We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another splendid vacations in Sol Aurora”
Review of Sol Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Aurora
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
“Another splendid vacations in Sol Aurora”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family visited Sol Aurora for the second time this year and we will come again. I would like to emphasize the children liking orientation of the staff especially the whole animation team who even offered a swimming lessons to the youngest. Very pleasent food, children liked pizzas in the evening and parents liked grill evening once during our stay. Best beach in Umag considering the nature of the coast. Very spacious new (free) parking facilities, inclusive rent a bike, very carefully maintained park in front of hotel, save for the kids, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor_20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Gregor_20132013,

Thank you for your great comment and the confidence you gave us by coming the second time in our Sol Aurora. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a great to read your positive impressions.

We are looking forward to having an opportunity of greeting you again on your next visit to Umag!

Best regards to you and your family!

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    141
    66
    21
    19
See reviews for
162
132
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jesenice, Bohinj, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Me and my family spent a vacation in hotel Aurora in Croatia for the fourth times. Like former years, we spent excellent and unforgettable seven days. Hotel have a great location, right on the beach, two swimming pools and all inclusive service. All the staff are very kind, rooms are clean, they have great animation programs, especially for the kids, surroundings are very beautiful, ... You can rent a bicycles or discover the surroundings by train and on foot. Also the director and all managers are very kindness and affable.
So, do not hesitate, the Hotel Aurora is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: superior room on park side premium room on the see side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Druzina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Druzina D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Sol Aurora and that you were very satisfied. Thank you for your compliments! I have shared all your positive comments with our staff, as they are definitely the best possible motivation to keep up with good work and spirit.

Best regards to the whole family,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

For the first time, we spent a family vacation in Croatia and we had the best time! the hotel Sol Aurora was a perfect choice! The hotel is right on the beach, has a wonderfull swimming pool, all inclusive service which is very good because you do not have to buy water, snacks... for the kids, but the whole day your children can have a fresh food like fish, fruit,meat ... Very kind and polite people who work at bars and kitchen, cleanliness of rooms are at a high level. But our favorite service in this hotel is animation! One of the our main reason to come again next year are animators from the Mini Club: Nebojsa, Nikola, Dinka, Peter, Mexican boy ... sorry if I forgot someone! Older child we only see in short breaks to the next animation, even our young child ( 2 years) wanted to participate in the games, as they were very entertaining, innovative, creative! Best regards to all of them from Milos and Bubi from N.Sada. If you ever come in Novi Sad,please call us, and be our guest! Our phones are at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina15091978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Mina15091978,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your great impressions with us! I am glad that you have spent a nice vacation in our hotel and that you entirely enjoyed during your stay in Umag. Also, thank you for your praises to our Guest Experience Department. Their focus is to make our guests holidays memorable, especially for the little ones. I have already shared your words with them!
Thank you for inviting us to be your guests, it would be a pleasure to see you and your family again, no matter where!

Greetings from Sol Aurora!

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vukovar, Vukovarsko-Srijemska, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Modern hotel, very friendly staff, excellent restaurant with very good food for all gourmets and gourmands. Rooms very neat with a perfectly clean bathrooms and terraces. Very beautiful surroundings, the area around the pool and the pool itself is very neat. Great versatility to spend the day, from soccer fields to rent bicycles. Beach with a nice hotel, a mix of stone and gravels. The city is not very far away, can be reached by train, bicycle and on foot. It's perfect for a holiday with family, friends or business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loki737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear rm,

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed in our hotel and that you are satisfied with the offer and the quality of the service. It means a lot to all of us!

It will be our pleasure to host you again!

Best regards from Umag,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Had a week holiday in this hotel on an all inclusive basis
.
Room was fine and modern well appointed. Hotel was very well maintained and very clean. Lots of staff who kept the place immaculate. Food good quality and lots of variety. Entertainment program limited. Pool area busy and could not get subbed at times but not a problem as we hired them for a small charge on the adjoining beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Lazen,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your positive experience with us. We are very happy that you liked our services. Regarding your comment about our activities program, I am really sorry we did not fulfil your expectations as we are trying to offer a lot of opportunities – special activities for kids, during the whole day, and sport activities for adults. Our Guest Experience Department offers also the opportunity to participate in presentations of local culinary specialties, like cocktails, truffles or Istrian schnapps! In the evening, our guests can enjoy in a rich program, with live music and shows, dance performances, and magic shows.

I really hope you will give us another chance and visit us – we will do our best to make your stay even better that the first one! Once again thank you for your nice review.

Sincerely,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed more than once in this hotel. In the beginning it was a nice hotel. 4 stars, nice rooms, mini bar, the food was okay. Over the years I was also traveling a lot and I was mostly staying in hotels, so this review is based on comparison to other hotels and what Aurora once was. So, what Aurora became… The rooms are “worn out” today. The carpet on the flood needs a replacement, the fridge is empty now and dirty because they became an all-inclusive hotel. I guess nobody is cleaning the fridge any more. The curtains contains holes. Glass barrier in the bathroom that prevents spilling water all over the place while taking a shower is half broken. The entire room looked dirty and bathroom in some places also contained dirt. Bathroom door also looked like a door taken from some old house. You can see it’s old and over used. I guess hotel management should take a trip to some 3 star hotel in the Europe and see how they are not able to compete with them. Not mentioning the 4 star hotels where Sol Aurora should fit. I would say that they degraded by deciding to offer an all-inclusive. You can see that when you order a drink. They have only 2-3 kinds of beer and only 3-4 kinds of wine. Also, I should mention that they have only one bottle of each available wine. Hotel staff is nice and they apologize for that, but it’s not their fault. They just offer what they have and what the management decided to offer in the first place. The food is still good. Not bad, not excellent, but good. But, in the kitchen there are no more tablecloths!! That was a huge disappointment. The cutlery is placed on some cloth on the table used by everybody. Some people don’t care about hygiene and you might be eating after them on the same table. To make long story short, we can see that nothing has been invested in this hotel over the years and its obvious how they cut their expenses at the expense of service quality. Also, some 3 star hotels are offering free usage of computers in the lobby, but Aurora has a price for it. Now they are also charging extra for a plastic deck chair on the beach. There is impression that they want to squeeze the last cent from you without providing the service at the required level for a 4 star hotel. It’s too bad that nobody is maintaining this hotel at the certain level. Compared to other 3 star hotels, it’s bad and I wonder how they managed to keep 4 starts?!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mavrotragano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear mavrotragano,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Istria, and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Constructive feedback is always helping us to keep on course and invest in our service.
I am sorry to read that during your stay in our hotel we did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned in your review, Sol Aurora offers an All inclusive service, and it is the only hotel in Umag with this special concept. We are offering to our guests the opportunity to enjoy in tasty and freshly prepared food and special culinary events. It is not only a concept based on a gourmet offer since we our guest can also enjoy in sport activities and free bike rent during the entire holiday. Regarding your comment about the beverage offer, we have a wide range of drinks, among them, several types of Croatian beer and good Istrian wine. Also, I have to emphasize that we are really taking care about the cleanliness and hygiene in the hotel - rooms, bathrooms and common areas are being regularly checked by our Housekeeping Department and therefore I am sorry you did not recognize it. Regarding the restaurant, we have introduced new tablecloths in order to keep up with the trends but always following the standards of a 4* Hotel category.

Once again, I would like to thank you for writing this review. We will certainly use it as an important feedback in our future investments. I hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to offer you a different experience.

Always at your disposal,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Just came back from quick getaway in Sol Aurora,where we stay for 4 days.Umag is not far away from our home and if you are there you can easy visit also Novigrad,Porec,Rovinj and see more of Istra.Sol Aurora is like typical 3* Croatian hotel and it is really nothing special.There is nothing to complain and nothing to say that it was awesome.Hotel is located next to beach,food was fresh&ok,there is no SPA,gym or something to do if the weather is not god.If you need hotel just for few days&if you like Istra a lot I would recommend this hotel otherwise not.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Givencys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Aurora, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Givencys,

We are glad that you have chosen Sol Aurora for your holidays in Istra and I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions.

I am sorry to read that you didn't entirely enjoy your stay. I can assure you that we are taking all the comments as beneficial ideas that will guide us in improving our services and all your observations will surely help us.
I hope we will see you again in the near future and provide you with the best service!

Regards from Umag,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#7 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
0.8 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#9 of 14 in Umag
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Aurora

Property: Sol Aurora
Address: Katoro 18, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#5 Family Hotel in Umag
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Aurora is one of Croatia's first environmentally-friendly hotels. And because it is the only all-inclusive resort in Umag, Sol Aurora is a perfect destination for the traveler who wants to enjoy every aspect the hotel has to offer. Located directly on the beach, the outdoor swimming pool, which is shaded by an olive tree, a symbol of Istrian lifestyle, presents spectacular views of the Adriatic Sea. This Umag accommodation is the ideal spot for romantic getaways and fun-filled family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aurora Umag
Sol Aurora Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing