecting a high noise level but we could not hear anything from around our flat. The buffet was reasonably varied. Staff were very helpful on several occasions and really made our stay special.
One thing that I missed personally is a fresh-water swimming pool, as the one offered to us was filled with sea-water.
We came back relaxed and happy. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphaël P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Amfora Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear 203RaphaelP,

Thank you very much for your review and let me say that it was a pleasure to have you as our guests and make you feel pampered.

I sincerely hope that we will have you as our guest again and in that case I put myself at your complete disposal.

Best regards from Umag!

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    47
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
91
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

we were disappointed from the beginning - mean, even rude reception staff. disorganized territory letting everybody in to the beaches and swiming pools. unhospitable and arragant personnel, except o'grill restaurant (but those guys were not croatian - serbian, macedonian etc). too much overpriced, everything - bottle of local wine 13 euro, bottle of local sparkling wine - 40 euro, small bottle of water - 5 euro. to have a lunch for 2 50 euro. 1 beach bad (just one, not a pair, without umbrella)14 euro. but the most awful thing - absence of beaches as were stated at the site of the hotel. we were 5 families with the kids and we search the place in Croatia with both rocky (adults) and sandy (kids) beaches. instead of this sandy beach there was a puddle with mud and algae. clean adriatic sea its probably the other story, not about this place. the appartment also are not newly renovated, as stated everywere. we lived at 821, 801, 804, 807, 764 ... 3 rooms appartment had just only one airconditioner it was impossible to sleep while at nigh was +30. they position themselves as family hotel, but everynight there was a disco party till 3 pm - if you are not drunk to sleep it was a problem). so, we had a good time together, we tried not to see all this things, but it was global waste of money. in coratia they have to think it over how to behaive and attrack tourists, because with such attitude in 2-4 years they will suck.

Room Tip: do not select this place - waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraRazina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Sol Amfora resort is newly renovated and it surprized me pleasantly - so sweet & beautiful appartments with terraces, parking places, pools .Fully equiped kitchen, terrace with furniture and sea view . The beach is near with amazing sea sidewalk. By the restaurant are swimming pool. Helpful and kind stuff. The food in restaurant is good. Minus- wi-fi internet -unstable signal. I will surely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank massimo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Amfora Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear massimo v,

I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised. Stella Maris Resort has everything in one place - sport activities, leisure activities and different clubs for children, various beaches, shops and restaurants.
Regarding Wi-Fi internet I assure you that I will forward your comments to our IT department in order to increase the strength of the signal.
I am looking forward to have you in our resort again!

Best regards,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went to Croatia to have relax, switched off and enjoy the sun for a weekend trip only. We chose Sol Amfora apartments. Check in is at 2pm so we were walking around. Finally we got an aparment. It's nice but nothing special. It wasn't so clean as my expectations were. Rooms are stink by the mold because humidity is quite high. Check out is at 10am. We stood until 3pm on the beach but unfortunately they are not available any normal showers or changing rooms. We took fast cold shower on the beach and drove back at home. Cleaning stuff came exactly at 10am so don't have an delay with checking out :)
It was ok but I wouldn't come again. It's loud place and I couldn't relax enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Amfora Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Daniela C,

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor because your opinion helps us in the improvement of our services. Unfortunately, humidity was very high last month in Umag and this was the reason why you have felt the air in your apartment was not fresh enough. Already twelve years now, all our beaches have the Blue Flag, an international recognition for cleanliness and tidiness of the beaches, and in accordance with that, all the necessary infrastructure and services.
I am sorry the cleanliness did not meet your expectation, I will personally speak with our Head of housekeeping department and forward her your comments as an constructive critics.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope you will visit Umag again!

Best regards,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novy Bor, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We appreciated to have everything in one place but especially in high season (and during ATP World Tour) the place is really crowdy. We claimed nights with really noisy music until 5.30 am. The reception was very helpful, offered another apartment but night life is accross all resort every night. The two bedroom apartment was clean but the kítchen was not well equipped (eg.we missed large glasses) and sleaping on a sofa is not very comfortable. Prices in supermarket, bars and restaurant are on 200% of standard European prices.

Room Tip: Before or after high season might be great place for family holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veverka3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Amfora Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Veverka3011,

Thank you writing this review and sharing your comments with us. As you mentioned, Stella Maris Resort has everything in one place, from sport activities, leisure activities, and different clubs for children, various beaches, shops and restaurants.
During the week of ATP Tennis Tournament which is a famous world tournament, there are lots of events and concerts and with that kind of a program, plenty of visitors come as well. But after the tournament, everything the Resort transforms in a quiet place, ideal for family holidays.

We are looking forward to have you in our resort again in the future, perhaps outside of the ATP Tournament period.

Kind regards to you and your family!

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were there for 8 days in 2013 July in the Superior Apartment. The place, the environment, the staff, the service, the beach, playgrounds were excellent! The best was the different beach.
Usually we are watching some famous places during our holiday but this time we did not do it because we enjoyed the atmosphere, so we just rest.

Room Tip: The upstairs better than ground and should close to the pool is the best place if you have smaller c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Amfora Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Attila B,

Thank you for your time and for writing down this review.

Best praise that I could hear is that instead of sightseeing famous places you have chosen to stay and enjoy your holidays in our Resort. I hope that we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest again!

Best regards,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Stella Maris Resort last June while attending the U21 World Beach Volleyball Championships. The resort is very well maintained, bright and cheery. It is very family friendly and accommodated guests from 6 month to 80 years. Our two bedroom apartment was very clean and the kitchen and outdoor spaces made it feel homey. The grocery store on site offered many options and the check out people were very helpful especially as I only speak English. The reception workers were very patient and helpful as well.

The food was spectacular at Monte' Cafe and the views were incredible. Dino our waiter and his assistants recommended excellent wine and specials to enhance our experience. The outdoor seating on the water was epic. For lunch the Pizza Restaurant was perfect with many options and very reasonable prices. Also used the paddle boats and swimming for a full vacation experience. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Bottom floor offers great patio areas and nice views of lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Amfora Apartments, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Lisa D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It´s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your staying in our resort and I realy hope that we will have the oportunity to welcome you again.
I wish you all the best, especially great sport results!

Regards,

Kristijan Papić
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
0.7 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#3 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#2 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#6 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.5 mi away
Sol Garden Istra
Sol Garden Istra
#1 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Amfora Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Amfora Apartments

Property: Sol Amfora Apartments
Address: Stella Maris - Stella Maris 8A, Umag 52470, Croatia (Formerly Stella Maris Resort Sol Amfora)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Amfora Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Amfora apartments are in the centre of the Stella Maris resort, a breathtaking seaside destination in Umag. There is no shortage of entertainment possibilities surrounding Sol Amfora, as the apartments are within walking distance to the ATP tennis stadium, restaurants and the Adriatic Sea. Just steps from the award-winning Laguna beach, the newly-renovated Umag apartments are a prime location for beach enthusiasts. Sol Amfora offers everything you need for a memorable Istrian holiday, including beauty, privacy and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Sol Amfora Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing