We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Garden Istra
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I can describe this hotel in only three words
- great for vacation
- kindly staff
- clean and quiet
Just three words , in this words is everything about Village Sol Garden , great place Katoro and great hotel istraturist.I was been in CROATIA many times but never in Katoro , everything is great big regards for personal in hotel.

Room Tip: rooms west from main entrance in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talic b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear talic b,

I am glad you enjoyed your vacation in Umag, especially in Sol Garden Istra. Thank you for taking time to write this review and sharing your experience with others. Our hotel complex is quite big and we are trying to improve and maintain our service at high level and to satisfy our guests desires.

We hope we will have the chance to have you again as our guest!

Best regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

All rooms have a balcony and nice view. Rooms are clean and bathroom is spacious and clean, too. In my room furniture was new and there was a new Philips 32" LCD TV.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, with no exception. Only the dining room may be beter. It's a little aged.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Neven N,

Thank you for writing this nice review. It is always a pleasure for us to read comments like yours. We are very satisfied that we fullfiled your expectations and made your stay in our hotel pleasant. As you could see, there are investments in progress that are being made every year, in order to upgrade our service.
I will forward your comments to my colleagues.
We hope you will visit us again and we will do our best to make your stay even better!

Best regards from sunny Umag!

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sol Garden Istra for two nights. Rooms are spacious, clean, they have a balcony. We had a nice view to the garden and partially the sea. Some of the furniture is a little 'tired' and there are some stains, but overall the rooms are good. The bathroom is also big enough and clean.

There is an indoor pool, which is great in this time of year, but the pool area wasn't clean, and we were there about half an hour after opening in the morning.

The food was good, at least ten main courses for dinner, and also plenty of choice for breakfast.

There is no free wifi, you have to pay to use it (24 hrs wifi access costs almost 20 euro, which is ridiculous). Our room was at the ground floor and there was some noise from the evening entertainment. Also the pillows were (at least for my taste) terrible.

All in all it's a good hotel, maybe not entirely 4 stars, but still ok.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to avoid loud music from the lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Nara77,

We are glad that you were satisfied with your staying in our hotel, especially with the room and the food.
Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the pool area, I have already forwarded them to the housekeeping department.
Regarding your comment about the internet, we are modifying the prices for this season so I hope you will be satisfied next time you visit us.

Best regards from Sol Garden Istra,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Myself, I would not give the hotel 4 stars, but rather only three. The room we had was spacious, clean, but a bit aged. The staff, especially at the reception was very friendly, nothing to criticize. Also the waiters have been friendly and helpful. However the dining room reminded me on a factory canteen, extremely big and yet still too many people, so that we had to queue in the evenings (and that out of season!). Not to mention that the dining room hall was very noisy with so many people. The food was presented in a good and widerrange variety ....that was perfect, although the quality was sometimes not 4-star-like. The bar in the reception hall was very much short staffed, so that you had to wait a long time to get your drinks .... and I mean almost half an hour!
The hotel was occupied mostly by young athletes, as was the case most of the time we learnt, regardless if in or out of season. We were unlucky, that a gang of those youngsters made it a sport to run after each other in the corridors of the hotel next to our and other guests' rooms and this happened not during the day, but late in the evenings, near to midnight. We told them to stop, but this did not help much. From the reception, nobody was following up our complaint.
All in all, the hotel was definitely, as mentioned before, not of 4-star-quality, but for families with small children, who like to run around in and outside the Hotel Sol Garden Istra, this hotel would certainly be pleasant. Less so, however, for couples who look for a quiet stay or in general elderly people. Would we come again? May be with our grandchildren, but not on our own!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Christian S,

We appreciate the time you have spent in writting an impression about our hotel and we are pleased that we have been this year's destination for your vacation.
Sol Garden Istra is a large hotel so it is necessary that the size of the restaurant is also in accordance with it. Because of the big number of guests, our restaurant is divided into several halls; Mediterranean and Banquet hall that are bigger and Istrian tavern, which is slightly smaller and has a more intimate atmosphere for guests that want privacy.
You've stayed at the hotel during the period of sports preparation in progress and that is why we hosted several sports groups.
I wish you had contacted me during your stay because I believe we could have easily solved your problem in coordination with other departments.
I hope you will visit us again, at least with your grandchildren.

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Good hotel and very friendly staff. We have been several times and are always satisfied. Especially children uživaju swimming because the hotel has an indoor pool. Most prihajom for the winter holidays, and there is always something new. Even when the opportunity will come in the summer as they build slides. We were in March this year (2013) and were surprised because despite the winter vremnu built around the hotel. Food in the hotel is good and they also have a good lobby bar where you can at all times afford a drink and the dessert. They also have amusement machines on which the children enjoy. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: To inform or in pairs or family. They have several types of rooms all depends on the payment option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear MNBS,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you are our regular guest and that you always leave Sol Garden Istra satisfied.
As you noticed, we strive to give you a new experience every year. Last year it was a big aquapark area with kids and sport clubs and this year we are building a large sundeck for guests who prefer to enjoy the pool sunbathing.
Thank you for your compliments about the food, I will pass them to our Chef.

We hope to see you this year during the summer period.

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Hotel ant it's surroundings are offering a great spot for spending holidays, especially for young families. Great chances for long walks, fresh air and green areas are offering countless posibilities for outdoor activities. Hotel us clean and constructed in the way that offers plenty if activities even in rainy days (swimming , fitness...). Rooms bright and big enough. Food great and faculty very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Tjas,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you were satisfied during your stay in our hotel. I will pass your compliments to the rest of the team.
We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were in hotel in February. We were satisfied with room (it was clean and arranged), I just expected bathrobe and slippers in the room (because the last time they were there). The food was very good and the stuff were friendly and compliant. We choose this hotel because of evening entertainment (live music) and we were nicely surprised (excellent one man band). Excellent location for relaxation. Excellent location for all those who wants to go to moto meeting in May and want some extra luxury. Definitely we will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marija_Drago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Marija_Drago,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us.
We are extremely glad that the cleanliness, good food and friendly staff motivated you to visit us again.
Usually, we are providing bathrobes and slippers to all our guests. I regret you have not contacted me at the beginning of your stay because we could solve your problem immediately.
During the whole year we are trying to entertain our guests outperforming their expectations. Since you mentioned that you enjoy evening entertainment, we invite you to come in the summer period, when we can offer you a multitude of great music and dance shows.
Looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
1 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#2 of 14 in Umag
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#1 of 14 in Umag
702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#9 of 14 in Umag
42 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#8 of 14 in Umag
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Address: Katoro 19, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#3 Spa Hotel in Umag
#3 Family Hotel in Umag
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
Price Range: £70 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing