We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back or recommend to anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lopud
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would not go back or recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I don't want to start negative so will start a positive!

A nicely situated hotel with a fantastic view, and staff are very friendly...(.apart from excursion woman)

Faults:
1) we went half board! Breakfast had lots of choice.. Dinner didn't! Only 8 options, 4 starters and 4 mains, in the week I was there not one came out even close to hot or warm... Very poor selection too!

2) we went on a excursion to 3 snorkelling sights...yet we only went to 2 (due to weather apparently but only told this at end of day on our way back), and we were told they provide all equipment! THEY DIDNT!! So we didn't see anything and could only swim, they did nothing to help.....excursion woman was useful!

3) they changed us rooms during stay, not the worst crime in the world but still a pain!

4) FAECES washed up on the beach! Although this is due to which way wind blows so not the hotels fault it still happened!

5) check you payed everything.. We did it all online yet they didn't take half board payment so got that shock of extra £300 on top of normal payments at end of week. We suspect they have double charged us but this is being determined at moment! As well as mini bar costs we didn't use!

6) we went on an evening excursion to Dubrovnik at night! 7pm till 11.30pm. Yet our boat was so slow we didn't get there till 8.30.... So killed any time we might of wanted there! (They send 2 boats other boat was a speed boat and got there in 45 min....we then had to get back to the dock early to get on this boat back, luckily we did, those that arrived back at after 11.15pm had to get on slower boat)

For what you pay... Not worth it!!

7) sun loungers by the pool, due to shape of hotel and the shadow it creates you can only have sun either in the morning or afternoon! Not possible to move as all loungers are taken and not enough room to move loungers!

8) rooms were not cleaned, we had left over phone chargers, half drink bottles of water, empty packets of crisps on our arrival.

9) hotel entertainment was shocking!! Truly awful!! Although waiters etc were fantastic, great bunch of guys and girls!!

A poorly run hotel, would not go back and definitely not recommend to anyone!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank pdj10uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra S, Proprietario at Lafodia Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear pdj10uk,

we are deeply sorry you didn't enjoyed your stay with us and that you do not recommend our hotel to anyone.
Especially regarding Lafodia Adventure excursions, as it states in the program we have written that due to safety reason we can be free to change the program in case of bad weather, as it was that day.
During Dubrovnik by night we have sent 2 boats because we had many guests and honestly both of the boats were doing same speed, we were not sending speed boat for sure.
Anyway I would kindly suggest you to let us know when you are in hotel if you have any problem, in order for us to solve it as soon as possible,

Regards

Alessandra Severi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    353
    71
    33
    12
See reviews for
172
660
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great location
Great view
Great Island !!!
Too bad the staff is not friendly.
Too bad to pay for everything ! EVEN NON MINERAL WATER ! (Never seen anywhere In the World)
Too bad the SPA and inside swiming pool doesn't exist as it is sold.
Too bad the food at breakfast is ALLWAYS the same.
Too bad the dinner food is not good.
Too bad one of the waiter told us "Sorry but you're not alone"
I don't understand the Tripadvisor Award !!!
TOO BAD !!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hervemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra S, Proprietario at Lafodia Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Hervemart,

thank you for your review and we are sorry that for you everything was "too bad...".
I don't understand why you have found the SPA "too bad" since we didn't open it yet...The SPA will be inaugurated next season starting from 01.05.2015 and we never told that we have an indoor pool, please let us know where you found this promotion in order for us to correct it.

Thank you anyway for your time.
Kind regards

Alessandra Severi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The view from the hotel balcony every morning was to die for - Lopud is a beautiful, idyllic island with no cars and a truly blissful laid back vibe.

In stark contrast the hotel looked a bit like an ocean liner had crashed into the landscape - large, loud and ultra modern - catering for the high end of the package market with a large degree of success, Rooms were fabulous, facilities top notch but I was disappointed by the quality of the meal service in the evenings - I wished I'd have stayed half board to taken advantage of the fabulous local restaurants.

I will definitely return to Lopud but probably not to the Lafodia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have just returned from a fabulous week at Lafodia. From start to finish it was fantastic. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the views are breathtaking. Perfect if you want a quiet relaxing break. Everything is withing walking distance and the hotel offers everything you need to make your holiday wonderful from great food and friendly staff to a range of excursions and great facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Brasov, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Before i start going off i`d like to say the hotel look extremely well build. The attention to detail was really high grade. The rooms are equipped with 3-400E showerheads, which is the first mistake imo since like you will read below, they will take the skin of you in order to recoup their investment!

The trip was a gift from a good friend because he accidentally booked the room and canceled after just 8 minutes. This was to late for lafodia, and they refused to refund. After mails/calls and threatening to give them a bad name they finally agreed to "show good will" and let us book another time. So we did, and they said cannot do 5 nights, will do 4 and give you 1 dinner for the extra night.

All fine until we decided to take that dinner. First no one knew where we could eat since there was a fancy restaurant and a normal one. After walking half the hotel back and forward we ate 3 out of the 4 allowed dishes, ordered 2 wine glasses, 2 cola and 2 jaegermeisters. After the dinner, we were appalled to receive a check!

It turns out the dinner was just the food. Now you say this is normal. I say the drinks that were ~20Euro (the bill) should also have been covered. The 1 night i agreed to exchange for the cheep dinner was 250E... no way on earth was this the value of my food!
At the checkout i wanted to speak to the manager who of course refused to cut the 20E off my bill saying that dinners never include drinks. Basically he wanted to rip me off to my face saying that the 80E dinner we had was in fact 250E (and not even at the fancy restaurant!). Only after proving that WiFi was not working he decided to cave in. A hotel where you have to fight for 20E is not a 4 star Hotel!

Then let's talk wifi. It says it is free, but it works only at the reception and in 1 corner of the room. Unless you are prepared to walk around with your laptop to get reception, forget reading something in the morning or on their private beach.

Speaking of private beach. This being a 4 star hotel, i went down to sunbathe to find that the chairs were free but the pillows on them were not (and since they were cheep plastic seats, pillows were mandatory if you wanted to feel somewhat ok). So they charge me for a freaking pillow at a 4 star hotel? I expected this from 2 and 3 stars!

Moving along to jaccuzi. Wow, you say.. let's go.. NO sir, you have to pay with quarters. Every quarter is 5 minutes. All well, i`ll have 2 (10 minutes). This is not possible.. minimum 30 minutes...

So you see this is no 4 star Hotel, it is a hotel that will charge you for absolutely everything they can. If you have money to throw away, sure, by all means, but if you are a person with principles that wants to be treated fairly at a place where you pay a lot of money, then this is NOT the place for you. Also this is not the place for couples as personnel will enter your room uninvited even after you specifically asked not to be disturbed. They don't care!

It is a shame, since the view and the possibilities are endless, but then again if you spend millions on the hotel, you cannot afford to hire people with negotiation skills.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tudor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra S, Proprietario at Lafodia Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Tudor,

thank you for the mail. We are really surprised for your review because we were sending to you all details before you came in hotel and we were trying to be collaborative as much as we can. Your friend made a NOT REFUNDABLE reservation through booking.com, that means to pay in advance the full amount for a better price, in case of no show the refund is not allowed.
We have given you the opportunity anyway to come instead of him keeping the reservation available and of course conditions in august when you came were different than ones from july, so you can't compare like you did the rates. We gave you also the possibility to have a free dinner in Scarlet but drinks as normally are not included, as in every other hotel, no matter the stars.
I have to say that you are the first one saying that we are not a 4stars hotel, usually every guest is saying that we could reach 5 stars qualification, but anyway this remain your opinion.

Thank you for dedicating time in writing this interview.
Regards

Alessandra Severi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent four nights at the Lafodia and loved every minute.

There are no cars on Lopud; we weren't aware of this beforehand, so it came as a bit of a surprise to find no taxis on the quayside when we arrived by ferry. So we walked to the hotel, on the other side of the bay. It took ten minutes, so was no great hardship. We later discovered that the hotel has electric buggies to transport your luggage, if you make arrangements in advance.

We loved the hotel. It was built in the Communist era and consists of two identical large buildings, which together gives the impression of an ocean liner jutting out of the hillside. It was completely renovated three years ago by an Italian group at a cost of around €40 million. It is now very impressive and bang up-to-date.

Check-in was smooth; the receptionist was cool, but very efficient. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a junior suite. I have to say that if I ever stay there again, I will try to book the same room. It was on the corner of one of the buildings, with a balcony wrapping round both sides. Views across the bay and towards the neighbouring islands in the mail on the mainland were breathtaking.

The bedroom was beautifully equipped, with a walk-in closet and a large bathroom.

We had breakfast in the hotel every day. This was more than adequate. Slight criticisms were that the orange juice was reconstituted, not fresh, and the coffee came from a machine and was rather watery. Otherwise, there was a huge choice and the quality was extremely good.

We did not eat any other meals in the hotel during your stay, because there were some excellent restaurants nearby. However, we enjoyed evening drinks at the quayside bar overlooking the bay.

We loved Lafodia and will return and will certainly stay again.

In truth, it fell slightly short of five-star status.. However, because we enjoyed the holiday so much, and because the ambience was so wonderful, I am awarding it five.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite for the wrap-round balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willow3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra S, Proprietario at Lafodia Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Prospero,

thank you for dedicating time for writing this review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Lafodia Sea Resort. I must say that unfortunately due to a communal decision we are not allowed to drive cars along the center of the village, but we can provide transfer from airport or from wherever you prefer to hotel, you don't have to think about luggages or else because we will manage everything for you. I hope we will have chance to have you again here as our guests.

Kind regards

Alessandra Severi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goring-by-sea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lopud is quite busy in the peak months but compared to other resorts very laid back and quiet. Lafodia is well-managed and the facilities are designed so that all age groups are catered for but do not expect lively nightlife.....it is a place to relax!
We are early birds and got down to breakfast by 8 when it was virtually empty so plenty of choice and we sat outside overlooking the bay. The buffet is substantial and set us up for the day.
We were on a B and B basis for which we were grateful - we were able to explore all the restaurants which vary in price and provision. Our favourites were La Villa - halfway round the bay, set back all in the open air under a huge trellis of greenery. This does amazing steaks. If you prefer fish try Peggys - walk almost to the end of the bay and turn right past the cash machine, past the mini market and it is up the hill a little - amazing views from the terrace. You can watch them cook your fish (which you choose personally) to order on the outside grill. Probably our favourite though was Robinzoon - take the road to Sunj beach - first track on the right past the bakery and ask for the lamb special - I won't spoil it for you by explaining exactly what you get but there was so much lamb we couldn't finish it! Best to reserve at all of these places - they get busy.
Ice creams are amazing - cheapest (by a third) are those at the other end of the bay rather than at the Exquisite bakery.
Do go to Sunj beach - if you are reasonably fit it's about 30 minutes walk - or you can cheat and get a buggy! The little path going down to the beach - which the buggies cannot use - is charming. Through the woods so very cool and completely unspoilt. Go early - if you get there by 9 you will have it to yourself for almost an hour. Wonderful sandy sloping beach - great for children although lots of boats and kayaks find it so it gets busier as the day goes on.
A visit to Dubrovnik is a must. We did our own thing and got tickets for the ferry at the Post Office (schedules available at hotel reception). It takes about an hour. Get a bus 1a, 1b or 3 to the Old Town and do a tour of the city walls. It costs about £10 each but well worth it - the views are amazing. Take water - there are little cafe/drink stops round the walls but they are quite pricy.
Oh and don't do it when it's 35 degrees :o)
Beach is lovely at the Lafodia - again if you get there early you can have your pick of the beds. Stones are tiny and don't hurt the feet and there is sand after about 10 feet. It drops sharply though so not suitable for little ones unless closely supervised.
Private transfers to the island are not cheap but worth every penny - very glamorous to have your own speedboat - and it cuts the crossing time right down.
We loved Lafodia - and the island of Lopud. We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alibone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopud
6.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,781 reviews
6.6 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,262 reviews
6.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,967 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafodia Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafodia Hotel & Resort

Property: Lafodia Hotel & Resort
Address: Obala I.Kuljevana 51, Lopud 20222, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Lopud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lopud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lafodia Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the city’s bustle, surrounded by sea and palm trees, Hotel Lafodia is the perfect place if you’re looking for relax in an exclusive location.This four stars hotel has become a byword for peaceful holidays amongst the clear waters that surround the Lopud Island which is better known as "The Island in the middle". You will be amused to be in such a nature and peaceful landscape, experiencing unforgettable moments of harmony and tranquility while relaxing completely. Wrapped in comfort, soothed by the sound of the waves, enchanted by the reflection of the sun on the sea……this is your holiday at Hotel Lafodia. No motor vehicles are allowed on the island to disturb its peace and tranquility so….. just forget about the noise and traffic of everyday city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lafodia Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafodia Hotel And Resort
Lafodia Hotel Lopud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing