We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far beyond expectations”
Review of Big Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Island Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LosAngeleshiker
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far beyond expectations”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Given the saying of "you get what you paid for" and the relatively limited reviews of the Big Island Retreat we were initially skeptical. However, upon arriving we realized that we had it all wrong. Randy was so friendly and constantly showed his appreciation for us coming to stay and really made us feel welcome. The premises are well equipped for those who plan on staying for at least several days and had we known we would have stayed there for much longer. There is a BBQ area with full cooking facilities so you can grill to your heart's content. Also, there is a full kitchen in the room with dishes, cookware and a full size fridge.

The room was beautiful (we stayed in the Seabreeze room) and the bed was really comfortable. Everything was new, spotless and clean. There is a huge porch where you can chill, see the sunset, eat etc. and you literally sleep to the sounds of the waves. There is a terrific snorkeling area right across the street and about a 2 minute walk from your front door. Randy has all the gear and sunscreen available but in case it's in use you can rent everything that you need for next to nothing right next to the property. There are also laundry facilities on location for a small fee so you can really have a comfortable long-term stay.

The only regret that we have is that we didn't stay for longer. This is definitely far better than the major hotels and you get so much more and pay so much less.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
109
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Big Island Retreat exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Paradise Room, which is their smallest accommodation, with our 2.5 year old. Although it was a bit tight, it just seemed perfect for us. The room had everything we needed and it was very clean. We loved the gift basket and thought it was a really great touch to welcome guests.

Our daughter took a liking to Randy immediately. Randy and Shannon were great hosts and were very helpful and accommodating.

We'll definitely be staying again and will try the larger rooms next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrivenByJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Soemtimes you don't want to write a review because you just want to keep the secret all to yourself. That's how we felt about Randy and Shannon's Big Island Retreat.

The pictures describe the buildings-almost like plantaion houses. The large rooms (at least most of them) have private decks, are large and are decorated by Shannon with care and wonderful taste. The rooms have everything one needs to have a great stay. The buildings are large enough so we felt that we had complete privacy. At night we fell asleep listening to the waves hit the beach across the street.

The location is south of Kona, so you're away from the crush of people, yet driving to dinner only took 10-15 minutes. Across the street is a wonderful snorkeling beach.

Randy is very nice man, working hard to make the BnB a success-which I know he will.

We took a chance coming here as there were not that many reviews at the time we booked. Sometimes rolling the dice really pays off and it did for us, as we had a stay we won't forget.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orchid Room, which was great, though I think the other rooms would be just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacksonCage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed with Randy and Shannon in April 2014 and it was a great experience. Their place is a little off the beaten path, but once we found it we loved the location. Randy was very responsive to any request and the common room had a lot of equipment including towels, beach chairs, even surfboards. We stayed in the Orchid room and it was great, the fans kept us cool enough at night and the sounds of the ocean could be heard through our lanai.

Thanks again to the Big Island Retreat, we would gladly come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colef601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A quiet, secluded location, three minutes walk from the beach and one of the best snorkelling spots on Big Island. Fabulous suites and facilities and incredibly friendly and helpful owners who will do everything they can to make your stay better.

We stayed at the Big Island Retreat for four nights on our honeymoon and I can't find a single bad thing to say! Our room was perfect, clean, well lit and spacious, with a huge comfortable bed, great facilities and a lovely balcony. Randy and Shannon are very nice and will go out of their way to help you (they even gave us a lift into town one day when they saw us waiting at the bus stop). Randy and Shannon have also provided some pleasant communal areas where you can barbeque and interact with other guests, as well as surf boards and all sorts of beach equipment that you can use whenever you want.

It's a short walk to Kahaluu beach and there is a trolley service that regularly runs into Kailua, meaning that you have the benefits of a quiet, seclude location, with easy access to all the restaurants and bars in the town centre.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Big Island Retreat and if/when I get back to Kona, will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Big Island Retreat in March, 2014. Randy, the owner, and his wife, live on the property. Randy is a great source of information on where to go and what to see. He was expedient answering questions via email, and going through the reservation process. The night of our arrival he even texted to see if we needed directions since we were a little later than anticipated. This private location is a bit hard to find, but Randy will guide you there. His priority is making sure you have a good experience. He is an incredible host. In our room was a beautiful welcome basket - a very nice touch. Each suite is beautifully decorated by Shannon, and each one is different. We had the 2-story "Ocean View Suite" with a gorgeous full view of the ocean from our bed. What a way to wake up in your very comfortable bed! There are a couple of common spaces to congregate with other guests, one being a gazebo with a grill available to cook, or gather for a drink and conversation with other guests at the end of your day. Great Location on a hill directly across from Kahaluu Beach Park, close enough to walk. It's known for snorkeling and sunning. The Big Island Retreat is conveniently located to explore the island with day trips in either direction. I would absolutely stay here again, and wish I would have made the reservation longer.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradise04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about how wonderful the property is and how wonderful Randy was in making our stay easy and stress free.

First, the place is really clean and well maintained. My partner is really picky about cleanliness and this place exceeded his expectations. The property is within a short walking distance (3 blocks?) of one of the most wonderful protected beach parks in Kona. It is far enough off of the main drag that it is really quiet. All night long we heard the surf and in the morning song birds. It is 4 miles from Kona proper where all of the nightlife happens. Again, we were close, but not too close that our peace was disturbed. If I were to stay significant time there, I would rent a bicycle.

We stayed in the Ocean View Room. It really is worth it. The view is amazing. The sound of surf and birds even more so.

Randy, was wonderful. He was attentive to our questions. He gave us a great overview of the area. He picked up his cell phone when I called.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaratedEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.7 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Island Retreat

Property: Big Island Retreat
Address: 78-226 Kahaluu Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Island Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautifully maintained and landscaped property with five bright, well-appointed, clean guestrooms. We are just steps from Kahaluu Bay, which offers excellent snorkeling and surfing, but tucked back off the main road so the atmosphere is tropical seclusion. Each guestroom has its own private lanai, bathroom with tub-shower combo, refrigerator, convection oven, electric hot water kettle and coffeemaker. Additionally, we provide the following complementary amenities: use of beach equipment, garden sitting room with library and games, and gazebo with gas BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Island Retreat Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing