We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!, lovely staff”
Review of Sol Garden Istra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Garden Istra
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Umag
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I've never written a holiday review, but felt compelled to after reading some of the negative reviews. We spent a week here this summer, and can honestly say we had a great time (despite some unseasonal weather!). The staff, without exception were lovely and friendly, our room was large and while it could do with a little updating/care was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. It was very quiet too, we couldn't/didn't hear any noise from the adjoining rooms. The animation team are truly amazing, and however much they are paid, it isn't enough!! The water park was super, and we never had to queue for the slides, or felt that the place was overcrowded. The pizzeria in the square was great for lunch and very reasonably priced. The only time the hotel felt really busy was for the evening meal, and then I would suggest, as previous reviewers have said, dining in one of the smaller rooms off the main dining room which it is very noisy/busy. All in all a great place for a family holiday . Thanks

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CampeyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear CampeyA,

we are very glad and grateful that you have decided to share your opinion about our hotel with other travelers. There is nothing nicer to hear from our guests than the fact they had a great time and that they enjoyed our services and their holiday overall. It makes us very happy that you were satisfied with our offer and especially with the hospitality of our staff. As a big motivation for further great work, we have shared your comment with our team. As a family hotel, it makes us happy that you have recognized the quality of our animation team because this is one of the key values of our hotel.

Thank you once again for the nice review and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had an amazing holiday here and the hotel and their staff played a big part in that. Especially the bar staff and entertainment staff. Marko Jukic and Marko Bilic are amazing at what they do, regarding the entertainment and their friendly personalities! The bar staff were lovely too, especially Marinko Uranjkovic, Zoran Santek and Simone ????. So lovely and friendly and really enjoyed teaching and learning each other's languages!!! We will definitly be returning next year.....can't wait!! Thank you x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennielgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Jennielgibson,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share this beautiful review.
We are extremely happy that our staff made the difference and that you felt amazing during your holiday. We have forwarded your nice words to all mentioned staff and they were of course very happy about it and are sending you many kind regards.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again next year and until then, we wish you all the best!

Kind regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in the Sol Garden Village for 5 nights and for the money and rating It does not compare in any way with a 4 star hotel in other European countries or Egypt. When we arrived I was told check in was at 2pm, we arrived at 1pm and no we couldn't go to the room early and no assistance was offered in terms of where to go for some food etc etc! It felt like we'd arrived in a downmarket Club Med not a 4 star hotel, not even a welcome drink was offered at that point. I booked a premium family room, which in reality meant two rooms with a connecting door. The rooms were ok, had all facilities as described but were tired! The air con didn't work in one room, the patio doors wouldn't close properly, gave up trying to close my shower door and let the water rain onto the bathroom floor. Really glad I didn't pay the extra for a pool view, no point! What view when there is a glass balcony in the way so sitting on the balcony was no pleasure at all. My first impression of this place was disappointment and this remained with me throughout the stay.

Our major issue was the main restaurant food, which claims to be two restaurants, but in reality serves the same, awful, bland tasteless food which is akin to staying in a 2 star hotel. There is lots of variety but nothing you want to eat! Please invest some money in chefs and not in amazing costumes for the Disney shows which not all of the guests will want to watch. To add insult to injury, a bottle of water which comes in an unsealed, ie opened bottle pretending to be bottled water is extra at 22 Kuna, although I suspect it is only tap water chilled in the bottle! We purchased water bottles from the market nearby at Katoro and took our own water to dinner! I regretted paying half-board, it was cheaper and better food to eat outside the resort. Everything is extra, not what you expect in a 4 star resort.

As a first visit from the UK to the So called Croatian Riviera, I would not bother again and I definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel/resort. The highlight of our stay was a day trip across the Adriatic to Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mbale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Mbale63,

first of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Istria, but especially for taking the time to write this detailed review.

I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our Sol Garden Istra, but even more because you did not contact me directly during your stay. I am sure we could have found a solution for all reasons of your dissatisfaction.

I would like just to explain you that, like you already know, the check in time is at 14:00 h, but of course all our guests can also before that time use the services at the restaurant or bar. I am really surprised that our reception desk did not provide you with this because it never happened that a guest did not know everything about our offer after his / her arrival.

Regarding the food, I am also sorry it was not according to your expectations. We offer a wide range of delicious Istrian, Croatian but also Italian, German and even Mexican specialities.
Of course I completely understand that what is tasty for one, maybe it is not also for the other, and this is why we will try to improve even more our culinary offer. What I have to say is that we are a family hotel with many families with children and they are our main target. This is the reason why we are investing so much in the amazing evening shows and beautiful costumes.

We hope that all those mentioned reasons will not prevent you to visit us again in the future and that we will be able to welcome you once again in our hotel. In that case I would like you to personally contact me upon your arrival so I could make sure that your vacation fulfills and even exceeds your expectations.

Best regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in Sol Garden Istra for a few days during a family vacation.We reserved a few rooms in the Village Sol Gardn Istra,that is the building near the hotel,need to know that the rooms are very different from those in the hotel and we were not very satisfied.
So,if you want to have a room in the hotel you wil need to pay extra,even the price was acceptable.
In any case the personal at the reception was very frendly and helpful trough the whole vacation,expcially Dalila that was very kind and always smiling,she changed us the rooms easily without problems,and even if we where more than just two rooms she find us a place all together one next to each other.
The only bad thing was the internet conection you need to buy,in a 4 star hotel this must be free. Exept that I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErsteKlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear ErsteKlingo,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Umag and for the feedback. We are glad that you have come to us during the stay regarding the room, so we were able to react promptly and make your vacation pleasant. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our staff and the stay overall. We have shown your comment to Dalila and let us just say that she was smiling even more after that.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We was in the hotel second time and the vacation was great.
Room was clean, service excellent, the food is tasty.
There is lot of activities for children, sand beach is located 15 minutes from hotel.
Cons - the room was in corridor with few stairs, which was difficult to go with stroller.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Cestmir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Cestmir H,

first we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for the second time and for writing this review. We are very happy to know that you have once again enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding room, service, food and activities for children, which will help other travelers in their choice of hotel.
Please mention by the next booking that you would like a room in a corridor with no stairs and we will be happy to provide you with such one upon availability.

We hope that you will give us a pleasure to welcome you for the third time as well.

Best regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First of all I want to mention that when you are reading comments about this hotel there is a day and night difference between the rooms in the main building (more expensive ones) and the rooms in the other buildings on the domain.

The reference we give about this hotel is for a family room in the main building, these are two seperate rooms with connecting doors (we were in 269-270).

Rooms: adequate space, good bath room (nothing fancy but adequate). Closets could you more space to lay things instead of hanging things but closet space is enough for a two weeks stay.
Kids were very happy with their room and the connecting door gives you a safe feeling and gives the parents also some privacy.
So we were happy with the room which was cleaned ok, but it wasn't a 10/10 for cleaning to.
Room had big balcony whith sun screen.
Water pressure and this kind of things was never a problem so technically ok all though you could see some marks of wear (but this is in the most hotels like this).
The noise isolation coming from the upper and left and right rooms and the hallway is quite poor. This would be my main critic on the room. Next to us we had four younger guys folowing a tennis camp and it was NO fun to be next to them till they left. If the wife of the room above you wears heels, you can clearly hear her walking around.
Big benefit is that the room has big black out curtains so you can make it dark inside. Als no tapestries in the room (benefit) but wooden floors.

Hallways were quite worn ...

Swimming pools, perfect, just perfect, our kids and myself loved to be around the pool, the aqua park is big + for this hotel.

Food: ok, I have eaten better in hotels, but also eaten far worse...
It's a petty they closed the smaller restaurant to the left as after a couple of days it was only for the tennis players and staff of the UMAG ATP tournament. Main dining room is loud and crowded. I suggest everybody to take the left restaurant or the further one to eat in a more quiet atmosphere. Drinks are OK prices quickly served and bottled wine has a very good price/quality ratio.

Sports classes animation: extremely good for Pilates, Zumba, Power, spinning and all complementary! Also the Lion King show is really good and should not be missed.
Allthough it's very awkward that waiters and people keep walking around during the show so this takes away "the magic". If the stage would have been higher this would have been less a problem. Now you sometimes have problems to see what is happening.

Personnel was very friendly. No issues on this side although i read other things here. I think you are getting treated as you treat them...

Umag itself is nothing special but Novigrad, Porec, Rovinje, Pula, Motovun are really nice to visit. If you have kids also Istralandia water parc is nice to do.

Taking the small train to Umag is nice to do with the kids. See is about 250 metres from the hotel.

Kaufland super market at about 5 km from the hotel.

So all in all we are very happy about our holiday!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room at the end of hallways where less people pass by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ann-Lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Ann-Lie,

first of all, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Umag and for writing this detailed review which will definitely help others in their selection of the hotel in Umag. We appreciate your feedback about the room and the restaurant which will help other travelers to get a clearer picture about our hotel and services that we provide. We are glad to hear that you and your children have loved our pools and the Lion King show. As a family hotel, we are taking special care about pools and entertainment during the day and in the evening and it is always a pleasure to know that this has been recognized by our guests. We have forwarded your nice words about our staff and sports classes to the whole team in order to keep them motivated in providing the high level of service in the future as well.
Thank you once again for your feedback. We would be happy to welcome you again soon in our hotel Sol Garden Istra.

Kind regards,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks in this hotel. On the whole it was a positive experience. Room large and very clean - and cleaned every day. Food was decent enough - lots of choice each evening nicely presented if very similar night after night - biggest complaint was rock hard fruit served each night and morning at breakfast - nectarines like tennis balls, tasteless apples, plums like rocks, kiwis the same even melon on sale at the pool was like turnip. I had to complain after 9 nights but my complaints werent understood by the restaurant manager. Most of there hotel staff were very grumpy and unhelpful -not very friendly especially lady that runs small food and sweet shop -very rude. Exceptions were kids club staff and animation team who were always smiling and saying hello and were very professional - costumes in Lion King show were beautiful. High school musical also excellent - our 7 year old made us watch it again second week it was so good. Special mention to a lovely waiter Marinko - he was the biggest exception -friendly to everyone but was very chatty when he realised we were from Scotland. Get this man training the rest of the guys in customer service well done big man.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are very large and spacious overlooking the pool - noisy during the day but whose in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JuneR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstraturistUmag, Manager at Sol Garden Istra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear JuneR64,

we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Umag and for sharing your opinion with other travelers and with us. We are glad that your overall impression of our hotel was positive and that you were happy with the room. I assure you that we have forwarded your comments about fruit and part of the staff to responsible persons in order to improve the level of our service and avoid such situations in the future. We are very happy that you have recognized the effort of our animation team and that you have enjoyed our evening entertainment program. We hope that you will visit us again soon and take a look at our new show.

Greetings from the whole team and a special one from Marinko,

Maurizia Blažević
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umag
1 mi away
Sol Umag
Sol Umag
#1 of 14 in Umag
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Coral
Melia Coral
#2 of 14 in Umag
694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Stella Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Sipar
Hotel Sol Sipar
#8 of 14 in Umag
43 reviews
1 mi away
Sol Umag Residence
Sol Umag Residence
#9 of 14 in Umag
14 reviews
11.5 mi away
Valamar Club Tamaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Garden Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Garden Istra

Address: Katoro 19, Umag 52470, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Umag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Umag
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umag
#3 Spa Hotel in Umag
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umag
#3 Family Hotel in Umag
Price Range: £64 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Garden Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sol Garden Istra in Umag uniquely couples contemporary design with motifs of authentic Istrian history, creating a hotel of unmatched distinction. With specialised amenities for bicyclists, this hotel is a top bike hotel in Croatia. The hotel also offers fun and activities for the whole family: an outdoor water park, wellness centre and access to the Sport Art centre, which is complete with sports grounds for football, handball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Garden Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Garden Istra Umag
Sol Garden Istra Hotel Umag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing