We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting”
Review of Huggo's Restaurant

Huggo's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Setting”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We wandered down from our condo to Hugos.
We were seated right at the waters edge.
The setting is lovely at night with the torches burning and the waves laping the shore.
We shared our meals so no to miss out on what the other was eating.
The baby back ribs were delicious, the garlic prawns were plentiful. The oysters were very small, not quiet what we are used to in AustraliaThe fritso mitso was ok, but im not a real fan of fried food.
A couple of cocktails and a few beers. All up $102 including tip.
Service was good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPixieLix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    352
    141
    62
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Kona”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

There's actually two parts I guess, one casual, feet in the sand and one fancier. We loved them both. Went to lunch at the casual one and did a nice dinner at the fancier one. Views are spectacular and both are just what you'd hope for when visiting Hawaii.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cabanna59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great way to start our vacation...”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My parents flew in and we had a late dinner at Huggo's Restaurant. The staff went out of their way to make sure that we didn't feel rushed, in fact, they encouraged us to take our time and enjoy our meal. The evening views of the ocean and Kona town served as a perfect backdrop to a great dinner experience. I ordered the ribs and loved it so much that the next time I went back to Kona, I had to go to Huggo's to get the ribs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReveDeVoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Go for the view - not the food”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

After reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor and due to proximity to the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Village which is where we were staying - we decided to try a sunset dinner at Huggos. As mentioned in other reviews, the sunset view was spectacular. Our table was perfect and, again, the view was wonderful. We had two chefs in our group - my husband, who is a Chef at Brumley's here in Greeneville, TN and our friends, who own the Spanish Gardens Cafe in Islamorada, FL - so while we love to have fun and dine out, we are very discriminating but not snobby. We ordered the sizzling mushrooms and the poke tower for appetizers. The mushrooms were delicious, served sizzling hot and perfectly seared. Yuch for the poke tower. The fish was not fresh and we ended up sending it back. The fish was a ugly pink color and had an odor to it. Not want you want to see or smell from a fish dish. For main courses we ordered the garden fresh penne, a fish special and a sesame crusted ahi tuna. The penne was so-so - nothing that could not be thrown together from the stuff in your refrigerator and also desperately in need of seasonings. My fish OK but the forbidden rice should have been forbidden to serve - again, no seasonings on anything. The worst meal of all was the ahi tuna - which was served to my husband. He took one bite and did not touch the rest. Again, he is a chef and swore the fish was old. He realized he should have cancelled the meal when the poke appetizer was not fresh. The Manager came to our table and did reverse the charges for both the appetizer and ahi course but, again, we cannot recommend eating at this restaurant. If I were forced to go again, I would have the mushroom appetizer, a glass of wine and enjoy the sunset. Aloha.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yomaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
153 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“AVOID I.J.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The food was great. I had the crusted seared rare Ahi, and it was delightful. My lovely bride of 48 years had pasta with shrimp and loved it. The waiter was I.J. or Island Johnny. That affected name aptly describes this guy. Way too ... well, just way too! Maybe I'm old fashioned, and I definitely prefer a quieter sort of waiter. This guy came on at the start like gangbusters, and never slowed down. He made a nice dining experience a whole lot less than it could have been.
The setting on the rocky shore sets this place apart. Great for sunset dining. Like I say, avoid I.J.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judgejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huggo's Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Huggo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing