We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i excepted more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Garden Istra
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Certificate of Excellence
Rijeka, Primorsko-Goranska, Croatia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“i excepted more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

for begining sorry for my english. I just arrived for my four days family vacation from umag (sol garden). when we choose this hotel, trip advisor was one of most important reason for our decision. in fact my family rather often take short holidays at italy, slovenia and croatia so i have some experiance in four stars hotel (like sol garden). sol garden is in some way five stars expecally when we talk about staff of hotel. I really never saw so kind, helpfull and guest friendly staff like in sol garden hotel. but the best thing of staff (expecially at reception desk) is combination of relax and efficiently access to customer so you feel at home. location of hotel is very nice, if you want ride a bike you can find very easy trails, there is lot of really nice various sport playground, nature is fabolous. so that is good. but for me (i am croatian) was very disappointing that you must extra pay for wi-fi, that prices in restoran is well above prices in similar croatian (and slovenian) hotels (for example 1/2 liter of red wine is sixty kuna), you can not take jacuzzi without extra pay, chips for pinball and simillar games are euro and half (?!!)... maybe is ok. for visitors from western europe, but for croatian people this is to expensive.I have to be honest and say that HB at the hotel wasn't too expensive, but for example food for my opinion not at the level of four stars hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Igor U,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. This is of big importance because it shows us what we can do to make guests feel better at our hotel.

We are really sorry you were not satisfied with the prices in our hotel. Sincerely, I do not think it is too expensive, but of course, I respect your opinion. The only thing I can say is that the prices are justified by the good quality of the service. Like you said, you have never seen before so kind staff. About that, I would like to thank you for those nice words.

Thank you one more time. It will be a great pleasure to host you again, so we can show you at our best.

Best regards,
Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    248
    108
    30
    30
See reviews for
393
145
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was in Hotel for 8 days during some conference. Since I was one of the organizers, I often needed help from personnel on reception. Every time I needed something, they were very kind and provided it to me (and my colleagues). I would like to especially commend Ivan and Dalila as the best receptionists ever!

Room Tip: Family rooms with the pool view are really comfy! (like 544)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_am_m3_m0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear I_am_m3_m0,

First of all let me thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Your comment is truly motivating for all team, and it is nice to read that we have fulfilled your expectations.
I have already shared your compliments with Ivan and Dalila and they are sending you a big hug!

In hope to have a chance to host you again,

Best regards,
Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We choose this hotel for our professional football team to stay at while they were training at the sport complex near the hotel. Everyone was very helpful, employees at the reception, guest relation, lobby bar, restaurant..They all are really lovely, happy people, always there to make us feel good and comfortable. Food was excellent, accomodation comfortable. I would definitely recommend it further and at the same time I would like to say a big thank you for a most enjoyable stay with you all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damjana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Damjana K,

it is a great pleasure to read such a nice review and to know that our hard work is seen and valued by our guests. We have shown this review to all our colleagues because this is our best motivation to provide excellent service in the future as well.

We hope you will visit us again soon!

Kind regards from Umag,
Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
287 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a business conference at this hotel, and they were very kind and accomodating. It offers indoor and outdoor swimming, very close to the Adriatic Sea. Lots to do for kids and adults, alike. There were also many cyclists in the hotel... and other types of athletes. Overall, the management was very friendly to many lifestyles and the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naneliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear naneliz,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! We love your title!
I am more than happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and that you were so pleased with our staff and our rooms.

Looking forward to your next stay!

Best regards,
Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rybinsk, Yaroslavl', Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was part of a group that stayed at Sol Garden Istra and I was very impressed with the facility and the cleanliness of my room. The bed was wonderful and the food was excellent. I would stay there again happily.

Room Tip: Room above the cafe is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Michelle T,

Thank you very much for choosing Sol Garden Istra and for taking the time to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. I have already shared all your positive comments with my colleagues!

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and for your nice words. It is really rewarding to get a positive feedback like yours.

Best regards,
Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Everything was very professionally organized with a beautiful hall for meetings, fine dining for each meal and the rooms for staying were very comfortable. My wife and I enjoyed coffee times with friends at the coffee shop that was accommodating with any order of an extra or particular service we desired. The foyer seating was situated nicely for conversation and visiting. The service desk went far beyond regular service to get our computer on line. All our needs and desires were met. Your location is peaceful and affords access to the beauty of the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea side room if you are interested in a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Nora S,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the overall service provided in the hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, particularly regarding our service.
Looking forward to host you again!

Best regards from Umag,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. The hotel was clean, the bed's were comfortable, and the staff was very courteous. The wait staff at the bar/restaurant were very friendly, and were quite professional. The Adriatic sea was a two minute walk from the resort, and while Umag was a longer walk, we found that following the path along the shore was quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Jonathan L,

thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to post this nice review.
We are really happy to read you enjoyed in Umag. It is a small, but very interesting city, with a wide range of possibilities to do.
The Adriatic sea is just one of its beauties. I hope you will have a chance to visit us again!
In that case, please feel free to contact me at the Reception, I will be at your complete disposal.

Sincerely,
Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
1.5 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#2 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#3 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#6 of 14 in Umag
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
0.5 mi away
Sol Amfora Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Property: Sol Garden Istra
Address: Katoro 19, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#1 Spa Hotel in Umag
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#4 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing