We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lopud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We actually travelled here in Oct 2012, but never got around to writing review.

No negatives whatsover......

Stunning hotel, location & holiday.

Extremely high standard of hotel in every department.............

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SvyYorkshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Lafodia was the perfect place to end our honeymoon. The hotel has a great staff, beautiful rooms and an amazing infinity pool. The breakfast is fantastic, including unlimited prosseco! Lopud island is quiet and romantic with beautiful hikes and beaches. There are no cars (only golf cars) and everything is walking distance. Lafodia is the perfect place to relax and feel pampered. Highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank boricuainzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Many guests appear to stay at this hotel for extended periods, but we stayed just one night, on a daytrip out of Dubrovnik. Getting the hotel was pretty easy -- we took a ferry from Dubrovnik and walked to the hotel upon arrival from the ferry. It was about a 10-15 minute walk, right along the water (it does seem the hotel also operates golf carts for arriving guests).

We visited in October, shortly before the hotel was due to close for the season. The property was VERY quiet -- we hardly saw any other guests, save for breakfast. This had its advantages (finding seats at the pool was easy, you did not wait for elevators, etc.), but occasionally gave the place an eerie vibe (i.e., NO ONE in the bar, sitting in the lobby chairs, etc.). The hotel plays music in all public spaces (lobby, bar, outdoor bar by the sea, etc.), and the music often struck us as VERY loud (i.e., so loud it was difficult to read or concentrate on conversation) -- perhaps it seemed extra loud because there were barely any bodies to help absorb the sound.

Design-wise, the hotel is lovely. The look is very modern and the entire property is well-done, from the many outdoor spaces and nice infinity pool to the guest rooms. The property had a fresh feeling, and the decor worked very well for the beachy location. The bed was of average comfort -- and it would have been nice to have more than one pillow per person -- but sufficed for the night. I found it odd that our room included a pair of slippers for each guest, but not a robe. The hotel did not provide conditioner with the in-room bath products; I would have expected this. Each room has a water view and a nice balcony; we really enjoyed both features. The island of Lopud is gorgeous, and the hotel takes full advantage of the view, in both its guest rooms and public spaces!

At the top of the staircase behind the pool, the hotel has an outdoor fitness center. However, no aerobic equipment (treadmill, elliptical, etc.) is included--just some weight-lifting equipment. We were both excited at the potential for an outdoor workout with a great view--it would be nice if they'd add aerobic machines.

The hotel has its own small beach, with easy access into the Adriatic. It was fine, but there's a better beach (i.e., larger, sandy) on the other side of the island. It's an easy walk, about 30 min. across the island.

We opted not to have dinner at the hotel, instead going to a lovely restaurant elsewhere on the island (there are but a few restaurants and most are within walking distance of the hotel). We did grab a slice of pizza for a quick lunch from the hotel's bakery, which you reach before coming upon the guest room tower. The employee in the bakery seemed to lack training and failed to heat the pizza in the microwave before serving it to us. The hotel's breakfast buffet was outstanding--a wide selection of hot dishes, meats and cheeses, breads, and a gorgeous fruit platter. There was ample seating both inside and outside.

Since we were only on the island for one night, we did not organize any excursions. However, many were advertised on the flat-screen TVs around the property, so it appeared that a guest staying for a longer period would (assuming willingness to spend the money) have no problem filling days with trips to other islands, the old city of Dubrovnik, evening cruises, etc.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay--would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel only has 4 stars however I am unsure why it has everything you would expect in a 5 star establishment and then some. The infinity pool is absolutely beautiful and the meals we ate in the hotel restaurants were both of a high standard

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor while searching for somewhere to go in Croatia - I'm so glad I did! Slight panic when I realised I had to arrange transfer from the mainland but I contacted the hotel who were very helpful arranging this. Beautiful hotel, rooms, restaurant, setting, I could go on and on but staying on a traffic-free island is the best tonic for anyone needed a good relax. We ate at the hotel mainly but tried a couple of the local restaurants too which were very friendly and served varying quality of food from pizza to freshly caught fish. Not the cheapest holiday but I've already recommended it to many people.

Room Tip: Rooms on outside (not facing pool) are quieter but all have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMT911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lafodia Hotel from the 21st Sept for 7 nights. This is a lovely hotel on what we feel is a beautiful island. On the positive side we found the hotel very clean. Our room (418) had a good view of the bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the food served at the hotel's 'La Baja' bar and grill very good.

However, unfortunately we found the food in the hotel's main restaurant appalling and wished we had bed and breakfast only instead of half board. Having lunch at this restaurant is not worth bothering with as the selection of food available is very poor. One day we attended for lunch we were the only couple in the restaurant for the first hour, and then only one other couple turned up. That particular lunch was an awful experience although we laughed at it at the time in disbelief. We were eating our starter, a huge Caesar salad. However, before my wife had got half way through her salad, the waiter turns up with the main courses. Instead of taking the main courses away, he moves my wife's Caesar salad to one side and places the main course in front of her. Interestingly, the only thing to go with the veal we had ordered apart from the ridiculous boiled cauliflower was more salad.

The evening menu is often incomplete. For example, countless times we chose something from the menu only to be told the item we'd chosen was different from that listed on the menu. Despite the restaurant issues we'd still recommend staying at this hotel, but only for B&B.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Colinr61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband found this gem of a hotel just off the coast of Dubrovnik. It's a very, very quiet island and a beautiful hotel. We had a great view of the water from our room. Staying on an island does add more travel logistics and unfortunately the hotel's website is vague on how to get to the island. While we were there, we found the hotel has a travel agency and they can arrange transport for you. I would recommend that you check with them on the best way to get to the hotel (especially if you are not booking through a travel agency). There is a local ferry that runs 4 times a day (can be found by searching the intranet). The plus side is the boat ride into Dubrovnik is very scenic. The hotel also has their own boat so there is lots of travel flexibility.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopud
6.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
6.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,911 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,010 reviews
6.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#2 of 2 in Lopud
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafodia Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafodia Hotel & Resort

Address: Obala I.Kuljevana 51, Lopud 20222, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Lopud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lopud
Price Range: £74 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lafodia Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the city’s bustle, surrounded by sea and palm trees, Hotel Lafodia is the perfect place if you’re looking for relax in an exclusive location.This four stars hotel has become a byword for peaceful holidays amongst the clear waters that surround the Lopud Island which is better known as "The Island in the middle". You will be amused to be in such a nature and peaceful landscape, experiencing unforgettable moments of harmony and tranquility while relaxing completely. Wrapped in comfort, soothed by the sound of the waves, enchanted by the reflection of the sun on the sea……this is your holiday at Hotel Lafodia. No motor vehicles are allowed on the island to disturb its peace and tranquility so….. just forget about the noise and traffic of everyday city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafodia Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafodia Hotel And Resort
Lafodia Hotel Lopud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing