We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Garden Istra
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Voecklabruck, Austria
1 review
“Nice place”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in Sol Garden Istra for a few days during a family vacation.We reserved a few rooms in the Village Sol Gardn Istra,that is the building near the hotel,need to know that the rooms are very different from those in the hotel and we were not very satisfied.
So,if you want to have a room in the hotel you wil need to pay extra,even the price was acceptable.
In any case the personal at the reception was very frendly and helpful trough the whole vacation,expcially Dalila that was very kind and always smiling,she changed us the rooms easily without problems,and even if we where more than just two rooms she find us a place all together one next to each other.
The only bad thing was the internet conection you need to buy,in a 4 star hotel this must be free. Exept that I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErsteKlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear ErsteKlingo,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Umag and for the feedback. We are glad that you have come to us during the stay regarding the room, so we were able to react promptly and make your vacation pleasant. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our staff and the stay overall. We have shown your comment to Dalila and let us just say that she was smiling even more after that.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    263
    117
    33
    36
See reviews for
431
148
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We was in the hotel second time and the vacation was great.
Room was clean, service excellent, the food is tasty.
There is lot of activities for children, sand beach is located 15 minutes from hotel.
Cons - the room was in corridor with few stairs, which was difficult to go with stroller.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cestmir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Cestmir H,

first we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for the second time and for writing this review. We are very happy to know that you have once again enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding room, service, food and activities for children, which will help other travelers in their choice of hotel.
Please mention by the next booking that you would like a room in a corridor with no stairs and we will be happy to provide you with such one upon availability.

We hope that you will give us a pleasure to welcome you for the third time as well.

Best regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First of all I want to mention that when you are reading comments about this hotel there is a day and night difference between the rooms in the main building (more expensive ones) and the rooms in the other buildings on the domain.

The reference we give about this hotel is for a family room in the main building, these are two seperate rooms with connecting doors (we were in 269-270).

Rooms: adequate space, good bath room (nothing fancy but adequate). Closets could you more space to lay things instead of hanging things but closet space is enough for a two weeks stay.
Kids were very happy with their room and the connecting door gives you a safe feeling and gives the parents also some privacy.
So we were happy with the room which was cleaned ok, but it wasn't a 10/10 for cleaning to.
Room had big balcony whith sun screen.
Water pressure and this kind of things was never a problem so technically ok all though you could see some marks of wear (but this is in the most hotels like this).
The noise isolation coming from the upper and left and right rooms and the hallway is quite poor. This would be my main critic on the room. Next to us we had four younger guys folowing a tennis camp and it was NO fun to be next to them till they left. If the wife of the room above you wears heels, you can clearly hear her walking around.
Big benefit is that the room has big black out curtains so you can make it dark inside. Als no tapestries in the room (benefit) but wooden floors.

Hallways were quite worn ...

Swimming pools, perfect, just perfect, our kids and myself loved to be around the pool, the aqua park is big + for this hotel.

Food: ok, I have eaten better in hotels, but also eaten far worse...
It's a petty they closed the smaller restaurant to the left as after a couple of days it was only for the tennis players and staff of the UMAG ATP tournament. Main dining room is loud and crowded. I suggest everybody to take the left restaurant or the further one to eat in a more quiet atmosphere. Drinks are OK prices quickly served and bottled wine has a very good price/quality ratio.

Sports classes animation: extremely good for Pilates, Zumba, Power, spinning and all complementary! Also the Lion King show is really good and should not be missed.
Allthough it's very awkward that waiters and people keep walking around during the show so this takes away "the magic". If the stage would have been higher this would have been less a problem. Now you sometimes have problems to see what is happening.

Personnel was very friendly. No issues on this side although i read other things here. I think you are getting treated as you treat them...

Umag itself is nothing special but Novigrad, Porec, Rovinje, Pula, Motovun are really nice to visit. If you have kids also Istralandia water parc is nice to do.

Taking the small train to Umag is nice to do with the kids. See is about 250 metres from the hotel.

Kaufland super market at about 5 km from the hotel.

So all in all we are very happy about our holiday!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room at the end of hallways where less people pass by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann-Lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Ann-Lie,

first of all, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Umag and for writing this detailed review which will definitely help others in their selection of the hotel in Umag. We appreciate your feedback about the room and the restaurant which will help other travelers to get a clearer picture about our hotel and services that we provide. We are glad to hear that you and your children have loved our pools and the Lion King show. As a family hotel, we are taking special care about pools and entertainment during the day and in the evening and it is always a pleasure to know that this has been recognized by our guests. We have forwarded your nice words about our staff and sports classes to the whole team in order to keep them motivated in providing the high level of service in the future as well.
Thank you once again for your feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again soon in our hotel Sol Garden Istra.

Kind regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks in this hotel. On the whole it was a positive experience. Room large and very clean - and cleaned every day. Food was decent enough - lots of choice each evening nicely presented if very similar night after night - biggest complaint was rock hard fruit served each night and morning at breakfast - nectarines like tennis balls, tasteless apples, plums like rocks, kiwis the same even melon on sale at the pool was like turnip. I had to complain after 9 nights but my complaints werent understood by the restaurant manager. Most of there hotel staff were very grumpy and unhelpful -not very friendly especially lady that runs small food and sweet shop -very rude. Exceptions were kids club staff and animation team who were always smiling and saying hello and were very professional - costumes in Lion King show were beautiful. High school musical also excellent - our 7 year old made us watch it again second week it was so good. Special mention to a lovely waiter Marinko - he was the biggest exception -friendly to everyone but was very chatty when he realised we were from Scotland. Get this man training the rest of the guys in customer service well done big man.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are very large and spacious overlooking the pool - noisy during the day but whose in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear JuneR64,

we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Umag and for sharing your opinion with other travelers and with us. We are glad that your overall impression of our hotel was positive and that you were happy with the room. I assure you that we have forwarded your comments about fruit and part of the staff to responsible persons in order to improve the level of our service and avoid such situations in the future. We are very happy that you have recognized the effort of our animation team and that you have enjoyed our evening entertainment program. We hope that you will visit us again soon and take a look at our new show.

Greetings from the whole team and a special one from Marinko,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Positive:
- Clubs and pools for small kids (up to 10).
- The waitress by the upper kids pool stood out as she was one of the few smiling and friendly.
- The Lion King show on friday night is quite amazing.


Negative:
- Attitude of the staff is very poor, at times rude. The lady at the reception I would even describe as insulting.
- Internet not free. Hardly see hotels these days where you still pay for your web access.
- Food (Breakfast and Dinner) is very cantine like. Most dishes plain and served in buffet style without any love. Ambience from the huge clinical rooms supports the cantine feel.
- You need to obtain a authorization from the reception to bill any drinks to your room. When I approached the receptionist lady aksing if they dont have trust in their guests the anseer was that "no one can be trusted"
- Rooms were very dirty upon check in. Quite disgusting. (See pictures attached)
- The entire hotel feels like a former day socialist complex, which has received some renovations, but without any attention to detail. Also with most staff behaving accordingly.
- to reach the ocean one needs to cross a minor road and walk approx 500 meters.

Tips:
- Don't rent a bicycle from the bikepoint within the Hotel. Right outside the hotel by the shops is a tourist office which lets good bikes for less than half the price (approx EUR 12 per day)
- Same place you can buy wireless internet for the duration of your stay.
- come late for dinner (after 2000hrs) and dine in the room (red colors) right on the left of the restaurant entrance. Nicer atmosphere, less crowded, bit more quiet.
- The Burgers at the upper pool are a decent lunch and as well value for money.

Summary: In my view surely not worth the money, but not a place where you would immediately want to check out again. Staff Training would do wonders, make them proactive and take ownership of little things. Guests are a mix of locals and Austrians, with the odd Italians, Germans, Dutch etc. Hospitality, Facilities, Entertainment and Food can not be compared to good hotels in countries like Turkey or Egypt, where you get an all inclusive 5 Star for the same money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank strphcjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear strphcjnb,

first of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Umag. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our offer mostly for children. Clubs for children as well as the pools and the evening shows such as Lion King are very important to us as a family hotel and we are always happy to know that our guests are recognizing our efforts.
We appreciate your feedback regarding staff, internet, rooms and dining as well. We will take your comments into consideration in order to improve our services and provide our guests with even better service in the future.
We hope that you will visit us again soon and give us a chance to change your opinion about our hotel.

Best regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

If you like a crowdy place, lots of noise, an impersonal approach, school cafeteria food, expensive wifi, poor breakfast, etc., this is your place to be !
If not, just avoid ! Fortunately we only booked for 4 days, but even then we were very very glad we could leave ..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgiantourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Belgiantourism,

Although we are aware that your feedback is not positive, we would still like to thank you for it because only with feedback from our guests we are able to improve our services and make our guests more satisfied.
We are very sorry that we have not completely fulfilled your expectations. We are a big family hotel with a lot of young families with children, who are of course our main target group considering the offer that we provide to our guests.
We will take your comments regarding food and service into consideration in order to provide our guests with even better service.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us a chance to show you our improvement.

Best regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Many attractions for kids like swimming pools, slides, playground, mini clubs with lots of toys. Kids were happy. Breakfast and dinner were good. No free Wifi. Room was nice, lots of space. Bathroom is big and tidy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr. Ivan V,

Thank you for writing this nice review and for sharing your opinion about our hotel with other travelers. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were especially happy with pool area, animation program, food and the room.
We hope that you will come visit us again soon.
Until then we are sending you kind regards from Umag,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umag hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#9 of 14 in Umag
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
1.0 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#7 of 14 in Umag
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Istrian Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Property: Sol Garden Istra
Address: Katoro 19, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#3 Spa Hotel in Umag
#4 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing