We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with young kids & excellent value for money”
Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Garden Istra
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were very happy with our one-week stay this past July, and especially the Mini Club and evening shows, which our 5-year-old daughter loved. Brand new resort with friendly, helpful, multilingual staff. Compact, which our daughter also loved because she could roam around by herself and not get lost or into trouble, and we also enjoyed since in some large resorts it can take 15 minutes or longer to go from the lobby to your room. Our room was on the small side but it was clean and modern and had everything we needed. We also liked the mix of nationalities (Austrian, German, Croatia, Slovenian, Italian and Russian) in contrast with other resorts where you can have one dominant nationality. It was easy for our daughter (Dutch speaking) to make friends with the other kids as they also had no common language. We were particularly impressed with the wide range of activities for children and the care and involvement of the staff. The food was OK, nothing special, but we took the half-board option and drove into town every day for lunch to experience more variety. On the downside, the nearby beaches are all rocky, but with a young child we prefer to stay at the pool anyway. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and may be back in July 2014! (Note: if you don't have kids, definitely give this place a miss. We didn't see anyone without children, and the majority of the entertainment options were for kids.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent here very nice holiday with our children (3,1). The hotel is very kids friendly. There is nice and big swiming pool for children, playground, kindergarden where you can take off your children several times a day :-)
Room is commodious and clean, extra bed for children is big and comfortable. Food was delicious and there was very good choice of it. Staff was very polite to us. Every evening was some entertainment for children and adult too.
Only one small minus is that hotel is so big, that in the season is too many people everywhere, queue in dining room, queue in recepcion, queue on elevator....
But in general it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Mirka V,

Thank you for sharing your review and rating Sol Garden Istra as excellent! It always cheers us up when we read comments like yours. We hope to see you soon, maybe in spring so you can enjoy great weather and relaxing atmosphere together!

Best regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Sol garden as I was down in Umag for the Istria Granfondo cycling race.

I enjoyed the Hotel bar and restaurant. The Room was what I expected from this type of Hotel standard. I a nice view onto the Pools out the back of the Hotel.

The breakfast had a lot to choose from ! The staff was great and friendly.

Next time I will have to bring my wife.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Jerome C,

Thank you for staying with us during the Granfondo race and for sharing with others your impressions. It makes us very happy to read that you were enjoying in our hotel and that our staff helped in that!
Hope you will come to visit us with your wife so you can maybe relax and enjoy our great wellness center!
Best Regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent a weekend with our daughter and family and then the rest of the week with our Grandson who is four years of age. There were lots of things to do at the hotel, kid's clubs, water slides, playgrounds. We were close to the beach and did some exploring. Lots of interesting places in the area to explore especially the Dinasaur Park. We took the small train one evening along the coast and it was very beautiful to see all the different coves along that coastline. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. I would certainly recommend it for families. The hotel catered for children up to 17 years of age. The entertainment in the evening was suitable for all ages.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were quite small as there were two single beds together with a single chair/bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christabella_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Christabella_48,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review about the hotel Sol Garden Istra. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed all aspects of our services and surrounding areas. We are trying to do our best and to make all our guests happy. Your compliments really matter to us, as they are a great motivation in our further work.
Hoping to welcome you again, best regards!

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We experienced this hotel during three weeks and, it was great. It has the comfort you can expect from a 4* hotel. However, what really made the difference for us, were the facilities for children and the friendliness and helpful personnel. In the evenings, our son Jamie (4) loved to go to Club 4, were he was always warmly welcomed by Erika and Natasja. They are great with children. It gives you the opportunity to relax and have some nice time alone or with your partner.
From the person that cleaned our room (Mrs. Antonya) to the servers/barmans at the restaurant (Mr. Jasmin), including Sandy and Tanja from the animation team… we felt always a friendly and enjoyable atmosphere. They always were very attentive with small children.
Therefore, we hope the hotel management recognizes and rewards the professionalism and hard work of the people that made our stay enjoyable. Because, in the end… this is what we remembered the most! Thanks and warm greetings from The Netherlands.

Room Tip: Be sure you ask to be placed in a non-smoking room if you travel with children, with non-smoking nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raquel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Raquel R,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with other travelers. It makes us very happy to read that our employees were the reason for your memorable vacation. The rich offer of our hotel is supplemented by our personalized approach and kind attitude with all our guests. We are really pleased that you have recognized it. Your comment has been forwarded to all our employees as a motivation in their future work.
We hope to see you soon!

Best regards from Umag,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was there with my sister´s family with two children (8 years, 13 months).
We have two neighbouring classic rooms with balcony in main hotel building. Bed was really huge :-) , I liked it very much! We asked for baby cot and it was of good quality.
Food - we have half board; great variety and really delicious food. We really appreciated Special offer for kids in the afternoon (snacks, drinks, ice cream).
Hotel´s aqua park was really fun - water slides, swimming pools and especially paddling pool for small children.
We liked aqua aerobics and zumba lessons very much!
Evening entertainment program was very professional and we really enjoyed it.
The beach is really close to the hotel. If you´ll go a bit further, you can find a quite sandy beaches.
Hotel is really family friendly and that´s why I recommend it especially for families. I think e. g. for couples there is too much childrens´ shouting everywhere :-)

Room Tip: Family room was not available but we have two neighbouring classic rooms with balcony in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Majki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Majki,

We are glad that you have chosen our hotel for your holiday and what makes us very happy is that we have fulfilled your expectations. Our services and facilities are based on the offer for families with kids but also include activities for adults. In this way everybody find something for themselves. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again and have a chance to satisfy your needs and assure you a pleasant vacation one more time!

With best regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my husband and 8-year old son and I can only say that it is a great place for families with little picky eaters as well as for the families who prefer active holidays. The food is absolutely excellent, the rooms are a bit smaller, but the beds are very comfortable. The staff is very polite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slobodankads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Slobodankads,

I would take this opportunity to thank you for this nice comment. We are all happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and that your “little picky eater” liked our food.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!

With regards,

Franka Zorić
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
1 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#2 of 14 in Umag
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#1 of 14 in Umag
702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#8 of 14 in Umag
42 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#10 of 14 in Umag
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Aurora
Sol Aurora
#6 of 14 in Umag
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Address: Katoro 19, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#3 Spa Hotel in Umag
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#3 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range: £69 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing