We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Dirty, Dirty”
Review of Don's Mai Tai Bar

Don's Mai Tai Bar
Ranked #2 of 12 Nightlife in Kailua-Kona
Attraction details
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dirty, Dirty, Dirty”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Yes, they serve Mai Tai's and the bar has a nice view. That is the only good thing I can say about this place.

We went to explore Kona town and decided to walk down to the Royal Kona Hotel and try an original Mai Tai. Sat at the bar which had about 5 other people there and were ignored for about 15 minutes before someone would acknowledge us. That's okay we were relaxed and on vacation...but it was beginning to get irritating. We ordered 2 mai tai's and unfortunately they were nothing special at all. Definetely do not make a special trip here thinking their mai tai's are going to be out of this world. THIS IS A TOURIST TRAP.

But the terrible rating is because of how grossed out we were be the lack of hygiene here. We must have arrived right during the shift change from day crew to the evening crew. While our little waitress handled dirty dishes that had been bused and were piled up from lunch, she also handled our fruit and garnish that would go into making our drinks. It was unsettling.

What made it worse was the bartender that was coming on was trying to organize things and tidy up the bar. He seemed a little OCD which to be honest was needed at the time. We were observing his attentention to detail until he too grossed us out. While cleaning up the bar and using napkins to soak up old liquid from underneath the bar shaker mats from the drinks made earier in the day, he would then start de-leafing mint off the stem and restock fruit for garnish all the while without washing his hands.

Might not be a major turn-off to you but being in the medical field and seeing everywhere his hands were and not taking the time to briefly wash but continually man handle all the fruit for the future guests drinks was a major gross out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    13
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to grab an original Mai Tai”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Don's Mai Tai Bar is a fantastic place to grab a drink in Kona. Happy hour prices aren't as low as some other places (like our favorite spot, Huggo's on the Rocks), but the drinks are good and the view is incredible. For something fun (although a bit pricey), try one of the drinks samplers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank loprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Atmosphere cant be beat -”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Ended up starting a birthday celebration there on 4/28/12, did the tour, Huggos, Lulu's Humpys, Oceans, would have been better staying there. Met our friends back there in the morning - stayed until 5:00 pm, had a great lunch, service was very good, and just had an awesome 24 hours. Will spend more time here now that I rediscovered it .

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARNIA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrible service-Good Mai Tais.”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We are staying at the Royal Kona where this bar is located. We have been in this bar everynight for an evening cocktail for the last 4 nights. The mai tais are terrific, the food is avarage and the service has been absolutley terrible everynight. We have had 3 different servers and been served by the bartender, and all of them have been unfriendly and slow.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tamvic0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberts Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,355 helpful votes
“A Terrific Way To End The Day - Cocktails and a Postcard Sunset”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Don's Mai Tai Bar, located in the Royal Kona Resort, is a lovely waterfront lounge, open and airy, literally at the water's edge. Get there early if you want to get a table at the water (and for best unobstructed views). Drinks here are great, well prepared and served with a smile and the offered bar food on the menu is of a good standard and quality. I had the prime rib poke appetizer, that was excellent, while my wife had the crab cake which she agreed was good as well (it must have been tasty as she didn't offer to share any!) The patrons here were a subdued lot and while we enjoyed watching a number of whales "spouting" offshore, no one seemed to notice (maybe they're used to seeing them all day...?) as they were more focused on the cruise ship preparing to disembark just offshore. As promised by other TA reviewers, the sunset was worth the visit and we savoured the view while toasting our good sense to be here. Parking is $3.00 but your server will happily validate your ticket. Husbands take note: this is a romantic setting and will almost guarantee you points!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don's Mai Tai Bar also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Don's Mai Tai Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing