We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living Aloha”

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
Ranked #7 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill is a casual local's joint featuring fresh seafood, steaks, pasta and a variety of salads at affordable prices. The restaurant (named after our daughter) is the culmination of much hard work and the dedication of ourselves and our crew. We invite you to be our guests and experience great food and old fashioned hospitality, island style. Angie and Paul—Proprietors of your Local Ohana Grill. Established 2004.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Living Aloha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The food always surprises me each time we go. Always a little twist in the flavored and the wait staff treats you like you are the only ones there when the place is packed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BucketList22_2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,550
    511
    161
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phippsburg, Maine
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great unpretentious bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

They continue with excellent food prepared well in a friendly Hawaiian atmosphere. We returned after a few years absence and found all that we expected. They are very attentive to friendly service and stick to a modestly limited menu that they execute very well. Fun atmosphere. Unpretentious. A delightful place for a relaxing evening meal. And the desserts may cause you to drool- limited but well done. A very good choice for a casual meal in a relaxing Hawaiian atmosphere

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itivdleq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The sea food risotto was excellent. The others in our party were pretty happy with their selections. The service was outstanding, cheerful and helpful. Believe it or not we got a bad bottle of Decoy, by duckhorn but the manager agree dead with us and brought another bottle and it was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coarsegold93614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
187 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“friendly, authentic Hawaiian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a great lunch at Jackie Rey's open air restaurant. The servers were very friendly in this busy place. The fish was very good and the portions were large. Casual place with music at night. A lot of locals present, so you know it is good! Just south of downtown Kona

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific all the way around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We got here just after they opened, and the place was already filling up fast! Very lovely hostess asked if we had a reservation (which looks to be a good idea), but was able to seat us without one. Good thing we did get there early, as it filled up quick!

The service was excellent, very quick even with the amount of volume, and everything ordered was delicious and delivered as ordered; seafood, chicken, desert were all top notch. Almost had to refrain my friend from licking his plate clean!

Be sure to put this on your to eat list, and don't wait until your last day to go here; you'll thank me later.

Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing