We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelland Weekend Getaway to Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Umag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Umag
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excelland Weekend Getaway to Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Located On the Coast of the Croatia, this is a peaceful time of year to visit, beautiful sunsets along the Rocky Coastline. The Resort is great for all outdoor activities, it is a resort for all ages.

Room Tip: Rooms Poolside are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kw696998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear kw696998,

Thank you for your review. It makes us very happy to read that our guests really enjoy in their holidays! I am glad you have found a place for a relaxing getaway. Hope you will be back soon to enjoy in our beautiful sunsets!

Best regards,
Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    192
    81
    23
    13
See reviews for
156
232
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of days and the overall impression is very good. The rooms facing the sea have a beautiful sight at their feet, and this is a real plus because Sol Umag is the only resort that is on the sea shore in Umag, the others a much more distant. The other point of strengh is their SPA that is very complete and big, giving thus space to enjoy your SPA treatments.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Marco A,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers.
It makes us very happy to hear that you liked your stay in Sol Umag.
Thank you for your nice compliments about our hotel. Hope you will visit us again and enjoy in one of our great SPA treatments again.

Kind regards from Umag,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice and clean room. Food in hotel was amazing.Environment was beautiful, we had a room with a view of green area and the sea. The stuff in the hotel is great! All you need, when you need it - they are there. Wellness was very good to.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Tomonani,

Thank you for your review and the excellent rating. We hope you will come back soon in Umag and chose the SOL experience again. As always, we stay at your complete disposal!

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAGREB
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel rooms are nice, clean... But the stuff in the hotel is great! All you need, when you need it - they are there.
Comunication between them is great and they are aware of all your need and changes througout departments.
Food in the hotel is great. All meals are deverse and they even have special diatery section.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TATJANA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear TATJANA M,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with other travelers.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our service fulfilled your expectations. We are glad when guests recognize our dedication because they are the main reason of our daily improvement.

It would be our pleasure to host you again in our hotel. Hope to see you soon.

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel rooms ware far from the price is making you believe you will get. Room service forgot to make up the rooms. The dining room was loud and you have to pay extra for nearly everything.
Good was the variety of food and the animation. Specially the evening shows where of high quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uwe030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Uwe030,

Thank you for writing your review and sharing your experience from Sol Umag.
I am sorry to read that the room did not meet your expectations completely, I regret you did not share this during your stay, I am sure we could have found a suitable solution. Thank you for your compliments about our evening program and animation team.
Hope you will come back so we can assure a memorable stay for you!

Regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranjska Gora, Bohinj, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed in Sol Umag from Sunday Sept.1st till Thursday Sept.5th,2013 and as this was kind of end season one would expect to be able to sleep at night without too much noise. Our room was directly above the music stage and music was extremely lound every night til 24h!!! On the last night we simply could not stand it any longer as it was really unbearable and we had to move to another room at 23:00. As we complained the next day, the response of the manager was really poor and unfrendly - she said that it is stated in all catalogues that there is live music at the hotel. But live music should not mean that you have live music in your room!!! No apology, nothing! As we asked if there were other more quite rooms if we were to come back, she said it is more or less everywhere on the see side view. How she handled our complaint was as disturbing (or even more) than the music. We came to relax to and had 4 sleepless nights.
Also comment about the restaurant, we had to queue every night (one station for the main course) and it was off season, I wonder how it is when there is high season.
Otherwise, the staff was friendly and nice beach, good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Martina C,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
I must say, I am really sorry for the loud music that was affecting your sleep. In full season (15th of June – 15th of September) our hotel offers a night program with different musicians and shows every day. The performances are held from 20:00 until 23:30h. The majority of our guests like the shows and it can happen that the artist are guided by the audience and they are sometimes louder than usual, but we did not have more complaints regarding the shows.
I am sorry that you have waited 4 nights to report it, we could have solved it the first day since you had a room just above the stage on the first floor. We could have moved you to another part of the hotel that is located away from the stage but includes the sea view.

You stayed with us from the 1st until the 5th of September, and in that period is still a full season. I am sorry about the queue in the restaurant, it happens when all the guests come in the same time at 7 p.m. This is why we put the information in front of the entrance that recommended time for dinner is 8:30 p.m. for guests that prefer a quiet atmosphere.

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a three star hotel at best... maybe.

The reception/lobby area is very fresh, bright, and modern. That's where it ends.

This hotel was expensive. The sheets were scratchy. The furniture/room was terribly outdated. The floors were uneven. The A/C didn't work. The bathroom hadn't been renovated since about 1975. The pool is small, and there aren't enough sun loungers. Oh, and don't expect to get one if you don't wake up at 0700 and reserve it with a towel. Loungers next to the water were not included in the price of the hotel, nor was wireless internet. How can a four star hotel charge for internet? Breakfast was crowded, and the selection looked stale.

Was it clean? Yes. Was it a four star experience? No.

Anyone who thinks this is a legit 4* has clearly never stayed in a true 4* hotel.

There's a serious lack of decent resort hotels along the Croatian coast, and this one only adds to the pile. Save your money and book private accommodation closer to town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondie385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Umag, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Blondie385,

First of all, thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not met your expectations. Sol Umag was completely renovated in the year of 2003., and this year we have completely renovated our Residence Sol Umag.
Also, as you nicely noticed, we did an hotel investment, with a new lobby bar and reception.
About our pool area, I would like to add that it is not allowed to reserve the sun beds on the pool. Every sun bed that is not occupied for more than 30 minutes is considered free for other guests.
Thank you for your comments that will help us in further investments and improvements of our service.

Best regards,

Melina Husedžinović
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
1.1 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#6 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#9 of 14 in Umag
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
1.0 mi away
Sol Garden Istra
Sol Garden Istra
#3 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Umag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Umag

Property: Sol Umag
Address: Jadranska BB, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#1 Best Value Hotel in Umag
#1 Spa Hotel in Umag
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#2 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Umag 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW in 2013! This year, Sol Umag will welcome its guests with a new appearance and a richer offer. During the refurbishment of the interior, we were led by the principles of functionality and quality. Modern design, comfortable hotel rooms, 86 rooms in a separate facility (Residence), reception hall and hotel lobby are the reason to choose precisely this hotel. Other than the new interior, the hotel also boasts a completely renovated and attractive beach with various relaxation zones with canopies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Umag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Umag Hotel Umag
Sol Melia Umag
Sol Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing