We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for the value”
Review of Resort Petalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort Petalon
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vrsar
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the value”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Apartment house was very clean, towels changed daily, like nice 4* hotel.

Comments...
...kitchen / living room is incredibly small so 4 adults and 2 youngsters would barely fit in at once and have some reasonable conversation or playing board games etc. (forget about cooking anyway)
...ANTS on the kitchen cabinet (housekeeper left us with a anti-ants spray)
...beach is no-good for little kids (1.5 years in our case) - only concrete and big rocks; we had to walk some 15 minutes to get to very small (=very overcrowded) beach of gravel sand.
...half of the area is prohibited to enter - it is a naturist beach
...pool was OK but although we were at the end of season it was cramped with people (don't forget you pay extra for deckchairs and sunshades)
...we had no view to the sea, on the other hand were very close to get there.
...amenities for little kids are quite weak

Note: Due to bad weather we left earlier without any issues (we paid only for the days which we stayed - booked through booking.com) but for 2 days they were not able to tell us if that is OK or not (after 2 days some supervisor finally came and solved it).

Overall, may be good for short stay without kids. Not so good for families. Oh, and be ready there is not much to do in Vrsar, have your car ready to travel to Porec and Rovinj for sightseeing and good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    33
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I spent 8 days in this resort in A/C twin bed room with balcony and bathroom located in a 2-storey house. The buildings blocks include apartments and rooms and are located over a hill surrounded by pine trees at 10 meters from the sea. The sea area is reachable from the houses with some walking with some stairs.
Buffet breakfast was included and it was rich and variate.
The resort offers 2 swimming pools (with sea water) a bit crowded, a very good pizzeria seaside with honest prices and a good choice of food. There is also a buffet dinner in alternative, and a cafeteria. There is an ATM inside the Reception and a Supermarket is available.
The resort includes also a big camping, two clay Tennis courts, ping pong, game areas and other amenities. The service is very good. All is clean, the rooms are cleaned every day, the apartments once a week. Internet connection is available for a fee in 4 hot spots areas. The resort organizes excursions around Croatia.
The sea area consists on a 5 meters platform along the hill perimeter with rocks and stairs for the sea entrance. Sea is very clean and fresh (around 24 C°). Ideal for air mattresses, flippers and diving mask. It is possible to rent beach umbrellas and sun loungers and also canoa or small motor boats.
There is a good parking inside, close to the rooms. There are German, Austrian, Dutch people mainly with children and some dog, a few of Italian and French people. It is very quiet and friendly. Very recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlovac, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Nice place to rest and to do some sports, only the tennis courts were not so good, but maybe it was because of water reduction at the time we were there! Accommodation is fine but a bit expensive! Not too much things to do for kids and specially teenagers. Food is very good!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sozopol, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Cons:
No wifi or wired internet in the rooms, only one spot near reception
Not a naturist hotel, although located in the Koversada naturist park
Sea entry can be problematic (but compared to other rocky beaches, this one is equipped well with stairs)
Closes for winter too early, September 27th (although the weather is still fantastic)

Pros:
Great location and view
Very relaxing and quiet
Nice pool (2m deep at the deeper end)
Clean modern rooms

The rest is neutral, overall recommended and would stay again unless you are looking for a fully naturist-friendly hotel, then look at Blesicka (was unfortunately closed at the time of our visit).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debilistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

the best vacation ever..nice apartment, excellent food (everything for everyone in unlimited amount), private small beach, very well builded..the only thing missing was a little bit of ˝happening˝ - it could get quite boring at times! but excellent for families!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinetyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Staying in an apartment instead of a hotel is a better way to go. We lived independently and could cook for ourselves. The apartment was just renovated and is a great value and what is the most important thing it was ready at the guaranteed time so we didn’t have to wait to be cleaned as we usually do at other places. We were amazed by the town of Vrsar, it’s a small one and that’s exactly what we needed to rest and enjoy the vacation. It’s a good thing they accept dogs because we brought our pet with us. We have already recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vrsar
0.5 mi away
Resort Belvedere
Resort Belvedere
#1 of 7 in Vrsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.1 mi away
All-inclusive Resort Funtana
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pineta
Hotel Pineta
#4 of 7 in Vrsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Resort Amarin
Resort Amarin
#15 of 23 in Rovinj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vista
Hotel Vista
#3 of 7 in Vrsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Petalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Petalon

Property: Resort Petalon
Address: Petalon 5, Vrsar 52450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Vrsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vrsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Petalon 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The green Mediterranean oasis of Petalon hides under a roof of pine trees, occupying a small peninsula right across from Vrsar, with nice rocky beaches surrounding it. Spend your holidays in style with a great view and a lot to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort Petalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Settlement Petalon Vrsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing