We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in an aquamarine sea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lopud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Lafodia opened again in June 2011 after a complete refurb - and it is fabulous! The service was excellent and all staff were friendly, even the cleaners polishing all the shiny bits! Our room was spacious with an enormous bed, and the air conditioning ensured a comfortable night. The balcony gave us a beautiful view of the bay and small town of Lopud.. The pool area and bar were always clean and tidy, and the hotel beach towels were a bonus.The worst thing about the hotel was the food, but it wasn't too bad, just not very hot! We spent most days on the beach across the island - walking distance or a golf cart ride away. The hotel beach is pebbly. There are local shops, bars and restaurants, all at reasonable prices.There are walks around the island where you might see one of the non venomous snakes, but do not trust the distances on the sign posts - they are all rather optimistic! There isn't very much to do on the island, just enjoy the peace and the sun. We loved the beach bar at Sunj beach. Dubrovnik is a ferry ride away, and worth a visit of course! The best bit was the glorious warm blue sea.

Room Tip: We would chose the pool view side of the west wing to get the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 6babymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

Arrived 3rd July for 1 week stay.. Transfers from airport via coach and boat swift. Rooms excellent being clean and spacious. Take an iron, coffee and teabags (unless you like the herbal type). We stayed b+b as we like to get out of an evening, though by all eccounts evening meals good, breakfast choice good. Plenty of eateries within strolling distance. If you want a lounger get up early with the `you know who` and pop a towel or two out. Day trip to Dubrovnik old town OK if you like that sort of thing. To sum up...if you are a couple and want to chill, this is an ideal location. If you are after nightclub action stay mainland. Go for B wing 6th floor with a pool view so you get the harbour front and mainland view. Sun is on balcony 6am `till noon then shade all afternoon and evening. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LeedsLad66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Firstly Lopud Island is truly stunning. The sea is gin clear and after the usual 5 seconds of pain was lovely to swim in. There are a few sea urchins in the rocks so be careful. Standing on one of these guys will spoil your holiday. The hotel beach was disappointing. Loungers without cushions, not good. However Sanj beach was worth the 1.5k walk. There is a naturist section of the beach (for those that are interested) It was very well "policed" by the lounger/shade man. He almost demanded that you strip off as you pass the sign. A couple of bars serving really good not very dear food and local lager served in iced glasses. It is up hill for a lot of the way there but the way back it was very step for the first bit but not long before you are going down hill. There is a service of electric golf carts for those that can not be bothered.
Now for the hotel Lafodia........
Very recently "made over" (June 4th 2011completed) Very clean. Food served buffet but was good but with very few veg. Sweets always went very quickly and not replenished very quickly. Rooms a bit to high tech. Fancy light switches that took some working out. Bed was huge but hard. Maid service every day. Bar in the hotel was very very expensive and no atmosphere but the bar staff were very friendly. Pool was small but lovely and clean. Unfortunately there was no dress code for evening meals. So shorts, flip flops and vests were allowed. Surprising, considering the hotel is trying to make it very swish. Overall 8/10.
If you do go to Lupud you really are missing out if you don't go to Dubrovnik for the day.
Hope this review helps.

Regards Cathy and Richard from Cambridgeshire

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RichardandCathyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We loved the Lafodia Hotel, the view from our balocony was gorgeous and the room very clean and modern. Lovely terraces and seating areas in the hotel grounds with the same fabulous views.
Free beds and umbrellas on the beach which was less than a 5 minute walk away.
Quiet in the evenings, but thats what we liked about it, a traffic free stroll along the lovely sea front to one of the little bars in the bay.
There is no pharmacy so don't forget to take essentials and also sun lotion. Kettles in room but only tea ( mostly herbal ) provided, so would advise to take own coffee/tea as nowhere to buy it on island

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LizSRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My wife and I and another couple have just returned from 7 days at the Lafodia Hotel on Lopud Island and are delighted to say that the Hotel is very good indeed since it has been refurbished. It would certainly be a 4* rating in the UK and with some small changes could become a 5*. I will explain why later.

The boat trip from Dubrovnik takes approximately 50 minutes and the sea was nice and calm. You are dropped off at the hotel’s jetty and the cases etc. are taken to reception for you. Check-in is quick and efficient with very helpful and polite staff.

Our rooms were on the 4th floor and there are two lifts to take you there. The room was very very good indeed, with a balcony overlooking the pool and sea. The furnishing in the room and bathroom are of the top quality and the shower is very powerful with lots of running hot water at all times. The bed was a king size double and we found it very comfortable. The room also has a wall TV with access to many channels including British. There is a kettle and cups etc for hot drinks, but you only have tea NOT coffee. They do not supply coffee. There are both bathroom and beach towels supplied each day. There is also a safe in the room.

The dining room is large enough to accommodate all residents, and again is very well furnished with a large balcony overlooking the bay towards the village. Breakfast has a good selection of both hot and cold food to suit most appetites. We stayed “half board” so our other meal was diner. This is from 7pm to 9.30pm but there seems to be a problem on how they serve the food. The selection of both hot and cold dishes is very good, BUT the hot food was usually warm and we had to ask for it to be microwaved on a number of occasions. I think the problem is that they assume everyone will be eating at 7pm as when we went to eat at 8pm most of the tables had been used. They usually serve the food from two separate areas in the dining room to save queuing, with the salads and puddings in the middle, but after 8pm they close one end of the serving areas which meant that the remaining area dishes were often empty and cold. Please do not think that this was a big problem for us, but the hotel is keen to know where they could improve so hopefully our criticism is constructive for them.

The service in the dining room was excellent and praise should be given to all concerned for their friendly manner to the guests.

The reason we have said the hotel is 4* rating in our opinion is that it lacks a few things – a separate comfortable lounge area with comfortable chairs, a more intimate bar area without TV screens and music being played all the time (Not too loud), a larger swimming pool to stop the “dreaded “towel” booking people arriving by the pool at 7.30am to book their sun beds. (How sad!)

There is a small beach for the hotel very close to the hotel outside the front on the left-hand side, with a pebble beach but sandy in the sea. Again towel bookers were in place and one man booked his sun bed every morning and never actually used it to lie on during the day but he did get cross when we took his stuff off it so others could use it. Ah! The joys of sun beds!!

The village is an easy walk at night from the hotel and has some lovely restaurants and small bars without loud music. There is one bar about half way on the left-hand side which is very dark and has sand on the floor and deck chairs and serves cocktails – be warned, it is expensive and a cocktail is at least £7 each, do not fall into the trap we did by ordering from his board.

There is a sandy beach on the other side of the island which you can walk to, but the walk is up a hill and then down to the beach, or visa versa on the way back. Not pleasant when it’s 35 – 40 degrees. You can use a golfing kart but the charge approximately £2.50 per person each way so by the end of 5 days you will have spent at least £100 for 4 of you if you use it. A driver is supplied.

Please do not get the wrong impression about the Lafodia Hotel as a vast amount of money has been spent on refurbishing it to such a high quality, or Lopud Island, they are both wonderful places and we will certainly be going back there. The Croatian people are charming and are so friendly to you and want to learn more about how they can improve their Country for tourists in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and sea view and are very well furnished etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Tommolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We took a chance booking as the hotel was being refurbished at the time and we were worried that it might not be ready in time but that wasn't the case. The rooms were exactly as depicted in the brochure. They were clean and very comfortable and the service provided by all the staff was excellent. The hotel has it's own travel agency - if you are looking for excursions their service is excellent, and only for hotel guest so no endless pick ups from scores of hotels. My advice would be to go B&B and not full board. Breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice however on the only night we had dinner in the hotel the meal wasn't 4 star standard and on chatting to other guests, it didn't improve much. Lopud Island has several restaurants and cafes with fantastic food, especially fresh fish and seafood. Be warned however that some only accept cash payments and as Lopud is a small island it relies on the ferry service from the main land which delivers one load of cash on a Monday so the ATM is often empty by the weekend! The island itself is beautiful and tranquil, with a fantastic beach a 20 minute (but uphill) walk, although there are golf cart tranfers available if you don't fancy the exercise. Don't go to Lopud if you're looking to party as everywhere is closed by around midnight, but if you're looking to relax in beautiful surroundings then I can thoroughly reccommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel was spotless. Great furnishings in rooms, great bedding. Spotlessly clean. "Funky & Fun". Tea and coffe making facilities in room. (Take your own suppliers as the tea may be 'herbal' and they don't provide coffee!!)
Pool/beach towels changed daily. Great toiletries in room. Could not fualt it!!

Food - disappointing. Service in restaurant. ~ Attentive to the wrong areas. Should be re-making tables for guests coming in for dinner after the 7 pm start. (Not everyone wants to eat as soon as the doors open (with the Russians). Great that they serve water with the meals offering us still or sparkling - would like to have had the option to order and pay for beer/wine. Near the end of the first week before we saw that this an option. Food not very warm and not very exciting.

Location of hotel was great - pool area with nice comfortable beach beds and no need to get up at dawn to reserve one was a bonus. The hotel beach was pebbly, but again no problem getting a bed. Or you can walk to the other side of the island to get to a lovely sandy cove (very popular with the boating fraternity). 1,000 m walk to beach 20 minutes at a brisk pace - but be warned it is uphill going!!! There were electric 'golf buggy' transfers available should the walk be too strenuous. Be warned part of this beach is frequented by nudists. Quite amusing to watch the expressions of the new-comers when they realised that there were completely nude people walking in and out of the sea alongside themselves!! No problem if one wanted to go 'native' and the other preferred no too. Beach beds and parasols available on the beach 25k for each bed and parasol. PLUS great lunch-time food and drink available.

Easy to get a local ferry to Dubrovnik (took 50 mins/ cost 23k) and from the port it was a quick 10 minute bus journey to the old city (bus no. 1 or 1A) You can get a ticket from the tobacco booth near the bus stop for 10k or buy one on the bus bus for 12k . Alternatively a walk of about 25 minutes took you to the entrance to the old city.

Only 1 shop on Lopud which wasn't for souvinirs so don't rely on buying any essentials when you arrive.

A great tranquil spot no cars on the island - only the water and the beach to keep kids entertained. Great sunsets and a great place to chill.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AntonBritsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopud
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
432 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
6.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
859 reviews
6.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,948 reviews
16 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafodia Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafodia Hotel & Resort

Address: Obala I.Kuljevana 51, Lopud 20222, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Lopud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lopud
Price Range: £77 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lafodia Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the city’s bustle, surrounded by sea and palm trees, Hotel Lafodia is the perfect place if you’re looking for relax in an exclusive location.This four stars hotel has become a byword for peaceful holidays amongst the clear waters that surround the Lopud Island which is better known as "The Island in the middle". You will be amused to be in such a nature and peaceful landscape, experiencing unforgettable moments of harmony and tranquility while relaxing completely. Wrapped in comfort, soothed by the sound of the waves, enchanted by the reflection of the sun on the sea……this is your holiday at Hotel Lafodia. No motor vehicles are allowed on the island to disturb its peace and tranquility so….. just forget about the noise and traffic of everyday city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lafodia Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafodia Hotel And Resort
Lafodia Hotel Lopud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing