We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest house VULESA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lopud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest house VULESA
Ranked #4 of 9 Lopud B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Best vacation ever! - my wife's words....... I was on Lopud as a kid years ago and I can say now, after this year's experience we will definitely go back again. Kids loved it! Vulesa apartments are definitely great place to stay. Our room was nice and clean + we had A/C and Wi Fi...In front of the apartments there is a nice terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast, coffee… Also, you will be on great place to watch extraordinary sunsets. Location is also great. It's only 5 min from the main route and it's basically on the way to spectacular sandy beach Sunj. Our kids (5 and 10 years old boys) were playing in the shallow water all day long. Also, there are 2 nice restaurants on the beach. Our hosts Maja, her daughter Ana and Ana's daughter Mirna were absolutely fantastic in all the ways. Great and pleasant people with perfect sense for tourists and their needs. I would definitely highly recommend this place.

If you are looking for nice relaxed vacation with no cars around, beautiful nature, beaches and pleasant, nice people - look no further - This is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sava K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Lakes, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is an apartment in a large farmhouse built of stone. The location is perfect as it affords easy access to the port, shops, tourist office, ATM, farmers market, yet it is outside of the town of Lopud with its hustle and bustle, and about 1/3 of the way (pleasant walk) to the beach of Šunj (pronounced [shoon'] with soft "n" like in "new".

The bedroom had plenty of space, the bathroom was clean; all appliances were in good working order. The kitchenette gave us a great degree of independence. We made our own breakfast and light supper every day eating out at lunch and making lunch the major meal of the day. One day we did not feel like going anywhere for lunch, and made a wonderful meal of local vegetables and herbs, fresh and delicious (we bought them at the farmers market).
The door of the apartment opens into a patio, shaded by old grapevines. There are tables and chairs on the patio - a wonderful place for a meal or simple relaxation at siesta time, when it is too hot to do anything else.
The house has a roof terrace that affords beautiful views of the bay and monastery with its bell tower. We loved sipping our tea and watching the sunset there.
The hosts are three generations of women - Maja, her daughter Ana, and Ana's daughter Mirna. We corresponded with Mirna, but did not get to see her as she was on her honeymoon at the time of our trip. Ana met and greeted us in town, when we arrived, and took care of us while we were staying on the island. Maja is all about hard work, dignity and resilience – an admirable type of women of old Europe. She does not speak any English, but we were able to communicate a little thanks to our efforts to learn Croatian, and our prior knowledge of other Slavic languages.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kloobok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton, england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was a superb place to stay on Lopud, around 5–10 min walk from the main beaches near the port and en route to the best beach on the island (another 15 min or so by foot). That is still quite a trek in hot weather on hilly terrain but there is a cheap taxi service which runs right past the door. The guesthouse was very comfortable and clean with a fairly spacious air-conditioned bedroom. There is a shared patio area outside and the views from the property, particularly at sunset, are wonderful. The daughter of the owner greeted us at the port and made it easy to find. Her elderly mother lives at the property and, as we found out, can be very useful in the rare event you get one of Croatia's weird, double bodied wasp–type insects in the apartment. Apparently they're harmless but we were taking no chances. Casting aside her walking stick, the owner hunted down and swatted the beast (imagine a miniature Apache helicopter in your bathroom) with impressive accuracy leaving us to feel rather pathetic! A very enjoyable stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I was here in summer 2009. and i have great memories..sometimes i like to escape from everything and everyone and this is a perfect place for it!! I enjoyed in origin natural..sea is warm and beautiful and beaches are great..especially one called Šunj which is spectacular and so near apartment!! I ll be back soon :)) Denis Zagreb

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Very charming dalmatian stone house with two newly renovated apartments for 2-3 persons.

We stayed there for the third time and know both apartments. The bigger one is perfect for families with 1-2 children, the smaller one is a 2-persons-apartment but there is enough space for a baby bed which can be booked for free.

Both apartements are well-equipped (air condition, tv, hair dryer, towels, etc.)

You have wonderful sea views from both apartments and a big, partly-covered terrace belongs to both apartments where you can enjoy your meals well protected from sun and rain. Further there is a sunny terrace equipped with sunbeds and parasols, overlooking the flower garden. On top of the house is another sunny terrace with a gorgeous sea view. Perfect place for romantic sunset hours...

Nice garden with plenty of flowers and mandarine trees. Our one year old child especially loved to watch the small turtles...

Another big plus for the guest house is its location on the street Sunj which leads directly to the beautiful sandy beach Sunj on the other side of the island.

The owners, especially Mrs. Ana, are lovely and always want you to feel comfortable.

We will surely come back next summer!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopud
0.3 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#2 of 3 in Lopud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glavovic
Hotel Glavovic
#1 of 9 in Lopud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Birimisa
Villa Birimisa
#1 of 11 in Lopud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments Cervelin
Apartments Cervelin
#5 of 9 in Lopud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest house VULESA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest house VULESA

Property: Guest house VULESA
Address: Od Shunja 15, Lopud 20222, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Lopud
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lopud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family house Vulesa (apartments 3 star) is located in the street that goes from place to beach Sunj.Both apartments are located on the first floor.There is apartment for 3 persons and apartments for 2 +1 persons.Each is equipped with air conditioning,free Wi-Fi,satellite television,kitchen and bathroom with shower.The windows of both apartments offers beautiful views of the bay of Lopud and also from the roof terrace.In front is shady terrace with deck chairs.The house is about 500 meters from the center of Lopud and just 100 meters from the promenade and sandy beach.The beach and coves Sunj on the other side of the island it is necessary to stretch your legs and enjoy a walk of 1500 meters over the hill. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing