We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartments Polynesia
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very old aparments, old damaged furniture. Spiders on the top, don't eat inside- ants arrive immedeately. remote controler without bateries, "fully equiped kitchen"- in reality there are two old (but really old) electrical panels, it takes around 15 minute to boil water for coffie. they are so closed to each other, you can't use both of them. Bring your cookware with you. shortly far far away from three stars. Swimming pool is nice and clean, the waiters never bring the right bilt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sporty_slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Apartments Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear sporty_slo,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving this review about your stay in Polynesia. Every comment is very welcome and helps us to provide a better service so our guests can really be satisfied. We are happy to hear you liked our swimming pool area because we are trying really hard to keep everything clean and in order.
I wish you came to me or have called the Reception Department and we could have found a suitable solution for you. Our staff would bring all the missing things right away.

Kind regards,

Željko Pintarić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Looking at the pictures on their website the apartments look great. But when we got there the reality was everything but great - no aircondition, small and old apartments, we were unable to properly close the windows and balcony doors, the kitchen area was so small we never even used it..

The flats are overpriced - 111EUR/night (for 3 people)! The rent should be at least half the price for what you really get.

All the apartments (houses) are very very old and not maintained poorly. The beach is a disaster and entry in the water is difficult - you can either walk on rasor sharp rocks or enter on the man-made stairs which are very slippery and dangerous.

Overall, we were completely disappointed and will absolutely never return to Polynesia. DISASTER!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryLou_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Apartments Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear MaryLou_on_the_go,

Thank you for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and make their stay pleasant and unforgettable. This is why I am very sorry that you didn't contact our Guest Experience Department or the Reception during your stay. Normally we are here for your holiday so any inconvenience that comes along, we try to resolve on the immediately. I thank you again for your comments because only like this we can proceed with our goal and provide a better service day by day.

Sincerely yours,

Željko Pintarić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one week- with my dog. I would never go back. Poor accommodation ( very small rooms- I had to carry the small table out to get to the bed-plus to make a room for the fog to sleep on the floor-no cleaning service - just a towel change once a week. No beach- bad access to water, "dog beach" is terrible place. Again- very bad access to water- dangerous for dog. Didn't like it at all- terribly overpriced .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Apartments Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Michaela K,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We try to do our best to satisfy every guest and we are very unhappy when a guest returns home unsatisfied with her/his vacation. In your specific case, I regret you did not contact the Reception because normally we can react promptly by sending the Housekeeping staff immediately. I assure you that your comments about the dog beach will not go unnoticed; we will take into consideration a suitable modification of that area. Once again, I thank you for your constructive comments.

Sincerely,

Željko Pintarić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is the nicest thing I can say about the room we had at the Apartments Polynesia. Sadly, the property has not been kept up. Even more sad is the brochure displays "Polynesia-like" setting and the property is anything but. The room was damaged and I was quite amused to see bar codes on furniture. The front desk area was one of the nicest areas of the property. It was a big letdown to see the room. We pointed out the issues to the front desk staff and were offered the option to change rooms. We viewed the second room and declined. The choice of broken room one vs. mold room two. The beds were comfortable and the linen clean. The amenities like the water slide and reasonable prices for the water sports and the waterside bar with beanbag chairs were a bright spot. As was the evening show. The water is not a beach as there is no sand. In most areas there are only rocks or a concrete pad and ramp into the grassy/muddy water. The local tennis tournament and town was interesting and that helped to make an otherwise unhappy stay bearable. I would go back to Umag but definitely stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room 545 is at the very back and quite, but it is in sever need of updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tennistrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Apartments Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear tennistrek,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay in Polynesia.
We are aware that our village is new but we are certainty doing our best to keep it in order. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our evening shows and tennis tournaments.
We will have in mind your comments and in case you decide to come here next year I guarantee you will notice the difference.
One more time thank you for sharing your opinion because only trough communicating with our guests and taking into consideration their opinion we can improve our services.

Kind regards,

Željko Pintarić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we spent 1 week there, and have just good experiences. Food was good, and the staff (animators) at children's Mini Club was very helpful and proactive. Despite of bad weather, we have spent amazing 7 days there.

Room Tip: there are see view apartments, which are far from the entrance, but close to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
15  Thank APM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Apartments Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear APM2013,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy you have spent a nice week here in Polynesia and we are looking forward to seeing you again next year. We will forward your praise to the Mini Club team!

Kind regards,

Željko Pintarić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

First the positives:

+ truly friendly reception staff
+ food choice and quality - self service in central "restaurant"
+ towels smell nice and fresh
+ pine trees offer plenty of shadow on the beach
+ flat large enough for 2 adults 2 kids
+ enough storage in bedroom closets
+ friendly staff in both grocery stores (market) and small bakery just north to restaurant
+ great place for kids (not much traffic around)

Not so nice:
- dirty apartment - we all got black feet after 10 steps on ceramic tiles, just after arrival, lots of dust and small garbage under the beds, kitchen...
- really really dated apartment, maintenance seems just for urgent matters
- bed mattresses should have been replaced years ago - uncomfortable due to hole where body weight normally applied
- water leaking from under the bath
- horrible noise from kitchen water tap - wake up whole family - bad bad plumbing
- same noise heard from flat below
- zero outside noise insulation - old wooden windows => no chance to sleep when teen partying outside => no chance for lunch siesta due to loud tractor (other vacation villages using modern/electric gardening equipment)
- building seems constructed for noise conductance - hear each door shut, rubbing of chairs, snoring, .. from neighboring flats
- noise all day - starts 7am with historic loud tractor and shoulder mounted motor blower on the beach- worst of all camps and resorts we've been to
- kitchen equipment can't get more basic - eg. two knives, both totally unsharp - luckily i always carry small swiss knife
- no aircon, not even fans provided - major issue
- overpriced water slides - 5kn each ride! (0.7 eur) - although compensated by free of charge table tennis (but always occupied..)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank niaga_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Apartments Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear vl1970,

Thank you for the time and effort you have put in this detailed description of your stay in TN Polynesia.
Every comment, positive or negative, is a help in the improvement of our services and thanks to them, we can really work on the areas that should be upgraded.
All your compliments will be forwarded to all our departments, especially our animation and reception.
We will take into account your suggestions and your observations, and invite you to come next year in our friendly Polynesia and convince yourself that we are really trying to improve!
Hope to see you next year.

With regards,

Željko Pintarić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Walking around the premises of Apartments Polynesia gave me an eerie feeling of traveling back in time to a Kibbutz vacation some 40 years ago - small houses scattered in spacious wooded grounds, the song of birds, a central dining hall (they call it restaurant here), no air condition in the apartments (not even a fan), all very peaceful and tranquil.

It is a great location for families with children or young people on a budget - not so for older couples who wish for a little more comfort or for more peace and quiet. For those there is an adjacent venue called Melia Coral, where they don't allow children.

The pros: Spacious apartments with an adequate kitchen and fridge, clean, comfortable beds, nice beach with plenty of choice for activities, no cars rushing around. You can get the basic necessities and more in the local store. Plenty of choice for food in breakfast and dinner (if you choose to take them).

The cons: No air condition or a fan, no soap or anything in the shower, very very basic, some apartments are more run down than others. thin walls that you can actually hear your neighbor snoring just bellow you...


We stayed in Apartment Polynesia at high season, as part of an international conference for artists, and the venue choice was not ours but the organizers - still we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Yael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Apartments Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Yael G,

thank you very much for your comments and for sharing it with the other travellers. It makes me happy that people from all around the world come and visit Croatia and Resort. I am glad that you liked your stay in Polynesia, and appreciated the peacefulness and tranquillity of our Resort. I must say that all our apartments are equipped according to the categorization but we are always happy to take into consideration the constructive critics our guests share with us.
This is a resort primarily meant for families with children but I believe at the end all of our guests leave satisfied just like you did.
If your conference brings you again close to Umag, I hope you will have time to visit us again and take a walk trough Polynesia followed by the song of birds.

Kind regards,

Željko Pintarić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umag
0.9 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#8 of 14 in Umag
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kanegra Apartments
Kanegra Apartments
#1 of 1 in Kanegra
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.5 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Polynesia

Address: Katoro - Catoro 31, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
Price Range: £23 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Polynesia 3*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polynesia is located in the Katoro tourist resort of Umag, just outside the city centre. Home to the largest swimming pool in Umag, the Polynesia property is the perfect destination for a sun-filled holiday. When finished with your swim in the pool, take in the scenic views of the Adriatic Sea or enjoy one of the countless other outdoor activities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Polynesia Hotel Umag
Sol Melia Umag
Sol Polynesia Apartments Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing